We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Saman Villas
Nearby Hotels
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mihin Villa(Bentota)(Great Value!)
US$26
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$21
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (883)
Filter reviews
883 results
Traveller rating
727
104
31
5
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
727
104
31
5
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate pooldressing roomour honeymoondeluxe villasri lankaoutdoor bathroomindian oceanromantic dinnerspa treatmentslocation is beautifulsitting areaoverlooking the oceansound of the wavesrain showerperfect endlittle touchesspent nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
427 - 432 of 883 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Hotel deserves to be called the most gorgeous, the beginning of the reception and quickly ending the proceedings, the calm that prevails place (only the sound of the waves crash).
Staff at the very kindness.
I had a problem with eating (I am a Muslim, and do not want to put wine in food during cooking) were very helpful, where I meet the chef (Emir) and view the problem, where the implementation of what I want and also offered to cook chicken (halal) per day next.
Thank you for the happiness you have spent.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ADEL1470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

My wife and I spent 4 nights at Saman Villas, then took an inland trip to a Tea Trails hotel in Norwood for 3 nights (see seperate review) and came back to Saman for a further 7 nights. Our whole experience in Sri Lanka was wonderful, especially at Saman; we've travelled extensively throughout the Far East over 30 years and ALL the staff at Saman were amongst the very best we've met. From the moment we arrived till when we left they were attentive, friendly and went out of their way to make our stay memorable. I would like to mention Nirosha (front desk), Indika (pool), Krishanta and all the restaurant teams, and finally Cyril, with whom I had a few interesting conversations.
The food both at breakfast and dinner was first class and surprisingly good value for money (for a hotel of this class) and the villas were always spotlessly clean, with nice touches like daily fresh fruit and endless supply of bottled water.
To help celebrate our 25th Wedding anniversary, the staff laid on a lovely complimentary dinner at the infinity pool gazebo and we also had a few special spa treatments.
We will definately return to Sri Lanka and Saman Villas soon. One very small gripe which may be outside the management's control; the beaches either side of the hotel would be even more pristine if they were free from all the litter and rubbish that gets washed up (or left behind by tourists). Im sure the local government (or all the other hotels and restaurants in this area) could be 'persuaded' to do something.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danjude2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

An unassuming sign, a small drive way, a snug car park.... but from that point it is a truly unique experience. Both times we stayed we got ground floor rooms which had an enclosed plunge pool. I would recommend it to any on their honeymoon. hardly saw other guest. There is a no children policy and I totally agree with it. it is truly a way to get a way from it ALL. They don't have their own beach strip but there are long beaches on either side...

The pvt pools are heated and we were able truly enjoy it when it began to rain late one evening when we were in the main pool and made a run for our room only to find the plunge pool nice and warm....

If you are looking for fun, excitement and recreational activities Saman Villas is NOT the place.
Good place to enjoy with your partner.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemunu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Where to start....this hotel is one, if not the most beautiful place I have ever stayed. We booked a room with a pool and it was stunning. The view from our room overlooking the beach and rocks was breathtaking and our own private infinity pool to cool off in was pretty special.

The rooms are spacious, airy and spotless. The open air bathroom with huge freestanding bath and rain shower are pure luxury.

Then there is the food! We both tried some of the curries off the menu which were Devine. I had read other reviews on here which mentioned the coconut icecream
so ordered it for dessert, trust the reviews on this it is delicious! As for breakfast..literally 4 courses, fruit platter, cereal, pancakes or waffles and then egg, bacon etc.

Despite the high room tarrif the food and drinks were very reasonable with a main course around 1,300 rupees.

Regrettably we only stayed here 2 nights and I wish we had stayed longer it is pure luxury, quiet, refined and the location and views are stunning.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wildheart15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My wife and I checked in to the Saman Villas Bentota on June 24, 2013 for 5 nights. We chose the property based on the description on the website and a good review in Lonely Planet. While it was the low season, we expected the tariff of almost US$ 300 per suite per night to be justified by great facilities and service. We looked forward to being pampered and taken care of by warm and caring hosts at the resort.

First of all, the good bits - the resort has a fabulous location with picturesque views, the swimming pool is very nice as well and the suites are very well maintained and tastefully decorated. While we had a bit of an issue finding the property initially (the sign board was being repaired), our check-in was pleasant and we were shown our suite immediately. The billing process itself was not very smooth - but the staff member involved was courteous enough to apologize later. The servers and cleaners were polite and well-behaved. We tried the spa - it was very clean and well maintained; the massage itself was very average.

As for the negatives, we were not happy with the breakfast - both in terms of options and quantities. We like making a cup of tea for ourselves while we are on holiday to avoid interacting with room service staff all the time - that was not an option here. We had booked a sedan for a day trip to Galle, we were provided with a van after a 45 minute delay (the delay was denied later by senior management). The overall feeling I have from my interaction with the resort manager and the senior management is an overwhelming lack of warmth coupled with arrogance stemming from the overwhelmingly positive reviews.

Let the traveler beware!

Room Tip: While the deluxe suites with swimming pools seem awesome, there is not much privacy as the superior suites are one level up (with a better view of the ocean and your pool!)
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Aytas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
myfacebook, General Manager - Marketing & Operations at Saman Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

We thank the reviewer for their recent stay at Saman Villas and sharing their holiday experience.

Thank you for commending the hotels location, views, swimming pool and our suites.

With regard to the reviewers comment about breakfast, we would like to mention that we offer a selection of 4 types; Sri Lankan, Slim & Trim, American and Continental. The reviewer was entitled to choose their preferred choice daily. The items offered at breakfast are plentiful and guests have the option of ordering extra portions of your daily breakfast choice at no additional cost.

Saman Villas is Sri Lanka’s first boutique hotel and first full service hotel to open as early as 1995. From the very inception we never resorted to offering tea/ coffee making facilities in rooms or buffet type meals. We certainly do not want our guests getting involved in mundane activities such as making tea/coffee on their holiday when we have staff to provide that service. Sri Lanka probably produces the best orthodox tea in the world, originally introduced by the British. Now, for convenience of use a new process (CTC) has been developed, which is usable in tea bags. Orthodox tea has to be brewed and it is the ultimate in quality. We take so much of care in offering a good cup of tea and we simply do not want to offer our guests cheap CTC tea in tea bags. Our coffee comes from selected beans and to give our guests the best we grind daily the day’s requirement, to ensure the coffee is fresh; this again cannot be achieved from coffee sachets.

The reviewer obtained transportation prices from the reception and had requested for a vehicle to be arranged. Our tour and vehicle hire services are outsourced to some of the village transport providers and they operate on turns. Since the reviewer did not specifically request for a car, the hotel had arranged an available vehicle which was on the turn. The vehicle had arrived on 10 minutes prior to the scheduled time and there were was no such 45 minute delay as stated by the reviewer.

All most every guest who has stayed at Saman Villas with the exception of a very few, have recognized and our personal care and warmth of service. We regret to note that the reviewer was dissatisfied with their stay as the hotel was not able to comply with some of their requests.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews