We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This hotel is something special”
Review of Saman Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saman Villas
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Northants
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“This hotel is something special”
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Where to start....this hotel is one, if not the most beautiful place I have ever stayed. We booked a room with a pool and it was stunning. The view from our room overlooking the beach and rocks was breathtaking and our own private infinity pool to cool off in was pretty special.

The rooms are spacious, airy and spotless. The open air bathroom with huge freestanding bath and rain shower are pure luxury.

Then there is the food! We both tried some of the curries off the menu which were Devine. I had read other reviews on here which mentioned the coconut icecream
so ordered it for dessert, trust the reviews on this it is delicious! As for breakfast..literally 4 courses, fruit platter, cereal, pancakes or waffles and then egg, bacon etc.

Despite the high room tarrif the food and drinks were very reasonable with a main course around 1,300 rupees.

Regrettably we only stayed here 2 nights and I wish we had stayed longer it is pure luxury, quiet, refined and the location and views are stunning.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wildheart15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    664
    96
    29
    5
    14
See reviews for
64
608
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My wife and I checked in to the Saman Villas Bentota on June 24, 2013 for 5 nights. We chose the property based on the description on the website and a good review in Lonely Planet. While it was the low season, we expected the tariff of almost US$ 300 per suite per night to be justified by great facilities and service. We looked forward to being pampered and taken care of by warm and caring hosts at the resort.

First of all, the good bits - the resort has a fabulous location with picturesque views, the swimming pool is very nice as well and the suites are very well maintained and tastefully decorated. While we had a bit of an issue finding the property initially (the sign board was being repaired), our check-in was pleasant and we were shown our suite immediately. The billing process itself was not very smooth - but the staff member involved was courteous enough to apologize later. The servers and cleaners were polite and well-behaved. We tried the spa - it was very clean and well maintained; the massage itself was very average.

As for the negatives, we were not happy with the breakfast - both in terms of options and quantities. We like making a cup of tea for ourselves while we are on holiday to avoid interacting with room service staff all the time - that was not an option here. We had booked a sedan for a day trip to Galle, we were provided with a van after a 45 minute delay (the delay was denied later by senior management). The overall feeling I have from my interaction with the resort manager and the senior management is an overwhelming lack of warmth coupled with arrogance stemming from the overwhelmingly positive reviews.

Let the traveler beware!

Room Tip: While the deluxe suites with swimming pools seem awesome, there is not much privacy as the superior...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aytas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
myfacebook, General Manager - Marketing & Operations at Saman Villas, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
We thank the reviewer for their recent stay at Saman Villas and sharing their holiday experience.

Thank you for commending the hotels location, views, swimming pool and our suites.

With regard to the reviewers comment about breakfast, we would like to mention that we offer a selection of 4 types; Sri Lankan, Slim & Trim, American and Continental. The reviewer was entitled to choose their preferred choice daily. The items offered at breakfast are plentiful and guests have the option of ordering extra portions of your daily breakfast choice at no additional cost.

Saman Villas is Sri Lanka’s first boutique hotel and first full service hotel to open as early as 1995. From the very inception we never resorted to offering tea/ coffee making facilities in rooms or buffet type meals. We certainly do not want our guests getting involved in mundane activities such as making tea/coffee on their holiday when we have staff to provide that service. Sri Lanka probably produces the best orthodox tea in the world, originally introduced by the British. Now, for convenience of use a new process (CTC) has been developed, which is usable in tea bags. Orthodox tea has to be brewed and it is the ultimate in quality. We take so much of care in offering a good cup of tea and we simply do not want to offer our guests cheap CTC tea in tea bags. Our coffee comes from selected beans and to give our guests the best we grind daily the day’s requirement, to ensure the coffee is fresh; this again cannot be achieved from coffee sachets.

The reviewer obtained transportation prices from the reception and had requested for a vehicle to be arranged. Our tour and vehicle hire services are outsourced to some of the village transport providers and they operate on turns. Since the reviewer did not specifically request for a car, the hotel had arranged an available vehicle which was on the turn. The vehicle had arrived on 10 minutes prior to the scheduled time and there were was no such 45 minute delay as stated by the reviewer.

All most every guest who has stayed at Saman Villas with the exception of a very few, have recognized and our personal care and warmth of service. We regret to note that the reviewer was dissatisfied with their stay as the hotel was not able to comply with some of their requests.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights on our honeymoon - it was without a doubt the highlight of our trip. We stayed in one of the upper suites and found the ocean view perfect for enjoying the sunsets each night. The resort is very small with a lot of personal attention from staff who promote a sense of peace and tranquility in this haven. The infinity pool is everything you've read about and we spent many a happy hour swimming about in it. On the wednesday there was a modern Sri Lankan dance evening which we thoroughly enjoyed. The food and staff's english were first rate - totally unrivalled on our 3 week holiday.
We loved borrowing DVDs from their library though a couple were scratched so ended before the film was meant to. However, not a big deal.
The resort was by no means full and is a very couply romantic getaway - the care and attention paid to guests is outstanding. We ventured out for dinner one evening which made us realise it's well worth splashing out a little extra to make the most of this amazing hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NeilB81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2013

One of the best hotel I've ever visited, before even check in, the hotel was started to extend their help to make our stay comfortable. The hotel and its environment is so beautiful. Hotel staffs were very nice and friendly. The room, bath room, private pool which is in front of the room were very clean. [luxurious]. More than anything i like the calm and quite environment and the ocean view from the room.Wide variety of food and desserts were served to our room [based on the package]. Food were delicious. It is a perfect place for honeymoon couples and others who want have a relaxing and unforgettable break. Its a splendid hotel experience.

Room Tip: ground floor with private pool - quit an experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sajee21wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We enjoyed the hotel, very beautiful. The bedrooms are all very nice.
We had a standard room, but you can also get a room with private swimming pool.
The room is very beautiful, and the bathroom too.
It is well equipped, you have music surround system, which we enjoyed a lot. You can play music from your iphone or ipod.
Nice balcony where you can also have your dinner.
The bed is very comfortable, and the bathroom very nice. Opened air bathroom, with nice big bathtub, and a rain shower. they have very good quality shower gel, shampoo...
The SPA is very good, very professional massages! And so beautiful environment. Very nice setting for a couple who wishes to have massages at the same time.
The restaurant have very nice food, very good quality, we enjoyed a lot the fresh fishes.
It is a very relaxing place, and it is close to many other restaurants, and activities (bentota river, unduruwa beach, turtle farms, spice gardens...).
A very good hotel with a high quality, we highly recommend, if you are looking for a nice hotel with good service, for a relaxing break.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maud A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

After traveling all over Sri Lanka we stayed 3 nights at Saman Villas before heading back home. We enjoyed the quite and peaceful time. Our luxurious room was spacious, had a very nice outdoor shower and, to top it off, a private pool. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the breakfast is delicious – especially their Sri-Lankan-style one.

We had several massages during our stay in Sri Lanka and can say that their Spa was just the best. Although it is also more expensive than the standard ayurvedic Spa, their very professional and highly trained therapists are just amazingly good and really worth the extra money.

The hotel is nicely located atop of some rocks right at the sea and has very nice, secluded beaches to the north and south.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oceansize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2013

it was by far the best holiday we had with my boyfriend. Hotel was very nice with Friendly staff, nice location, excotic room view, its a dream place to stay.. You just need to be cautious about mosquitos and insect bites! very itchy and it leaves a strange mark on your skin for a while!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burcusz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
1.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
2.6 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
2.0 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Reef Villa & Spa
Reef Villa & Spa
#1 of 10 in Wadduwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
1.4 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
22.6 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saman Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saman Villas

Property: Saman Villas
Address: Galle Road, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#1 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bentota
#2 Family Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Saman Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saman Villas is laid out on a magnificent rocky headland dividing two long, surf-swept golden beaches. Close by is a sleepy fishing village but you would not know it, the only sounds are sea gulls' cries and the surf below. The resort is inspired by ancient Sri Lankan architecture. The restaurants, bars and villa suites are all angled to take full advantage of the sea shore vista either side of the headland. A terraced garden draws the eye to a dramatic infinity-edge pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saman Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saman Villas Hotel Bentota
Saman Hotel Aturuwella
Saman Resort Aturuwella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing