We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best beach hotel in Sri Lanka”
Review of Saman Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Saman Villas
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2010

We spent 5 nights at the Saman Villas after a week's tour and were so pleased to have chosen this hotel for the beach part of our holiday. It's peaceful and suitable for relaxing - no night life - the rooms were spacious and well fitted out - particularly the outdoor bathrooms. They were light and bright with two air con systems which were efficient and quiet. The views were superb and it was very relaxing sitting on the balcony overlooking the lovely beach. Excellent pool attended by some very friendly staff. The restaurant was good but a little costly which one may expect from a 5* hotel - we ate out some of the nights and were ferried around by Charlie who is the local tuk-tuk driver - he's always around on the beach and can be totally trusted - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caroley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (821)
There are newer reviews for Saman Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

653 - 659 of 821 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2010

We spent 5 fabulous nights at Saman Villas...the room was lovely, the food was good (though the portion sizes were a little small for the price) and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
This is an ideal resort if you simply want to relax and unwind...there's not much more to do besides swimming in the superb pool or in the sea or taking walks up and down the beach.
Felt it was a bit of cheek to charge for a WiFi connection.
We popped into the local town (Aluthgama) a couple of times and ate out a few times (highly recommend the Golden Grill...great value for money and superb service).
If you want to go anywhere by Tuk Tuk text/call Charlie ([--])...he's a lovely chap and charges much less than any of the other drivers.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theboyyates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

We booked a deluxe room with own pool. These rooms were advertised as being totally private. They were not, as they were overlooked by at least 5 other rooms. In addition, the rooms were north facing and as a result got only limited sun in the lounging area. As we had to use the main area of hotel, we could have saved a considerable amount of money because of the misleading claims made.

While we were there, we suffered considerable disturbance from a disco which took place at a distance of about 1/2 a mile away. This started at 10 in the morning and finished at 1 a.m. the following morning without a break. The volume was such that even with doors closed, the noise prevented sleeping. Locals told us that this a frequent occurence and in spite of their complaints, the situation was expected to continue.

Food was repetitive, unimaginative and frequently cold.

The staff were absolutely delightful, friendly and helpful and were the absolute strength of the hotel. During our stay in Sri Lanka, we stayed in a range of hotels, from 3* to 5*. This was the most expensive and the one that caused most disappointment.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank retiredtraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

Stayed at Saman Villas for 3 nights,at the end of a fantastic, but gruelling 8 day tour with Elephant Island. This was the perfect end to the holiday. Rooms spacious and luxurious, food excellent, pool and facilities could not be faulted. The staff too were wonderful. Always pleasant and helpful, but not intrusive. In spite of the internet weather forecast predicting severe storms every day, we had no rain at all. Would recommend Saman Villas and Elephant Island Tours without reservation.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HillcroftAustrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2009

The staff at Saman Villas were outstanding. The service was second to none. The rooms are absolutely lovely and the setting is idylic. I wont hesitate to recommend it or return myself one day. The food was brilliant and i could spend 6 months there...easily!! swimming in the infinity pool looking out at the Indian Ocean, falling asleep in the sun. This would make an ideal honeymoon destination as well with sumpteous accomodation. Most of the villas have their own private pool. a truly wonderful place.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BTFI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2009

We stayed for only 3 nights at Saman Villas at the end of our holiday in Sri Lanka. The people we met around Sri Lanka had told us that Saman was the number one hotel on the island, and I can see why. The location is beautiful - a secluded, gated development, on a rocky outcrop of the Indian Ocean. It has exceptional facilities, and the staff were very attentive.
The room had everything we needed, and was really well set up (in fact I'd like a flat here like it please!).
You have to give this hotel the benefit of the doubt. September isn't high season, and so we were only the second of two couples that were resident. We had the pool to ourselves each day which was lovely! However, in the evening there was no atmosphere whatsoever, as there was no one else around! The staff were very bored all day and it showed. And the menu for dinner was limited. Thankfully, we stayed B&B and so chose to go out each night for dinner as there was nothing else to do in the hotel. The prices were considerably marked up, but given you were in an exclusive resort, you expect that, and when converting back into GB£ is wasn't enough to make a big deal about.
This hotel has real potential to be a little taste of paradise, and so probably best experienced in the height of the tourist season.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birdyseyeview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2009

Amazing view, simly staff, amaznig piscine.. and great food. An amazing time.

Two areas for improvement : Consdiering the price internet could be free. Too bad to have DVD player but no DVD to lend.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nepomucene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
1.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
2.6 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
2.0 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
611 reviews
1.4 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
6.1 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saman Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saman Villas

Address: Galle Road, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bentota
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#2 Family Hotel in Bentota
Price Range: £261 - £635 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Saman Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saman Villas is laid out on a magnificent rocky headland dividing two long, surf-swept golden beaches. Close by is a sleepy fishing village but you would not know it, the only sounds are sea gulls' cries and the surf below. The resort is inspired by ancient Sri Lankan architecture. The restaurants, bars and villa suites are all angled to take full advantage of the sea shore vista either side of the headland. A terraced garden draws the eye to a dramatic infinity-edge pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saman Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saman Villas Hotel Bentota
Saman Hotel Aturuwella
Saman Resort Aturuwella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing