We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed if you are in the area...”

Malli's Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 61 Restaurants in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The most romantic place to wine and dine in Bentota.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not to be missed if you are in the area...”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

After reading other reviews on trip advisor we decided to take the drive to this Resturant and we are so glad we did.. It was off season so they weren't very busy which made our dinning experience even better because we got perfect service. All the meals were clearly explained to us the the fresh fish etc was also displayed. The service and meals were 10 out of 10.
Thank you for a memorable evening.
Credit card facilities would be an advantage...

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    748
    245
    85
    28
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Quirky restaurant - once in a lifetime experience”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Bentota area is a complete tourist trap and all the restaurants are hideously expensive in relation to the rest of the island and Malli's is no exception. That said, the food is fresh, location just brilliant and staff lovely and in comparison to other restaurants in the area, this came out in our top two. There's a really quirky charm about this place so well worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cestriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quaint place with great food”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Malli's is an elegant restaurant with great food. Don't expect quick service here - you go here to enjoy the experience. The menu is small and select. The Sri Lankan chicken curry along with the sea food was wonderful and the curries were very flavorful and light. The server was very friendly. Go here for a romantic meal or with family and friends to enjoy a great meal and spend quality time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jayanti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great location overlooking the railway track”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We ate here on our first night in Sri Lanka. We arrived at about 9pm and were the last people there as it is currently the low season in Bentota. You enter the restaurant by walking across the railway track.
We did not eat the seafood but it looked lovely. The non-seafood menu is quite limited, but the steak and chicken that we chose were very nice.
We ate outside on the balcony and the highlight of the evening was a train passing by slowly just below us.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sue147reethi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“When less is more”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

My family and I visited Malli's for dinner during our brief stay in Kandy few days back on a reccommendation from a friend. It's proximity to a host of hotels works to its advantage to attract customers. The look and feel of the restaurant is quaint and rustic with a very pleasant ambience offering indoor and outdoor seating (right next to a railway track). We chose to sit indoors and were greeted by very friendly and courteous staff. They have a limited menu, which just means they pay attention to detail and offer quality. We were shown the fresh catch of the day and selected medium prawns and parow fish to be grilled and a serving of what turned out to be delicious seafood soup. The fish, fresh and grilled to perfection was served with a side of vegetable rice. Highly reccommended to anyone who appreciates fresh seafood and tasty dining.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Malli's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Bentota, Galle District
Aluthgama, Western Province
 

Been to Malli's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing