We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE, BUT COULD DO BETTER”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 December 2013

The hotel overall does not shout out WOW, though they claim the hotel has been overhauled it's not true. The public areas are so so.
We booked the deluxe rooms which had been renovated and its crisp and wonderful. However they tried a quick one by trying to give us a non renovated room saying it is the new deluxe, but since I had stayed here before I was able to distinguish between both. Only after I made it clear, I knew what I was talking abt he accepted. So always look for the black furniture in the rooms instead of the white as those are the rooms without the new amenities.
Check in & check out is a major issue,as we had plenty of problems and so did other guests. When we spoke abt this to a new indian manager from Bangalore, he was willing to correct it rather than the usual indian talk.
Food was superb and the main restaurants chef was willing to make what we wanted as a la carte.

Will I return again- NO ( as there is plenty of other options in the vicinity.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank FiyazIsmath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for taking the trouble of sending us your feedback about your stay in our hotel.

We are glad to note that your were happy with our newly renovated Deluxe Delight rooms. We do apologise for not providing the room of your choice at the very first instance. As mentioned in our website all our Superior Charm rooms have cane furniture and they have all been recently refurbished.

We are glad that you like our Food & Beverage offerings.

I have taken a serious note about your observations during check- out. Necessary steps are already in place to ensure that there are no such recurrences in future. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

May I take this opportunity to wish you and your family a very happy and prosperous New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,485)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,527 - 1,533 of 2,485 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2013

My wife and I along with another couple had a truly memorable stay over 3 nights at the Taj Bentot after hearing & reading glowing reviews from family, friends and Tripadvisor. I can say one thing, we were not in the least bit disappointed.

Our entire experience from arrival at the hotel was made special by the astounding service over the duration of our stay by every member of their staff, from the guards situated at the from steps who greeted us with a smile every time we entered/ exited the hotel, to the staff at the front desk and concierge who planned our day trips to Galle and to our final destination of Kandy, to the amazing chefs led by Sunny who created bespoke culinary delights (off the menu) for one of my friends who unfortunately had a bit of a stomach bug and the motherly care of Executive Housekeeper Mrs Valishali Chaterjee who deserves a special mention.

The entire layout of the hotel is fantastic with the rooms overlooking the golden beaches, sunny gardens and glistening Indian Ocean. The rooms themselves, especially the Deluxe Delight Sea View Rooms are fantastic offering a homely luxurious touch, and in true resort spirit comfortable white cane/ weave furniture to match which added that extra bit of class. On a beach holiday, waking up to stunning sun rises under soaring palm trees and the soft crash of ocean waves, is bliss.

The hotel also has a couple of fantastic restaurants, including The Palms, 24x7 restaurant with a delectable buffet spread for breakfast, lunch and dinner set at the very top of the hotel with spectacular sea views and a huge pool as its backdrop and Oriental Pavillion. The Palms is quite easily the finest way to start one's day at the hotel, or spend the day as well lounging under the sun with a steady supply of cocktails and delicious food. The veggie burger deserves a special mention here. We spent most of our time in and around the pool and the Palms during our stay and we couldn't have asked for a more relaxing break from our otherwise hectic lives.

The Oriental Pavillion on the other hand was perfect for some fantastic Chinese food in a more formal setting. Considering we were there to celebrate a friend's birthday over dinner and a few bottles of excellent Italian wine - the restaurant had a surprisingly good selection of Italian & Argentinian reds - our food was bursting with authentic flavours and the service was impeccable.

In general all the staff at the hotel always had a smile on their face and were very helpful, even when buzzing room service at 3am for more ice and towels. In this regard a truly special mention must go to Mrs. Vaishali Chaterjee who went beyond the extra mile to ensure our friend with the stomach bug was consistently provided with any medical care we/ she felt was required, specially made food (even a truly spectacular spread of traditional Sri Lankan cuisine which was one of the best I've ever eaten) and topped off with small gifts in each of our rooms the night before we were to check-out! WOW! Outstanding customer service and why we would go back in a heart beat and recommend the hotel here and to our friends.

At the end of our 3 days at the hotel, i can honestly say we were all rather sad to be leaving but at the same time thrilled that the tremendous experience we were provided by all the staff would ensure we would come back again!

Room Tip: The rooms on the higher floors have a larger balcony and are more spacious. But all the rooms are fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KNASKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Compliments of the Season!

Thank you for taking the trouble of sharing your feedback about the recent stay at our hotel.

We are delighted to note that you had a memorable stay with us. As you rightly pointed out, our team of Associates, Managers and Chefs are our greatest assets and they take great pride in striving to provide the highest level of service at all times. Chef Sunny and Mrs Vaishali Chatterjee are delighted to receive your compliments and we thank you for the same.

We are delighted to note that you have tried our various Food & Beverage outlets and were happy with your experiences.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

sir/madam,i like to introduce about Bentota Taj hotel,this hotel situated at Bentota,start of the southern province.i undestand about this hotel that very they give very attractive service because this beautiful hotel supply for the holiday visitors for the best service.this hotel management ready for welcome any tourist, any place ,any where, any ethnics groups and any religion we will give them maximum well service they interest,specially service ,attention holiday makers mostly like options.what they ask or like , hotel management ready for give they service,example vegetable or non vegetables foods also ready for the hotel any time. Hotel cleaning, spa, restaurant and other service also very well.hotel location also very excellent because 2/3 sea view.so very beautiful environment .specially little hill side so we are lot of like this location.we request from holiday makers you should come with your family because good helpful service ,do not missing this opportunity,we believe one of the best hotel in the Beruwala include bentota.areas.arround hotels areas very harmful.who like go to see the town or country side you can get vehicles ,specially very sheap tuk,tuk three wheelers,you can travel three person maximum one tuk tuk.so i again request from travelors you should choose first taj bentota.

Room Tip: Arround the hotel good rooms but mostly suitable for the sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Serandip1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

My husband I recently stayed at Taj Bentota for couple of nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Staff were very polite, friendly and helpful . Mohit at the front desk was really helpful and always had a smile on his face!.He gave us a nice sea view room !
Housekeeping manager Vaishali really went out of her way and asked if we fancy anything which is not on the menu, chef would still make it and she kept to her promise on the last day at breakfast we had delicious alloo paratha and masala tea.
Massages at the spa was also the most memorable experience. Overall it was a very pleasant and memorable stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smita r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thank you for taking the trouble of sharing your experiences at Vivanta by Taj Bentota through the TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to note that you had a memorable stay with us. Thank you for complimenting my team especially Mohit from the Front Desk and the Executive Housekeeper Ms Vaishali Chatterjee. They are encouraged by your compliments and they always take great pride in providing the highest level of service at all times.

Our internationally acclaimed JIVA Spa is always a popular place for our guests and we are glad you liked your Spa experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We have just returned from a five night stay at the Taj. We were in Deluxe Delight Sea view room with breathtaking views over the golden sandy beach adjoining the hotel over the spectacular Indian Ocean. Our room was spacious, clean, tastefully decorated ,regularly cleaned and maintained to a high standard. There were tea and coffee making facilities in our room and everything worked (TV, remote, phone, services etc). Many of the negative isues raised in 2012 feedback stream, seem to have been resolved. The refurbishments are finished.

The Taj has three(?) eateries. The Palms is the biggest and hosts breakfast, buffet dinner, lunch and snacks. The Shack specialises in seafood and has amazing views over the ocean and a fine dining restaurant. We didn't try this one so have no comments.

We picked the Taj almost as a second thought. Having first considered the Avani, a bit further down the same beachfront, we decided to pay a bit more for the Taj hoping to put ourselves a bit further away from the train track which runs along the back of the hotel. Although the trains were not an issue (there aren't that many anyway ), the Taj turned out to be a fantastic choice. The layout of the hotel is open and sapcious and it has a friendly, non-corporate, homely feel. The swmming pool sits high on a clifftop plateau and the views (west and and east) looking out over the beautiful golden sandy beach are truly spectacular.

Specifically, the breakfast and lunch buffet at the Palms restaurant which adjoins the pool, presents a wide choice of dishes which includes Indian, Continental,Sri Lankan and has a good range of deeserts. Every day both at breakfast and at dinner, the chef and his team circulated among the guests ensuring everything was running well and they went to extraordinary lengths to make sure that we were well looked after. Everyone, from the check-in staff to the exec housekeeper took the trouble to talk to us and were sociable, willing and curious about the quality of our stay and nothing was too much trouble.Can't praise them highly enough.

We prefer to stay at places which scores highly on the personal stuff. We will put up with small discomforts or inconveniences if the staff take a genuine interest in their guests and pride in their jobs. We find that these qauities are becoming increasing rare in the stifling corporate atmosphere of the big chains that present a fabulously ornate lobby downstairs and miles of prison like corridors upstairs. We are neither reassured nor comforted by the philosophy of familiarity and prefer to experience a true flavour of the places we visit. The Taj has this unique character and we hope it doesn't go 'corporate'.

For a different dining experience, try some of the restaurants located further along the beach. Turn left out of the hotel on to the beach and walk about five hundred yards or so for some options. There is a turtle hathcery along there as well. Also cross the railway line using the overbridge in front of the Fragipani reaturant, to the 'Samantha' (?) restaurant with the fabulous and evocative courtyard staright out of a film set, which is accessed from the platform.

Two suggestions for improvement. 1. Free Wi Fi (even the 4 star Cinnamon and others, offers this) and 2. Decaffeinated coffee, please!

Room Tip: Deluxe Delight rooms have sea views, worth paying a bit extra for. Noise from live music can occasio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nestima001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

We thank you for your observations and feedback regarding your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota.

We are delighted to note that you had a memorable stay with us.

We always consider our team of associates, managers and chefs to be our greatest assets and they take great pride in providing the highest level of service at all times.Thank you for recognizing their contributions. It is because of patrons like you that Taj is encouraged to expand its footprints all over the world.

We have noted your comments regarding the WIFI and decaffeinated coffee and assure you that actions have been initiated to resolve these at the earliest.

We thank you once again for your compliments and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Taj Bentota is a beautiful property. While the drive is a bit long from the main city, Colombo, the hotel provides a breathtaking sea view. The hotel opens into a nice sprawling lobby with a big terrace which provides you with the first glimpse of the view outside. The rooms are nice and spacious with a private balcony looking into the sea. The coffee shop has a huge spread and the food served is excellent with a healthy mix of continental and local food. The swimming pool is nice and big and we enjoyed a good game of polo. The banquet facilities are fairly adequate. The gym though is a bit disappointing.

Initially, one might get a bit lost inside the hotel trying to find the way to the rooms or restaurants because they are all very haphazardly located on different floors, often having to even use different sets of elevators located apart. Wish they had more signs showing the way around. Room service takes time obviously due to the time taken to get to the rooms. But overall, service levels are satisfactory.

Overall, had a good stay here. It was very relaxing.

Room Tip: A higher floor would be preferable as it will provide a better view. One of our business delegates h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bundle72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback about our hotel.

We are happy to note that you had a good stay with us. The Buffet breakfast at our All Day Dining is appreciated by one and all because of the variety and selection of different cuisines prepared tastefully.

We have noted your comments regarding the signage and difficulty in locating different outlets. We will look into the matter soon. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The location of this hotel is excellent, true nature cann feel here, quality of service is awesome.
facility too good.spa very good.you never felt that you away from home,it's a wonderful experince to saty there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pagutinu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thank you for your feedback during your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota.

We are happy to note that you had a memorable experience with us. The internationally acclaimed JIVA Spa is a great place to relax and de-stress and is very popular with our resident guests. Thank you for your compliments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
1 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.5 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 26 in Bentota
944 reviews
7.6 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 3 in Ahungalla
3,664 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Bentota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Bentota

Address: National Holiday Resort, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bentota
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#3 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range: £103 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Bentota 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sri Lanka is referred to as a ‘small miracle,’ for despite the island’s relatively small size, its natural wonders and beauty are in abundance. Vivanta by Taj – Bentota is located on the south west coast of Sri Lanka. The hotel lies over a lush hill that overlooks the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, getaroom.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Bentota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Bentota Hotel Bentota
Taj Exotica Hotel Bentota
Bentota Taj Exotica Hotel
Taj Exotica Sri Lanka
Taj Exotica Srilanka
Taj Exotica Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing