We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We keep coming back!”
Review of Saman Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Saman Villas
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We have lived in Sri Lanka for almost two decades now and this has to be our favourite place to stay for a peaceful getaway.
The location, tranquility excellent food and service keep drawing us back. Rooms are spacious and luxurious with wonderful views of the Indian Ocean and beach. Spa and ambiance very relaxing. A choice of location dining makes a special occasion truly memorable. Staff are friendly but not intrusive and Nirosha on guest relations adds to the lovely welcome with her friendly smile and was so helpful during our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abigail D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (853)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 853 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

This is a beaut spot.
Great facilities super location food terrific and staff so good.
Seriously could not fault it in any way. Big vanishing edge pool views to beach and backdrop of surf to put you to sleep.
Spa very good and staff (Iresha and Nirosha) deserve special mention. Buddi too.
We loved it.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This is just a great place - everything you'd want in a hotel the Saman Villas has in abundance. Fantastic hillside setting, great room (we went for the deluxe room with pool), superb staff and great food. We stayed for a total of 11 nights and managed to fit in a couple of trips to Kandy and Galle (both highly recommended) and it was always a joy to return to Saman. In terms of the food on offer we were spoilt. An extensive menu that always tasted great whatever we chose. We ate out a couple of times but the Saman restaurant was always better and reasonably priced. So if you are looking for a bit of peace and quiet, great service, great food and a lovely setting the Saman Villas won't let you down.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Saman Villas more than lived up to our expectations - it was a discrete haven of luxury tucked away down an inconspicuous drive but located in a wonderful position overlooking the beach. We were definitely spoilt during our 7 night stay - the food was high quality and served with style. We had planned to eat out most of the time during our stay, but having experienced a couple of indifferent meals at other local (recommended) restaurants, we came to the rapid conclusion that the restaurant at Saman Villas was a cut above anything else and priced competitively. We would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Hotel deserves to be called the most gorgeous, the beginning of the reception and quickly ending the proceedings, the calm that prevails place (only the sound of the waves crash).
Staff at the very kindness.
I had a problem with eating (I am a Muslim, and do not want to put wine in food during cooking) were very helpful, where I meet the chef (Emir) and view the problem, where the implementation of what I want and also offered to cook chicken (halal) per day next.
Thank you for the happiness you have spent.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ADEL1470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

My wife and I spent 4 nights at Saman Villas, then took an inland trip to a Tea Trails hotel in Norwood for 3 nights (see seperate review) and came back to Saman for a further 7 nights. Our whole experience in Sri Lanka was wonderful, especially at Saman; we've travelled extensively throughout the Far East over 30 years and ALL the staff at Saman were amongst the very best we've met. From the moment we arrived till when we left they were attentive, friendly and went out of their way to make our stay memorable. I would like to mention Nirosha (front desk), Indika (pool), Krishanta and all the restaurant teams, and finally Cyril, with whom I had a few interesting conversations.
The food both at breakfast and dinner was first class and surprisingly good value for money (for a hotel of this class) and the villas were always spotlessly clean, with nice touches like daily fresh fruit and endless supply of bottled water.
To help celebrate our 25th Wedding anniversary, the staff laid on a lovely complimentary dinner at the infinity pool gazebo and we also had a few special spa treatments.
We will definately return to Sri Lanka and Saman Villas soon. One very small gripe which may be outside the management's control; the beaches either side of the hotel would be even more pristine if they were free from all the litter and rubbish that gets washed up (or left behind by tourists). Im sure the local government (or all the other hotels and restaurants in this area) could be 'persuaded' to do something.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danjude2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

An unassuming sign, a small drive way, a snug car park.... but from that point it is a truly unique experience. Both times we stayed we got ground floor rooms which had an enclosed plunge pool. I would recommend it to any on their honeymoon. hardly saw other guest. There is a no children policy and I totally agree with it. it is truly a way to get a way from it ALL. They don't have their own beach strip but there are long beaches on either side...

The pvt pools are heated and we were able truly enjoy it when it began to rain late one evening when we were in the main pool and made a run for our room only to find the plunge pool nice and warm....

If you are looking for fun, excitement and recreational activities Saman Villas is NOT the place.
Good place to enjoy with your partner.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemunu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
1.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
2.6 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
2 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
22.6 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 28 in Hikkaduwa
629 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 26 in Bentota
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saman Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saman Villas

Address: Galle Road, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bentota
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
Price Range: £272 - £591 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Saman Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saman Villas is laid out on a magnificent rocky headland dividing two long, surf-swept golden beaches. Close by is a sleepy fishing village but you would not know it, the only sounds are sea gulls' cries and the surf below. The resort is inspired by ancient Sri Lankan architecture. The restaurants, bars and villa suites are all angled to take full advantage of the sea shore vista either side of the headland. A terraced garden draws the eye to a dramatic infinity-edge pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Saman Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saman Villas Hotel Bentota
Saman Hotel Aturuwella
Saman Resort Aturuwella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing