We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Saman Villas
Nearby Hotels
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota(Bentota)
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$57
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$39
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Susanthas(Bentota)(Great Value!)
US$37
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (889)
Filter reviews
889 results
Traveller rating
731
106
31
5
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
731
106
31
5
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate pooldressing roomour honeymoondeluxe villasri lankaoutdoor bathroomindian oceanromantic dinnerspa treatmentslocation is beautifulsitting areaoverlooking the oceansound of the wavesrain showerperfect endlittle touchesspent nights
Filter
Updating list...
403 - 408 of 889 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My wife and I spent 7 relaxing days at Saman Villas after a 2 week tour of the wonderful sights of Sri Lanka. It was all we hoped for: from the moment we arrived at reception we were smitten. Staff attentive, quickly responsive and friendly, nothing too much trouble. Excellent food with varied and unusual international menus. Superb infinity pool and grounds next to an idyllic Indian Ocean beach. Outstanding comfortable rooms and bathrooms. Beautifully appointed spa, soothing treatments from well-trained staff. Saman Villas is simply top class, different class!

Room Tip: Whichever room you go for, you will not be disappointed
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nic_holladay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed at Saman Villas in a Deluxe double room with private pool from March 1st till March 5, 2014, wonderful place and we enjoyed the peaceful atmosphere . from arrival till departure our stay went beyond our expectation. friendly staff, nice cuisine ( on the menu go for the Sri Lanka style cuisine if you like curry and to eat local, was really good ) The spa is efficient and friendly staff

We recommend to have breakfast on the left side of the restaurant when you enter it from the reception area... its the best view on the beach and sea... The sea is great to swim and enjoy the waves on both side... we preferred the large beach on the left... where you have less bars and restaurants... more wild and nice waves to play in too :-)

For the rooms, any double deluxe are great... if you have a private pool room, you will enjoy the sun till 2 pm, than you can go to the main pool for a better overlooking and have a chat with the friendly pool-boy and other guests :-)

there is no buffet breakfast set... they only serve at the table, but you can ask all what you wish
fresh fruit salad platte, curd, warm oats, pancakes, bread, toast, eggs, etc... really good !

Room Tip: Room on the south side are quieter, it's also the side where you have major deluxe room with private pool... beware that on Saturday evenings, on that side there is on the beach a bar that do Discotheque and can be noisy... but it doesn't last all night long...and music is not too lout
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Everything about Saman Villas is exquisite .....
The staff are outstanding ,without being obtrusive....
The food is exceptional and good value for money...
The setting is perfect....
The rooms beautifully appointed.....
There is no need to say any more ..except thank you for a marvellous end to our holiday in Sri Lanka....
Nearly forgot to mention the Spa..something I don't usually use , but this was a great experience and staffed by experienced and empathetic people.
One last thing!! I can't close without mentioning our tuck tuck driver Sanath who was so reasonable and SO helpful +94 77 6024140.
We hope one day to return....

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ProvenceFan001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I am not one to easily give out top rating to hotels or restaurants, but Saman Villa gets both. A small 27 room place on a point so it has views both directions down a practically deserted beach. The hotel is located about 3km south of Bentota so easy ride on a tuk-tuk for 300-400 Rps. There are other restaurants nearby, but SV's is excellent, outdoor overlooking the view, has great service, really nice food from a varied menu, so in some ways, why bother going out? There is a bar and a reasonably good wine list. I don't remember our main waiter's name but he was very good.

The rooms are great. We had a main floor room, looking north, so we had the private plunge pool, nice, but the main pool was excellent too. There is a sitting room with a couch and desk, and a step up to a super comfortable king sized bed. The washroom is split to indoor outdoor, so you get an outdoor shower, with a water feature. The outdoor washroom has a secondary long vanity and the indoor is just a sink and dressing room. All super comfortable and whisper quiet AC.

The service was superb. Unbeknownst to us, the hotel comped us (everyone?) a dinner, a 90 minute massage and a 15 foot massage. So this surprise was most welcome. Nirosha, as guest relation manager always had a wonderful smile and good advice. Unfortunately, she wouldn't come home with us! Derrick the spa manager walked us to the village close by, explaining everything about the town and things about Sri Lanka we hadn't learned after 3 weeks in the country. He topped it off with a tour of the Buddhist temple overlooking the village, which was both a superb temple and excellent view.

My only critisism might be to have better wifi, but really, with it so relaxing, so we need to be connected all the time?

Highly recommended for couples only, weddings (we watched a Brit couple get married, then on a elephant ride down the beach), or maybe solos who just want total R&R. Definitely not for kids.

Room Tip: Although most expensive get a main floor with the plunge pool.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomshiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I cannot imagine there is a nicer place to stay on the coast of Sti Lanka.

An exceptional location that is bettered by the welcome you will receive from Norisha, and then followed by the attentiveness of every member of staff.

It is a small, niche hotel that goes that bit further. Can recommend the pool rooms, the food and the ocean views. Magic!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews