We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star? No where close to a 5 Star.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I stayed 4 nights in this property. From the first impression I got upset. Lack of service from the bell desk itself. Rude staff, No smiles and greetings at all, its like we are staying free for them. Lack of attention in the dinning area, need to beg for a fill up. The only thing that I like is the turn-down service. Horrible service for a good property like this.

Room Tip: @nd floor rooms are good, less noisy, see view.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rajasekara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,336)
There are newer reviews for Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,328 - 1,334 of 2,336 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

We returned in February from 2 weeks in Sri Lanka for our belated honeymoon. My Grandfather was born in Colombo in 1894 however no one from the family had been to this beautiful Island. I am not going to have enough words to describe what a wonderful time we had, we did tell Trailfinders it was our 'honeymoon' although slightly embarrassed as we are an older couple and second time around, it was worth it. We were treated like royalty everywhere we went, we stayed in 5 hotels and each and every one was lovely and got better and better culminating in Vivanta for our last 4 nights....pure luxury! We had towel art on our bed everyday, fresh fruit, fresh flowers, cake and candles all left in our room each and every time we went out. The room was fresh, clean and beautiful overlooking the garden on the 4th floor. The bed was huge and very comfortable we slept exceptionally well. The grounds are gorgeous, the hotel is beautifully decorated, reception is outstanding. The Palm Restaurant was delicious and staff very kind and attentive. We only ate once in the Chinese restaurant it was pleasant but too quiet. The swimming pool was the nicest I have experienced. I even joined in the water aerobics and got a proper work out! The only slight suggestion is more sun loungers around the pool, the pool attendants are very helpful but there is not enough at peak times, my husband wanted to go in the shade and they suggested under a tree but this was not acceptable to a very rude german woman who protested very loudly that we were too close and embarrassed herself. It was quiet and pleasant round the pool more adults few children which suited us very well. The beach was nice but beggars on the beach sit in the trees watching you then come out with a bag of goods. I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel for a honeymoon, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you for sharing your experiences about your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota.

We are honored and privileged that you chose Vivanta by Taj Bentota for your celebrations and we are delighted to note that you had a memorable experience.

This hotel is stunningly located and we have received excellent reviews after the hotel renovations were completed. We are happy to note that you have enjoyed the hotel and its services.

Thank you for your observations regarding the sun loungers by the poolside and a need for more privacy for the couples. We are looking into the possibilities of resolving the same. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.

We thank you once again for your generous compliments and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I stayed at the Vivanta with a group of friends.
We had a wonderful room (109), although, not all my friends had that chance.

The bed was so comfy and the room very well decorated.

Funny that at night: we couldnt watch all the TV channels!

The swimming pool was nice. The breakfast was really good. We also had lunch and dinner at the hotel and we had a great time.

The staff is very nice.

Room Tip: Room 109 was really great: nice furniture and well decorated! At the opposit, room 414 was not that...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you for taking the trouble of sharing your impressions about Vivanta by Taj Bentota during your recent stay with us.

We are happy to note that you and your friends had an enjoyable stay with us and that you liked our services and facilities.

The hotel has four different categories of rooms and occasionally during high season some of the guests do get upgraded because of non-availability of a certain category. Our apologies for the inconvenience that you faced regarding TV transmission on one of the nights.

Thank you once again for choosing Vivanta by Taj Bentota and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

It was an enjoyable stay. The location is accessible to nearby places. Although the hotel is located on a beautiful beach, but cannot swim in the sea because of the high waves, however it has a beautiful sandy beach.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iqbal965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you for taking the trouble of sending your feedback about your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota!

We are happy to note that you had a memorable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We just came back from a 6 day stay in Taj, Bentota having a 2 1/2 year old. It is always the most challenging part of the trip to have kids; so we decided to stay in one central location and travel to sightsee.

TAJ hotel location is excellent: we were upgraded to sea view room near the pool and the Palm restaurant. Rooms were spacy and very clean. Showers and soap/lotion amenities are amazing. Tea/coffee makers were in the room giving us a great time for the afternoon tea.

The chef of the Palm delivers excellent food quality (European, Sri Lanka and Indian corners). The only negative is lack of the kids corner for food. The chef was very flexible as he prepared for her pizza every day for dinner...but we had to order for lunch Ala Carte nuggets and fries.

During our stay in the hotel, there was a slight entertainment (local dancers and fire man show). My daughter was ecstatic about the dancers - princesses...but the show were at most 30 minutes each and not every day.

This is a large hotel and my expectation include an entertainment team engaging all guests in daily and nightly activities. There is nothing to do in Bentota...so similar to all Mexico hotels, it would be good to have a Vegas Casino night (jut for fun) or dancing nights or something to engage everyone...beach volleyball and swimming exercise class... There was a sign for it; but nobody gathered people.

Overall, stay was relaxing; Pool, room and service were great....and the nature is amazing! They have a small dragon living on the property :)

Room Tip: Floor 4 king size with sea view are excellent. Close to restaurant and swimming pool.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariaohiou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you for sharing your experiences about your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota!
We are delighted to note that you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the kids corner for buffets and activities for the children. We have noted your observations and assure you that my team is looking at various options to improve the same. We thank you for bringing it to our attention. We value the suggestions from our guests as they constantly help us to improve our services and facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Had organised a business conference for three days in March 2014. Folks had great time!!! Nicely maintained rooms , good restaurant at pool side, well kept pool and beach.

good conference facilities too !!!

Indian Chef Thakur deserves kudos for taking care of individual guests too !!.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank businesstraveless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you for sharing your experiences regarding your recent stay with us.

We are happy to note that you enjoyed the conference facilities of the hotel and we are glad you could take some time out to enjoy the hotel and its services.

Chef Thakur is encouraged and delighted by your compliments. Our Chefs take great pride in provide the best possible cuisines to all out guests who stay from all over the world. The four restaurants and bar provide excellent dining options under one roof.

We look forwards to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

What more could you ask for! The location is ideal for a relaxing holiday. It is a 3 hour drive from Colombo, but once we got there, I really was in no hurry to get back to Colombo. We were there for business meeting, and I wish we had more time to spend at the beach, but even a few minutes at the beach was enough to realize that this is heaven! The hotel is fantastic too - the breakfast spread is great, the staff is extremely helpful, the rooms are clean and comfortable, And the hotel is large enough that it takes a few days to remember routes around, so no worries about getting bored seeing the same things again and again. There's plenty to see around the hotel too, several shops to get your daily needs and souvenirs.

Room Tip: The hotel seems to have expanded recently - some of the rooms have old air conditioning and furnishi...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pacholee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you for taking the trouble of sharing your experiences about your recent stay at the hotel.

Despite your business commitments we are happy to note that you could enjoy the services and facilities of the hotel. We thank you for your compliments.

We hope you can take some time off from your busy schedule and spend some relaxing time us at our resort. We will ensure that you will have a memorable stay again.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
1.0 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.5 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 24 in Bentota
865 reviews
7.6 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,518 reviews
24.2 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Bentota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Bentota

Address: National Holiday Resort, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bentota
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#3 Spa Hotel in Bentota
Price Range: £91 - £473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Bentota 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sri Lanka is referred to as a ‘small miracle,’ for despite the island’s relatively small size, its natural wonders and beauty are in abundance. Vivanta by Taj – Bentota is located on the south west coast of Sri Lanka. The hotel lies over a lush hill that overlooks the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Destinology, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Bentota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Bentota Hotel Bentota
Taj Exotica Hotel Bentota
Bentota Taj Exotica Hotel
Taj Exotica Sri Lanka
Taj Exotica Srilanka
Taj Exotica Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing