We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it!”
Review of Amal Restaurant

Amal Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 62 Restaurants in Bentota
Cuisines: Indian, Seafood, Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not worth it!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

The place looks nice and snazzy for a fun evening out however the service is a big let down!
Overall we found the owner very cunning trying to palm off the most expensive dishes to you and once he realizes that your not going to fall for his tricks, he and his staff simply ignore you and start to focus on the next batch of tourists.
What really pissed me off was the extremely slow service, waiters who simply could not get your order right, small portions and expensive dishes!
We actually ended up eating our main course in side plates as the waiters were so slow in getting us the dinner plates!
They messed up the order 2 times!
Quite a bad experience, would never ever go there again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Parinaz29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    460
    306
    159
    67
    77
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“If you haven't eaten here, you haven't lived”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Wow! Just wow! We were staying at Amal villa and had half board to eat at this restaurant. It was incredible. The starter (avocado and shrimp salad) that I chose was great! You could really taste the freshness of the fish! On the first night I had seer fish and it was very good but on the second night I had lobster and it completely blew my mind, it was like eating a bit of the sea! It was so fresh, so tasty! One of the best (if not the best) lobster I've had. My mother had the para fish and it was super super delicious as well! Would DEFINITELY recommend this if you're in bentota or planning on going.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Giulia987_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cheaters”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

They just gave us ethanol insteaf of wine
Any one in the right mind can say the difference between wine and ethanol and the corck dis not belongeto the bottle

Helpful?
1 Thank Neda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Freshest seafood around”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We were suggested this restaurant by our Sri Lankan driver who rated it as the best in SL. It was definitely good. Seafood is pretty pricy though. 4500 for a crab with all the trimmings. We had the chilli crab which had been broken up in a sauce. In not sure we got the whole crab but it was good.

Helpful?
Thank awannabefoodcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batumi, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Established, fresh, seafood restaurant”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Keep nets for the crab & lobster, choose your own, it doesn't get any fresher than that!! Cooked to perfection, messy, even the restaurant has a wash hand basin in the corner! So good I fact we skipped breakfast the next day and walked along the beach and had lunch there! Fresh tuna, rare, herbs rosemary, sage & parsley added last minute! Fresh, buttery local avocado. This was anchor butter creamy colored with a greener than lime green outside, simple vinaigrette, fries, just sublime! Simple, simple, simple, with fresh x 20! When someone gets it right, praise is due ,

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dsnelson14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amal Restaurant also viewed

 
Bentota, Galle District
Bentota, Galle District
 
Aluthgama, Western Province
 

Been to Amal Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing