We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude manager in the middle of nowhere!!”
Review of Mangrove Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mangrove Villa
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rude manager in the middle of nowhere!!”
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

We turned up to find that they had booked our room out to someone else even though we had already paid through agoda! What kind of a company does that, very unprofessional and not trust worthy. On arrival the manager was very rude to us and not apologetic at all about what they had done, we also received glares from All the workers there which was very intimidating and I did not feel safe. The location is in the middle of nowhere very far from the centre of all the action so the tuk tuks really try to rip you off because they know you are far from where you want to be. You should definitely look else where to ensure your booking is actually safe and you don't get stranded.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Danni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    8
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
3
20
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We booked two week Ayurveda trament package in mangrove villa. They provided excellent service for us. Friendly staff,Healthy ayurvedic foods daily arranged by chef according to our body type. Dr.Priyani very friendly and provided us usefull treatment and medicine for our ill.we highly appreciated about her service.Bungalow room was comfortable,clean and nice view towards to bentota river. Mangrove villa is perfect place for relax and recovery. We will back next year...

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moreno751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Mangrove Villa is a unique getaway from most other places. With only 6-7 rooms, it is private and far away from touristy traps. Situated on the side of the river and home to King Fishers and lazy Water Monitors, I could relax and refresh myself. My favourite place was sitting by the river and watch the river go by.....

The staff were very helpful, considerate and accommodating, including making special meals suited to my preference.

Be prepared to enjoy tasty and healthy traditional Sri Lankan meals, including breakfast. However, make some allowances for Western type breakfasts.

Do take a yoga mat with you if you are going to be learning/practising yoga.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcoPoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I booked two rooms for my family with each room accommodating 2 people. But when I reached the guy who was managing the property asked me to pay extra since the rate I paid was for 1 person but no where it was mentioned during the booking. I argued that 2 person in a room is a norm but he was adamant. With no option left I had to pay extra. Moreover I had to repeatedly ask for bedsheet and mosquito repellent in the room. Overall the experience was completely ruined by the staff.

Room Tip: Check the rates as they are disguised by cheap marketing strategies
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Punchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangrovevilla, Manager at Mangrove Villa, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Mr.Punchar,

We are so sad about your poor understanding about on line booking. please note that you have booked 2 SGL rooms with breakfast for one night through the on line booking facilities provided by recognize travel agency. you arrived with 4 person to the Mangrove villa. When you were checking, in your voucher it was clearly mentioned that you have booked 2 SGL rooms and maximum occupancy one person per one SGL room. You have agree to pay for two DBL bed rooms after accepting your mistake in the booking.

Then we have provided you the facilities for two DBL bed rooms and we charged for two DBL bed rooms rate. we did not charge extra from you.

We had arrange two SGL room according to your booking and we had to provide extra bed sheet for two additional person after you arrived.

our bed rooms include mosquito nets of the best quality.so that there is no need of mosquito repellent for bed room. but as soon as you asked for the mosquito repellent, we have provide the mosquito repellent same time.

you have made a big mistake in understanding the web sight of the travel agency. in the travel agency web sight they have mentioned clearly SGL room rate, DBL room rate and TPL room rate. We really feel sad about your misunderstanding.

The Mangrove villa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We stayed at Mangrove for about a week. We were amazed by the beautiful views that we were greeted by- the grounds are lovely and back onto the river. Having read the previous reviews we were expecting much more... the staff were laissez-faire to say the least, only really acknowledging our existence a couple of days before we left, however this may be down to the fact that we were there during the Singalese New Year (a national holiday)! The rooms were spacious, and pretty comfy, but there was a bit of an ant problem just outside, and the occasional cockroach! However when asked to sort airport transfer the staff were extremely helpful! In such a nice location we feel our experience there could have been much more enjoyable had they been a bit more welcoming and accepting of us being there.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2013

The Mangrove Villa is the perfect place for people who are searching for
- very good ayurveda treatments and food,
- yoga in the morning,
- relaxing and quiet surrounding
- clean and comfortable room.

I have stayed there 1 week alone and I have to admit that I have never felt bored. If there has been some time left after my avurveda treatments, the owners of the Mangrove Villa have organized trips (e.g. Diving, Temple, Brief Garden, Bentota Beach) in the vicinity of the place (15-20 minutes with the Tuk Tuk) for their guests.

Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Nessafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

I booked one week ayurveda in beginning of January 2013.

It was more a wellness ayurveda experience, so I would suggest to everyone to give information about your medical condition and your expectations in advance, so that the team can arrange everything for you.

Doctor Priyani is very sweet, she will do everything for you. The treatments are very relaxing.
The treatment rooms are clean and simple.

The food is amazing and every guest get what he or she wants.

The place is a little bit far away from Bentota beach, but the plus is that you are far away from the tourist center. The garden of the resort is beautiful, so that you can relaxe.
In the night you hear only the nature and the dogs.

The yoga is hatha yoga and Aseele has a very nice way to teach.

Room Tip: all the rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muc74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bentota hotels
2.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Nisala Arana
Nisala Arana
#11 of 23 in Bentota
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Chami Villa Bentota
Chami Villa Bentota
#13 of 79 in Bentota
55 reviews
2.2 mi away
Palm Beach Inn and Sea Shells Cabanas
3.3 mi away
Village Headman's Bungalow
Village Headman's Bungalow
#11 of 79 in Bentota
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangrove Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangrove Villa

Property: Mangrove Villa
Address: Meegama Road, Warapitiya, Dharga Town, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 79 Speciality Lodging in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Mangrove Villa 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on one and a half acres of tropical greenery, facing the Bentota River is Mangrove Villa Ayurveda resort. Guests enjoy the convenience of a restaurant and Ayurverdic spa. Recreational choices include practicing yoga, or enjoying a variety of free Ayuverdic body treatments. Staff at the tour desk can assist with bicycle rental and sightseeing arrangements. Overlooking the Bentota River, bungalows and cottages are simply furnished. Each is equipped with a fan, Air Condition, mosquito net and private balcony. Shower facilities and bath amenities are standard. After an individual consultation with the Ayuverdic doctors, guests are offered a unique selection of healthy Sri Lanka dishes with fresh fruits and vegetables. Villa Mangrove - Bentota River is a 3-hour drive from Katunayaka International Airport. The villa is a 10-minute drive from the white sandy beaches of Bentota. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mangrove Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing