We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sun, sand and far away from sounds of traffic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2014

What more could you ask for! The location is ideal for a relaxing holiday. It is a 3 hour drive from Colombo, but once we got there, I really was in no hurry to get back to Colombo. We were there for business meeting, and I wish we had more time to spend at the beach, but even a few minutes at the beach was enough to realize that this is heaven! The hotel is fantastic too - the breakfast spread is great, the staff is extremely helpful, the rooms are clean and comfortable, And the hotel is large enough that it takes a few days to remember routes around, so no worries about getting bored seeing the same things again and again. There's plenty to see around the hotel too, several shops to get your daily needs and souvenirs.

Room Tip: The hotel seems to have expanded recently - some of the rooms have old air conditioning and furnishi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pacholee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you for taking the trouble of sharing your experiences about your recent stay at the hotel.

Despite your business commitments we are happy to note that you could enjoy the services and facilities of the hotel. We thank you for your compliments.

We hope you can take some time off from your busy schedule and spend some relaxing time us at our resort. We will ensure that you will have a memorable stay again.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,433 - 1,439 of 2,451 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

Exqusite location,beautifully anointed hotel and excellent service.It has very good restaurants and dining facilities as well as a lot of outdoor activity.All the amenities you would look for in a classy hotel are available.
I would recomend it to anyone visiting Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ashokdutta55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you for sharing your experiences about your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota.

We are delighted to note that you enjoyed all our services and facilities and had a delightful stay with us. We thank you for your compliments.

Our team of associates, Chefs and Managers are our greatest assets and they take great pride in providing the highest level of service at all times.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We made two mistakes while traveling in Sri Lanka: this first one was to not book everything in advance, the second one was to end up at Taj Vivanta in Bentota (due to a striking lack of alternatives).

First of all, in a country where a five hour train ride is less than 10 USD and a tuk-tuk ride less than one, Taj Vivanta had the cheek to ask for a 300-USD-walk-in-rate late in the afternoon. We managed to negotiate it down to 250 - but still we didn't feel that we got even close to getting our money's worth.

The most striking thing about this wannebe five star is its complete lack of style; style that could justify to ask for this extra dollar. Want some examples?

Take e. g. the receptionist who showed us to our room. For what felt like a five minute walk she was talking on her cell phone all the time, and even when we arrived to the room (which we wanted to see before checking in), she continued talking to some stranger on the phone instead of the customer standing in front of her and gave us this "What now?" look. It shows how desperate we were that we took the room nevertheless.

Or take the breakfast buffet. During our trip through Sri Lanka we had gotten used to inattentive waiters and Taj Vivanta was not exception. When eventually you found someone to serve you they were pouring tea out of those glass glass coffee pots you would expect in an American diner but not to be served tea - in a five star hotel in a country that prides itself of growing some of the best teas in the world.

One more? The pool. It's generally nice, offers enough sun chairs and staff are comparably attentive. However, whilst the rule obedient guest is reminded to wear "head gear" while using the pool, the generously tipping customer is served mojitos and other drinks while they are IN the pool. We even saw waiters handing guests ash trays so that the could continue combining smoking and swimming. How nice!

Another disappointment was the room. The first one we were shown had an extremely smelly air con. When we complained some "technician" showed up and suggested to spray some exotic fragance to fight the smell. Well..., we decided to pack instead and move on to another room.

As we only stayed for two days we tried to make the best out of it. However, as these two nights were wrapping up our visit to Sri Lanka we seriously wondered what all the hype about Sri Lanka is about. In three weeks on the island we hardly experienced something that we hadn't seen elsewhere in Asia, but nicer, better presented, more friendly served -- and cheaper! (Two execptions: the hill country/tea plantations & the south coast).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeenThereAlready_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The property is very well located along with the Bentota beach. Offers good and spacious rooms, also the food is very good with lot of cuisine options, they have an Indian Chief also so you have an option of having good Indian Food.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarshSrivastava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for taking the trouble of sharing your feedback about your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota.

We are happy to note that you have enjoyed the hotel and its services. Our Indian Chefs were delighted and encouraged by your compliments and thank you for the same. The hotel has 4 dining options which includes a Chinese Restaurant a and a Sea food Al Fresco diner. Our guests have ample choices to experience local as well as international cuisines. This is appreciated by most of our resident guests.

We thank you once again for your compliments and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

i guess was a bit disappointed when we first arrived for out 4 day stay lazing on the beach. this was due to the fact that all of our previous 5 hotels were characterful colonial classics. the Taj is large, international, glossy, professional but i guess it could be anywhere. Having said that the rooms were great, the pool is huge, the food is great, the beach is right outside the back fence and it is a stunning beach.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clive w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for sharing your impressions and experiences about Vivanta by Taj Bentota during your recent stay with us.

This is a uniquely located hotel which has a charm of its own, attracting many repeat guests since the 15 years that is has been in existence. We are delighted to note that you have liked the rooms, the food and the pool. - three important ingredients for a successful holiday.

Our beaches are the most envied ones in this part of Sri Lanka and we are glad you have enjoyed the experience.

We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I stayed in this hotel for a couple of days this week (Mar 2014). The drive to the hotel takes anywhere between 2 and 3 hours from Colombo International Airport depending on the time of the day. The rooms were spacious, with individual balconies. Breakfast was good! There is a separate access to the beach which is right behind the hotel.

The only drawback is that there is a railway track right besides the hotel as the hotel is just opposite to the Bentota Railway Station. The trains, whenever they pass the hotel, makes a hoot and it can be disturbing for some rooms.

Otherwise, a great hotel!

Room Tip: ask for rooms that are not very close to the railway track.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsathya70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for sharing your experiences about the hotel during your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota.

We are happy to note that you liked the hotel and its services and had a memorable stay with us.

We have noted your comments regarding the disturbances from the passing trains. We are fortunate that there are very few trains on this route. All the hoteliers of this region are taking up the matter with the Tourism and Railway Authorities to ensure that the trains do not hoot when passing through this region. We are hopeful of a resolution.soon.

Thank you once again for your compliments and recommendations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed here for the first 2 nights of our srilankan holiday...and we're so glad we did!! Because our flight landed into colombo quite early in the morning, we had pre-requested the hotel for an early check-in ...this took them some time but they did manage to get us to our rooms by 10am. Food throughout the hotel is delicious, they do a great job with local cuisines and international favorites. Our room was a tad smaller than expected. But the beach is what you'll cherish the most...clean, soft sand and inviting playful waves... and an equally gorgeous pool(which btw, overlooks the beach!!!). AN EASY PICK..)))

Room Tip: ocean view it is!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajvee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you choosing Vivanta by Taj Bentota for your holiday in Sri Lanka and thank you also for taking the trouble of sharing your experiences.

We are delighted to note that you had a memorable stay and you were happy with the hotel and its services. The location of the hotel is unique and over the years, it has attracted many guests to this resort. We are glad you liked our swimming pool which overlooks the beautiful ocean.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
1 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.5 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 26 in Bentota
921 reviews
7.6 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,627 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Bentota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Bentota

Address: National Holiday Resort, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bentota
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#3 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range: £124 - £369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Bentota 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sri Lanka is referred to as a ‘small miracle,’ for despite the island’s relatively small size, its natural wonders and beauty are in abundance. Vivanta by Taj – Bentota is located on the south west coast of Sri Lanka. The hotel lies over a lush hill that overlooks the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Travelbag, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Bentota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Bentota Hotel Bentota
Taj Exotica Hotel Bentota
Bentota Taj Exotica Hotel
Taj Exotica Sri Lanka
Taj Exotica Srilanka
Taj Exotica Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing