We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed at Vivanta, Bentota for a night. The warm welcome accorded to us was very much appreciated. The rooms are spacious and the proximity to the beach is a big plus point. The staff are very friendly and the breakfast was yummy. There are a lot of choices for the vegetarian.

Wi-fi being charged was a minus point.
However, the stay was pleasant and highly recommend this place if you want a totally relaxed holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VRR103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thank you for taking the trouble of sharing your feedback about the recent stay at our resort.

We are delighted to note that you had a memorable stay with us. Our staff is our greatest asset and they take great pride in ensuring the highest level of service at all times. The four Food & Beverage outlets offer great variety and choice for our guests and we have Chefs who are trained to look after individual needs.

We have taken note of your comments regarding the WIFI and assure you that this issue will be resolved very shortly.

Thank you once again for your generous compliments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,482 - 1,488 of 2,418 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013

This hotel is all you would expect for a 5* hotel, notably the staff were amazing and their attention to detail was outstanding.
They quickly got to know us by name and were always checking that we were having a good time and seeing if there was anything extra they could do for us.
They set up a special romantic meal for us on our last night and gave us a little gift when we left.
The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are very clean. The location is great for a relaxing holiday as you're right by a very quiet beach.
The food is delicious- they upgraded us from half board to 'dine around' at no extra cost. The main restaurant (the palms) is quite varied and the food is very fresh. The other options for dine around are a Chinese (spicey!), the shack (seafood, chargeable) and there's a fine dining restaurant (sea view) which is michelin star standard!! - taster menu is free on the dine around package.

The only negative thing is that wifi is chargeable but the gym is free and well equipped.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vchaplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thank you for taking the trouble of sending your feedback through the TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Vivanta by Taj Bentota!

We are delighted to note that you had a memorable stay with us. Our Associates, Chefs and Managers take great pride in ensuring that our guests are provided with the highest level of service at all times. They truly are our greatest assets.

The 'Dine-around" option in our four restaurants offers greater flexibility and variety and our Chefs are delighted to note that you had great dining experiences at our restaurants.

We have noted your comments regarding the WIFI and assure you that this problem will be resolved very soon. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.

We thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Stayed a week at Vivanta by Taj, Bentota, and loved it. The people, the service, the main restaurant, the pool area and of course the location are all wonderful!
We wanted a peaceful, relaxing week and definitely got it. Lots of privacy and respect.
The hotel did help with different types of tours however this wasn't advertised very well. Maybe that is one thing they could have done better.
It again we're very satisfied.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Asa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thank you for your feedback about the recent stay with us at Vivanta by Taj Bentota.

We are delighted to note that you had a memorable stay with us. This indeed is a great place to relax and De-stress and our internationally acclaimed JIVA Spa is a great option. The Five Food & Beverage outlets which provide variety and quality within the hotel premises is an added attraction for our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Very nice atmosphere, beautiful views, fantastic Aqua aerobik. Very tasty breakfast with different kind of kitchen. It is possible to surf, fitness, swiming and see fantastic view to the ocean from the rock. You must be there if you want to take the taste of Sri Lanka culture.

Room Tip: Our room, booked as a garden view has very beautiful ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aldona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thank you for taking the trouble of sending your feedback about the hotel during your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to note that you had a memorable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Vivanta by Taj, Bentota at Sri Lanka is a very nice hotel offering very pleasant experience. The room is well designed with a great ambiance. It will offer you a memorable stay. In addition to that, the private beach of the hotel is so beautiful. A walk along the beach as early as 6am in the morning will be a great refresher. A train station nearby the hotel connects Colombo and also Galle. So, you can just take a train ride to come to the hotel from Colombo if you like to experience the train journey. You will enjoy every moment from the day you arrive the doorstep of the hotel until you depart. If you are looking for a complete relaxation, visit Vivanta by Taj, Bentota. I am sure it will be a perfect choice coming with wonderful experience…

Room Tip: Room facing the beach will offer you a great experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shathees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Thank you for taking the trouble of sending your feedback through the TripAdvisor about your recent stay at our hotel.

We are delighted to note that you had a memorable stay with us. The stunningly located hotel has attracted many of our guests to return back year after year. The long stretch of beach is often referred as the "Golden Mile" and is a great place to relax and unwind.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Taj certainly know how to pick staff if this hotel is anything to go by, we were greeted on arrival by the lovely Madusha and the rest just followed, In the bar, the service was second to none, the pool staff were nothing but excellent and in restaurants the attention to detail was first class, with a big mention to Newan in the Chinese who did everything to make our '3' visits memorable.
If you are thinking of a trip to Bentota then this hotel will not let you down, from singles to families it has something to suit all ages.
The food overall was good, however the Chinese's was far the best with a great Chinese chef!
'But do give the Shack a try wonderful fresh fish'
Getting around is very cheap with Tuk Tuk and taxi charging about 200 rupee (£1.00) for a trip in to the local town. We Also had a taxi to Kandy for the day via the elephant orphanage for for 4 people costing16000 rupee £80 ish) when the rep wanted £74 each !
'A special thanks to Sasanka our cleaner for the very imaginative towel creations and spotless room' .........

Room Tip: No bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rwillcardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Thank you for sending us your feedback through the TripAdvisor about your recent stay at our hotel.

We are delighted to note that you had a memorable stay with us. As your rightly mentioned, our team of Associates, Managers and Chefs are our greatest assets and they take great pride in providing the highest quality of service at all times. Madhusha, Chef Peng, Nuwan and Shashaka thank you for your compliments and are encouraged to continue their journey of service excellence.

Our 4 restaurants and Tease Bar provide great variety and options for guests especially for those guest who are staying for longer periods.

We thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We went to Taj knowing the quality of the hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 nights there. This was the first of our beach side 2 week Sri Lanka trip. It is simply said, luxury and relaxation at it's best. There was an error in the booking for one night and I have to say they corrected the costing and made us whole. The beach was perfect for the kids as it was protected so they could swim without fear of under currents. It is really a destination that you want to enjoy.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a sea view which was magnificent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NMandLittleNomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Thank you for taking the trouble of sending your feedback through the TripAdvisor about the recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota.

We are happy to note that you and your family had a memorable stay with us. As you rightly pointed out the is a perfect destination for all - honeymooners, families, individuals, holiday makers, etc.

Taj Group of hotels is always thankful of patrons like you who continue to support and encourage us in offering the best of service and products at all times.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
1 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.5 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 26 in Bentota
903 reviews
7.6 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,575 reviews
24.2 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Bentota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Bentota

Address: National Holiday Resort, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bentota
#2 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range: £127 - £524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Bentota 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sri Lanka is referred to as a ‘small miracle,’ for despite the island’s relatively small size, its natural wonders and beauty are in abundance. Vivanta by Taj – Bentota is located on the south west coast of Sri Lanka. The hotel lies over a lush hill that overlooks the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Bentota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Bentota Hotel Bentota
Taj Exotica Hotel Bentota
Bentota Taj Exotica Hotel
Taj Exotica Sri Lanka
Taj Exotica Srilanka
Taj Exotica Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing