We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family hotel with Great service.....!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Haus Berlin, Bentota
Ranked #6 of 66 Bentota B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Me, My husband and our little daughter(16 months) spent our holidays on early January 2014.We were there for 04 nights and we enjoyed every little moment at the hotel.,We were given a warm welcome and our reserved rooms were arranged so nicely..,they are very clean well arranged and so spacious to live...Manager and his team is very very helpful and gave us us super honest service. i would like to say that it was so easy for us to stay with our baby,because of their special service with care.Well completed rooms with Hot water and good A/C .Free unlimited Wifi facility offered by the hotel management was really helpful to me my husband's business and his work.The garden view of the hotel with clean lovely pool with nature's beauty always bring us a relaxed, calm and peace in our mind.., I must say that the food and restaurant service is in excellent manner. Food was so delicious,clean and it was always appealing ..., and it always worth for what u pay..,I would be thankful to Management of Haus Berlin for giving us a lovely holidays with more than we expected and i would like to recommend this little family hotel for ones who wish to have a great holiday in Sri Lanka.. Thank you Haus Berlin..Cheers...!!
- Parneetha and Raj from India -

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parneetha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

If you would like to get away from all the busy resorts on the beach and sleep in a spotless little nice guesthouse, then this is the place for you.

The owner is very helpful in arranging activities in the area.

Rooms are big,clean with good A/C.

Room Tip: Best to sleep on second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bestour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

We were here for three nights and enjoyed every minute. Very clean and well appointed and with particularly pleasant and helpful staff. Both breakfasts and dinners were excellent and the little pool a delight. The hotel is located near a typical local village which made short strolls more interesting, particularly the temple with its friendly monk. It's a short tuktuk ride to the nearest beach where there's good swimming in the waves and a very nice little restaurant. All in all highly recommended for couples and small families.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We travelled to Bentota in December 2013. We had booked Haus Berlin 2 months in advance i.e. in October 2013. I had spoken to the Manager Mr. Ajith over the phone several times and he had confirmed availability of 3 rooms in Haus Berlin as we were 3 couple traveling together. He had said that since it is peak tourist season, we should send 100 USD advance ASAP so that he could block the rooms for us. I am a person with disability and have to strain myself in climbing steps. So I had specifically requested to block ground floor room for me and my husband. We reached after 19 hours of journey at 5.00 a.m. in the morning only to be told that the since Haus Berlin was overbooked in August 2013, our stay has been arranged at the house opposite Haus Berlin which is Bentota Homes. Bentota Homes is a new property with hardly any facilities/service. We had to go to Haus Berlin for everything. The rooms we got were on 1st and 2nd Floor. At first Mr. Ajith was apologetic and pleaded not to write a negative review on Trip Advisor as his German Bosses would fire him. But then he became audacious. Due to peak season rush, we could not find any alternative place in Bentota for 6 of us and we had to stay in Bentota Homes which was claimed to be a property of Haus Berlin Group. Wish we could have written review of Haus Berlin – which we paid for and not Bentota Homes – which was forced on us. This review is more for the attitude and cheating by Mr. Ajith! The feeling of being cheated continues to remain etched in our memories of Sri Lanka. My advice to fellow travelers is to be aware when booking Haus Berlin and if you are short changed, do file a complaint with the local tourist police.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meenu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We arrived at Haus Berlin at 5am in the morning after a 19 hour journey only to be told that the rooms that we had booked 2 months in advance were not available!! This after having paid US$100 in advance and having checked with Ajith multiple times over the phone.We were then offered accommodation in a property across the road from Haus Berlin.Since we were tired and there was nothing else available - this being peak tourist season - we had no option but to take up this offer.

The property that we stayed in was basic and in no way comparable to Haus Berlin.We stayed in a room without an attached toilet and without any dustbin.There was no service in the property that we were put up with and we had to go across to Haus Berlin to have breakfast.

The worst part in this sordid episode was Ajith's attitude - right from outright lies that he told us at the time of booking to telling us that the place that we were staying in was actually better than Hauz Berlin; that Haus Berlin had very small rooms and that he had given us bigger rooms.I could go on and on.

Understandably, this wasn't quite the start to a holiday that we had eagerly anticipated.

My advice to fellow travelers considering this property is to be very very careful while booking this place.

PS - I am giving a one star rating only because Tripadvisor doesn't allow a review without any stars to be submitted

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
7  Thank RKhosla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

We started our 18 day tour of Sri Lanka in Bentota at Haus Berlin. The hotel arranged our pick up from Columbo which was fantastic. The clean, quiet and comfortable hotel provided a great start to our trip. The staff were fantastic throughout our stay making sure we always had everything we needed. The owner even went as far as to contribute to our train ticket when we didn't have the right change! Overall definitely recommend this place and would return again!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anouska13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed at Haus Berlin when we went recently to Sri Lanka. It was such a pleasant surprise. The rooms were huge and the maintenance was impeccable! We had meant to stay at Bentota for two days and this was a perfect choice. It's worth the price that you pay for it. The staff are friendly and helpful as is the owner, Ajith. They have bicycles that are available for free for guests and a lovely pool to cool off whenever you feel like the sun is a bit much. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone travelling to Bentota.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meeravijayann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bentota hotels
1 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
1.8 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
1.3 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 26 in Bentota
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
1 mi away
Palm Beach Inn and Sea Shells Cabanas
1.2 mi away
Hygge Resorts
Hygge Resorts
#25 of 26 in Bentota
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haus Berlin, Bentota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus Berlin, Bentota

Address: 213 Alvis Road | Dope, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Bentota
Price Range: £26 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Haus Berlin, Bentota 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in beautiful landscaped grounds, Haus Berlin offers relaxing stays in spacious rooms. Featuring an outdoor pool, it offers bike rental, Satellite TV, free Wi-Fi in rooms and public areas for free. A 5-minute drive from Bentota's sandy beaches, Haus Berlin is a 2 and 1/2 hour drive from Bandaranaike International Airport. Free parking is available. Well-ventilated rooms at Haus Berlin Bentota open out to views of tropical greenery. They come with air conditioning and a private bathroom with heated shower facilities. Guests can enjoy leisurely afternoons at the seating areas dotting the property. Other facilities include a restaurant that serves local, Chinese and international dishes. This property is also rated for the best value in Bentota! Guests are getting more for their money when compared to other properties in this city. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Haus Berlin, Bentota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing