We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WARNING - UNSAFE AND SEXUALLY HARASSING DRIVER”
Review of Sea Rock Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sea Rock Villa
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“WARNING - UNSAFE AND SEXUALLY HARASSING DRIVER”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Hotel lovely, day to day staff perfect, food wonderful. BUT PLEASE TAKE NOTE. Manager Ravi recommended a driver to us - who was drunk in evenings, hungover or sexually harassing during our trip. We had originally booked him for two weeks to take us round island, but having been taken to sexually two filthy overpriced hotels by him, and then being subjected to two days of being verbally harassed then inappropriately touched we had to telephone a relative in England to book us into an emergency hotel so we could leave him behind and feel safe again. Also not good was the knowledge that he had consumed vast quantities of Aarak and smelled of alcohol in the mornings, road bad enough with sober drier let alone one hungover. Dread to think what would have happened had I been single lady on my own, I was travelling with my partrner (I am 50 he is 60). Awful experience, Sea Rock manager totally disinterested when we phoned him in distress after driver proved to be dangerous in all ways. Just said 'give him a chance'. Totally totally not to be trusted in any way, not to drive sober, not to be safe in a personal way, nor to take you to hotels and not charge far to much or put you somewhere clean and nice. Awful awful driver that was recommended to us and such a dreadful shame for the Sea Rock as a whole.

Please please do not use driver ANURA MAHANIL - www.srilanka-tournen.de should he be recommended to you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    34
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
27
93
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

After 6 nights touring we had 3 nights at Sea Rock Villa which was the perfect way to end our trip to Sri Lanka.

Ravi (Manager) and the team could not do enough to make our stay perfect. With only 5 rooms and 10 sun loungers I do not expect it ever feels busy, but during our stay it felt like we had the run of the house. As my wife is vegetarian, the chef visited us each afternoon to ask what she would like for dinner that evening and on each occasion he offered suggestions not just a menu.

The food quality was excellent and the choice was varied with traditional Sri Lankan dishes as well as western dishes.

The location is perfect with the garden ending exactly where the beach begins, the beach was almost empty and we often walked along it without seeing another person.

If you want a quiet relaxing break and are happy with your own company, this hotel is perfect.

Room Tip: You can't have a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walts82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford,UK
Level Contributor
138 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I stayed here in an upstairs room for 3 nights after 10 days touring, and it was wonderful to just relax at Sea Rock before the flight back to UK. Room was a good size, nothing fancy but had all I needed, with a balcony overlooking the pool, gardens and the sea. Room had a large bed, 2 chairs & coffee table, a small fridge, tea/coffee making tray and 2 free bottles of water each day. Bathroom was simple but with modern fitments, with a nice large shower. The first night I was aware of the road noise, but then got used to it. Wifi did work in my room but went off occasionally so that I had to re-connect. The pool and gardens were lovely and well maintained. Food was very good, both breakfast and dinner, with the option to eat either on the veranda overlooking the garden or at the end of the garden by the beach. Ravi and all the staff were very helpful, professional and friendly. Why would anyone want to stay in one of the big impersonal hotels in Bentota when they could be so well looked after here? If you need to get into the town for any reason there is a tuk tuk available at a very reasonable price.
The only thing to beware of here is walking on wet tiles with bare feet - a friend slipped over on the tiles by the pool and I did the same in my room just after the floor had been washed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed 4 nights in this private 5-room hotel in Bentota facing directly onto a lovely beach.

The food was tasty and well prepared, the staff very helpful and the rooms attractively finished off with all the facilities we needed (including a fast and free WiFi). Not particularly luxurious by western standards but we had a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Only 5 rooms - we had one on the ground floor - all seemed perfectly fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank david_anne_mason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izmir, Turkey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Perfect is the best word to explain that place...Staff, foods, place, rooms, everything... I definitely recommend that hotel...Service is really slow but it's very nice to keep calm...Especially perfect choice for couples...I can suggest to hotel management, they shouldn't accept to young children, because they are really disturb to couples...We've such a experience like that, thanks god it was our last day...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank egemennemli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed in this hotel on our last stop in Sri Lanka, Bentota, for four days.

+++
It is a very small hotel with only 5 rooms. The staff is very nice and attentive.
We especially enjoyed the breakfast and dinner every day, the chef is doing a great job.
I must say, however, that service is quite slow so if you don´t want to spend 2 hours at dinner, you need to tell them so.
The beach is also great, loved the small sun roofs.

---
What we did not like and you should definitely know is that it is located directly next to a busy street (just like a lot of other hotels in that area). We found this very annoying at the beginning, you can hear cars/ buses/ trucks most of the time. We changed our room on the second day to a 1st floor one and it was less noisy there.
The bathroom in the second room (1st floor) was nice but the one in our first room (2nd floor) was very simple, nothing special.
Also, if you want to go out for shopping, you will always need to take a car/ tuktuk since the hotel is at least a 10mins ride to the next "town center".

Room Tip: 1st floor for less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wife_of_fisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Just what you need: best spot, on the beach, with a wonderful sea, a swimmingpool and house dog Rex, you re ready to relax.

Simpel rooms, but what do you need for? Sleep for few hours and thats it. The rest of the day in the nice garden with great sun beds, sun screens and the sea within 8 meters. Talking about sea: best sea we have ever had.

Breakfast, diner, lunch: all wonderful. Chef know what he is doing.

Staff: educated and there when you need them.

So, it is worth every rupee/euro/dollar, and to be honest, even more then they charge. 5 star hotels, est your heart out.

Why then 4 stars and not 5 in this rating: simple rooms/bath rooms (but all fine).

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Roel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
2.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
3.5 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.1 mi away
Whispering Palms Hotel
Whispering Palms Hotel
#1 of 9 in Induruwa
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pandanus Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Temple Tree Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Rock Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Rock Villa

Property: Sea Rock Villa
Address: 712 Galle Road | Induruwa, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 79 Speciality Lodging in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sea Rock Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sea Rock Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing