We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely small beach hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Janus Paradise Rest
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Bentota
Koper, Slovenia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely small beach hotel”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We've been there at the beginning (two families) and at the end of our three week trip around Sri Lanka. We have a four years old kid. The owner is great, very friendy and willing to organize whatever you need. And he cookes really great! We were satisfied and woud go there again. The hous is just like it looks on pictures - like in a fairytale.
Kisses to Indiruwa :) Anita

Room Tip: If you want to stay in a small (three rooms) and frindy hotel, go to Janus :) If you have children...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    13
    1
    4
    1
See reviews for
6
14
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
248 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed at another place a few steps from it that doesn't serve lunch, so we ate at Janus'. The food was great, especially the grilled fish and the calamari. It did take quite some time to cook, but it's all fresh and we could use the pool while waiting. The staff is very nice and the hotel looks small but clean. It is right on the beach, in a great location.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IlariaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2012

My husband and two children were originally booked for three nights and stayed for six. The location is paradise , the service is great and as for the curry's they were fab. As a mum of two Janu and the team were great in accommodating all our needs and made us feel very welcome, it was such a relaxing experience for all of us. The accommodation is great value and yes it's not five star, it's exactly as the web site describes it and we would stay again. The Galle Road can be a little noisy with the trains but it did not bother my family.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marsh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Let me start out by setting expectations.
There is no hot water and the cold water pressure leaves a lot to be desired. There is no air conditioning unless you get Room 3, no WIFI and no complimentary bottle of water each day. (Fortunately there is an internet cafe across the road, although I didn't use it so I don't know how fast the service is. It costs 100 SL rupees an hour).

Despite all of this, JPR is a very enjoyable retreat located smack in the middle of a long sandy beach. The guest house has 5 rooms - 2 on the ground floor and 3 upstairs - all on the ocean side. It takes about 2 minutes to walk from your room to the beach and, when you get there, there is hardly anyone in sight.

Two other redeeming features - it has a very nice swimming pool that is well maintained, and it has a small restaurant virtually on the beach that offers a good variety of food. A main dish costs from 600-900 SL rupees and a large beer will run you 300 SL rupees.

There is a laundry down the road within walking distance, but you'll need to take a tuk-tuk to go into the nearest town or to visit the turtle hatchery. It takes the staff about 2 minutes to get you one.

In my mind this is strictly a R&R guesthouse ideal for anyone wanting to swim, read a book, soak up the sun or simply veg out.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room (#3,4, and 5) if you want privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidinToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Me and my husband intially wanted to stay at Janu's for two nights but after staying there we decided to stay right up until we left Sri Lanka! The room was lovely, lot's of space and very clean. The breakfast was lovely and was included in the price of 3800 rupees, which was amazing value for money compared to other places we stayed in Sri Lanka for the same price. Janu has a lovely little pool and the hotel grounds are always kept immaculate. They have a high rise restuarant and beach cabannas to eat dinner. We felt like very valued customers and enjoyed every minute of staying there. I highly recommend staying here. We thank Janu very much for making our holiday :)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Staceye486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

My husband I stayed at Janu's for three nights. We felt very welcomed and at home. The beachfront pad is very relaxing. The pool is nice and breakfast was egg, toast, jams, fresh juices, tea/coffee. We paid 3800rs a night for a double rm with a fan during high season. We had a large balcony and the whole place was immaculate. The only negative comment I have is that it's on Galle rd. which is convenient for many reasons, but it is quite noisey.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelCandA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Janu is the man who runs the place and he will treat you like his friend if you are like minded. Easy going and relaxed, our two night getaway from Colombo was great because it was like we had an extra friend to hang out with! He really knows how to surround himself with a great team of staff who were so helpful. Janu himself really cares for his guests as he asked quite a few times if we were happy throughout the weekend. Any issue was attended to quickly.

We had a dinner then a campfire on the beach one night which was probably one of the best nights I've had in Sri Lanka. A campfire, on the beach! This place benefits from a great location being in between two houses that separates his place from the resorts near by. The beach is quiet and pretty friendly. The only thing noisy is that the main door to the rooms face Galle Road so it can be a bit noisy with the trucks and buses that roll by. Our room also smelled a little funky, but nothing we couldn't deal with. Overall, my friends and I were really happy with our stay!

Room Tip: The upstairs three rooms are the best ... there are only 4 rooms in total anyhow so your chances of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissDee001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bentota hotels
2.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
3.4 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
2.0 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Hotel Susanthas
Hotel Susanthas
#21 of 23 in Bentota
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Janus Paradise Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Janus Paradise Rest

Property: Janus Paradise Rest
Address: No. 664 Galle Road, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Janus Paradise Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing