We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely!”

Malli's Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 63 Restaurants in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Sri Lankan, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The most romantic place to wine and dine in Bentota.
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

This restaurant was situated alongside the railway line near our hotel The Taj. We had to cross the railway line to get to the restaurant. Don't let this put you off as it adds to the charm of the place. I believe it is owned by a European lady and Sri Lankan gentleman who are a couple. The welcome was very warm and the setting inviting, romantic and comfortable. She even came and greeted us.

Good selection of food which made our last evening in Bentota very special.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cs95aam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    732
    242
    83
    27
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
122 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great food and customer service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

This meal was a display of how with good customer service, you can transform a potentially disastrous dining experience into an excellent one. We ordered the seafood platters as this had come highly recommended but the food was taking ages, over an hour so we were naturally unhappy. The owners however took the time to come over, apologize and give us wine on the house. The food when it came lived up to the reputation. The seafood here is expensive, on par with Colombo's finest but the quality is great as well. The ambiance is good, with the train running by a novel accompaniment to an excellent meal. Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NarenG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batumi, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fresh, smart, simple, seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Walk along the railway line, on the beach side & lookout for the flaming oil can on a post! It's the only one there! Cross the main Colombo rail line to Galle, climb the steps, above the local shop & your inside a simple room, colored in a heritage olive green room with mahogany ratin repro Sabre leg chairs. Simple leaf lamps & candles with a soothing music selection. Then you get to the real reason your there, Fresh Seafood! It works like this, Malli buys it from the fisherman, he has 2 days to sell it. If he doesn't sell them they are returned to the fishermen, so they can dry them. No Waste! So simple! You win as a customer, Malli's business model is intact, the environment is protected and the fisherman has a win too. The foods superbly simple, it'd be a waste not to go! Fresh Tuna Steak, seasoned, 30 seconds on each side, dipping Soya Sauce, green salad & iniquitous chips! A chilled Sauvignon blanc, and lovely company! Even the trains rocking the table are part of the attraction! Brilliant place and an amazing Man, Malli

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank dsnelson14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not to be missed if you are in the area...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

After reading other reviews on trip advisor we decided to take the drive to this Resturant and we are so glad we did.. It was off season so they weren't very busy which made our dinning experience even better because we got perfect service. All the meals were clearly explained to us the the fresh fish etc was also displayed. The service and meals were 10 out of 10.
Thank you for a memorable evening.
Credit card facilities would be an advantage...

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Quirky restaurant - once in a lifetime experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Bentota area is a complete tourist trap and all the restaurants are hideously expensive in relation to the rest of the island and Malli's is no exception. That said, the food is fresh, location just brilliant and staff lovely and in comparison to other restaurants in the area, this came out in our top two. There's a really quirky charm about this place so well worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cestriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Malli's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Bentota, Galle District
Bentota, Galle District
 
Induruwa, Galle District
Bentota, Galle District
 

Been to Malli's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing