We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 out of 10”

Malli's Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 62 Restaurants in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The most romantic place to wine and dine in Bentota.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“10 out of 10”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Everything you want in a fish restaurant is here. The food is outstanding, the staff are the friendliest I've meet & the Manager Malli is a gentleman & amazing host. It's a must.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sonia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    765
    249
    87
    28
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fine dining by the tracks”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We chose jumbo prawns and parrot fish from the selection of fresh seafood that was brought to the table. It was prepared perfectly and served with an tomato appetizer and rice. The seafood was fresh and the simple flavour was perfect after 8 days of curry. Malli and the staff were excellent hosts. Way to go!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Canasean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best dining experiences I've ever had”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

What a wonderful place, what amazing staff, mixed with excellent food, you can't go wrong.

If your staying Bentota I'd suggest visiting here on your first and last night, as myself and my girlfriend have done on our recent holiday in the area.

What really stood out for us, besides the wonderful food (which you need to experience) was how friendly and welcoming the staff and manager was. Conversation flowed, not only between us as a couple, but also with the staff.

The location is great, with the novelty of passing trains every now and again breaking the moment and letting you appreciate what you're experiencing. We found it a really great touch that added smiles to our faces.

Do yourself a favour and visit. You won't regret it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This place was really lovely. It's small and was quiet both times we visited (but was low season), but the atmosphere was still nice. The waiters and manager were lovely and very friendly, chatting to us. The first time we all had large tiger prawns which were the biggest ones I've ever seen and were as delicious as they looked. The second time, the waiters remembered us and seemed happy to see us which was nice. We had fish which was fresh and tasty. The only downside is that it was right next to the railway track, so when a train passed it was deafening, but it definitely wasn't a deal-breaker! Some of the nicest meals we ate in Sri Lanka, with some of the nicest staff.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tilly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Seafood and Sri Lankan style”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This was a special experience, so much so that we repeated it. If you like prawns, this is the place to eat. A range of fresh seafood was brought to the table for us to choose from the day's catch. Big prawns one day, smaller sweeter ones the next time. Malli was a great host moving around the tables chatting to his guests. The occasional train passing on the nearby tracks just added interest to a great dining experience. Recommended.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Malli's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Bentota, Galle District
Bentota, Galle District
 
Aluthgama, Western Province
Bentota, Galle District
 

Been to Malli's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing