We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal in sri Lanka”
Review of The Villa Cafe

The Villa Cafe
Ranked #19 of 61 Restaurants in Bentota
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Villa Cafe is located at Paradise Road The Villa Bentota located conveniently only 1.5 hrs from Colombo or half way to Galle on a guest's journey from Colombo further down South. Opened in Dec 2009, The Villa Cafe has already been awarded as being 'One of Sri Lanka's leading restaurants' by the Miele Guide 2010 as well as the cuisine being praised in numerous international prestigious magazine reviews, such as Conde Nast UK, Conde Nast US, DestinAsian, Harpers Bazaar UK, etc. The restaurant features a wide range of cuisine, ranging from wood-fired pizzas, Sri Lankan dishes, Sri Lankan-inspired dishes, homemade ice creams, seafood, extensive desserts, examples of favourites, as follows,- Lemongrass and Ginger Chicken with Spinach Mash- Black Pork Curry- Sri Lankan Crab Curry Soup - Passion Fruit Meringue Pie- Jaggery Creme Bruleeamongst many others.The Bar and Lounge is also open to non residents and the beverage menu includes cocktails such as Tamarind Chilli Martini, Passion Fruit Margarita, homemade Ginger Beer and a wine list, champage, beer, spirits and liqueur.With a high chair and childrens' menu, families are welcome. Reservations recommended.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best meal in sri Lanka”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

fantastic food, service and atmosphere. I can't recommend this place more highly. The chocolate nemesis was possibly the nicest chocolate based desert I've had.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leangelo_Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    6
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best food in bentota”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We had a lovely dinner here (twice) at the villa cafe. The ambience is lovely, set in a quiet courtyard and the staff are attentive. Food is extremely high quality and the portions are large! The lemongrass chicken is certainly worth a try and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to anyone looking for a lovely meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NinaG79Djk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
245 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“very classy”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

very nice lounge music slowly playing in the background, the sounds of the sea creeping in somewhere from the sides and the dim lighting in the restaurant sums up this place. was alone, yet this place was perfect. the food was excellent. they made some chicken dish as per the chefs recommendation.

the sea food from the reactions i gathered was awsome. the dessert here is something that should not be missed. the rooms are also very nice and classy. good place to stay if you like your holiday to be quiet, peaceful yet extravagent. this is definetly if u wanna read or need quiet time.

very well done up rooms and restaurant. regret not staying here. and thumbs up for the food

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gautham_Srinivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Over priced and pretentious”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

A truly impressive building with superb decor and the sort of retsaurant where you would expect to pay a premium price but.............
I was served a chicken muligatawny soup with plenty of chicken but no flavour - it would easily have passed as chicken soup. A roast pork that had been cooked to death and then a bill that was roughly double what I had been paying at other restaurants locally - for far better food. The service was, at best, casual.
The drinks in the bar are very expensive - even though they serve alledgedly imported spirits and the final straw was the staff turning out the lights and bringing us a bill at 9.30pm as an indication that they wanted to go home.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ianleatherhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A beautiful setting with average food”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

My wife and I ( we have dined their 3 times before) invited 3 friends to join us, the setting is very nice and the bar service was attentive, I ordered 2 Smirnoff vodkas and tonics and 3 gins, the vodka was not Smirnoff! I complained but they would not change the drinks , so I had a beer instead. The food was OK except for my wife's pork curry which was without any spice, the portion sizes were rather disappointing considering the prices. As we were the only people in the restaurant, I feel that they are over pricing themselves. To finish the evening off we had coffee and sat just outside of the restaurant, however the staff started switching off all the lights around us, then brought our bill without asking us if we required anything else to drink, so we took the hint, paid our bill and left never to return again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveKalavilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Villa Cafe also viewed

Bentota, Galle District
 
Bentota, Galle District
Bentota, Galle District
 

Been to The Villa Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing