We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Nearby Hotels
US$140
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Saman Villas(Bentota)
US$539
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$481
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$57
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$39
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Susanthas(Bentota)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,579)
Filter reviews
2,579 results
Traveller rating
1,448
739
248
90
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,448
739
248
90
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspalms restaurantchinese restaurantjiva spatease barsea view restaurantsri lankasea facingseafoodmain restaurantindian oceanexecutive chefbeautiful locationelephant orphanagecolombo airportmemorable stayprivate beachspecial mention
Filter
Updating list...
1,532 - 1,537 of 2,579 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

What an amazing experience.warm welcome.lovely room with the best views.lots of activities to choose from.great cooking class. Excellent service &food.lovely pool.absolutely enjoyed it all.we will definitely be back.they even photographed us & put pics in album as a moment.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCooma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for sharing your experiences about your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota!

We are delighted to note that you had a memorable stay with us. Our pool is the nucleus of this hotel and is very popular with all our guests. Our associates take great pride in striving to provide the highest standards of service at all times.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

To put it in context I live in Dubai where we get spoilt by the likes of Jumeirah Hotels Group. That said this was a solid three star hotel, not the self acclaimed 5 star. While recently renovated the rooms were small for the price, and the way it was managed was disappointing. For example, we arrived having booked a suite to find they had switched our room and given us some pokey corner room. After much complaining to the manager, he eventually (and reluctantly) added the adjoining room for the same price. The manager later said the website photos were out of date and misleading…well yes! There was also supposed to be a complimentary cocktail hour, which again was an 'error' on the outdated website - that stopped two months ago! The poolside staff were undermanned and overloaded with the amount of people wanting beers, food, or even dare i say it a towel or ice bucket for water (there aren't any). There were a few activities for the kids which were nice, but the pool was generally not well maintained during the day. No lifeguards, and in fact a lot of staff doing not much - not their fault, but management not on the ball.

We had a nice time despite, not because of the hotel. The staff were perfectly friendly, but just badly managed. Bottom line…don't expect much, and get ready to have to negotiate everything from the room to the $20 a day WIFI. This is not TAJ quality.

Room Tip: Don't expect large rooms, and if you're traveling with two kids make sure you get some photos of the types of rooms you're expecting as their Premier Deluxe are a joke for 2 + 2 small kids.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We have recently returned from 7 nights at the Taj.
The food was excellent, we eat most nights in the Palms which served buffet style food, there was a wide and different choice each night.
The pool and the beach were beautiful and my son played in them all day.
My only complaint is the chargeable WiFi I find it difficult to understand how a hotel of this standard could possibly still charge, none of the other hotels in Sri Lanka which we stayed in did and I struggle to remember the last hotel I stayed in anywhere did!
Jon and Sian R

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon6173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thanking you for sharing your feedback during your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota.

We are delighted to note that you and your family had a memorable stay with us. The hotel is stunningly located and it has one of the best beaches in the region.

We have noted your observations regarding the WIFI and assure you that this issue is being resolved soon.

We thank you once gain for choosing Vivanta by Taj Bentota and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We went along with another family and stayed for 2 nights. The stay was great. Food was very nice and the Chef INFACT made many dishes of our liking.
The location is simply fantastic. The staff are very, very co-operative.
All in all it was the best part of our stay in Srilanka.

Any one who has stayed at Taj Bentota, I guess would see no exaggeration in what I have stated.

I don't know If I will go again to SRILANKA, but if I go, would like to stay at this place.

Prahlad

Room Tip: Any room closer to the beach.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Prahlad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you for taking the trouble of sharing your experiences about your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota.

We are delighted to note that you and your friends had a memorable stay with us. Our Chefs that you for your compliments. They are always ready to ensure that each and every guest has a great meal experience. This hotel is one of the few hotels in the region which offers four dining options for our guests.

We thank you once again for choosing Vivanta by Taj Bentota and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

As part of a 2 week March Sri Lankan holiday, we spent the second week at the Vivanta. Having previously stayed at this well appointed & located hotel soon after the Tsunami, my partner was keen to return as part of a special birthday celebration. We were definitely not disappointed. Our sea facing room was excellent: spacious, modern and very well furnished with a particularly well appointed bathroom. Without exception, all the management and staff we met were efficient, friendly and keen to offer the very highest service levels possible. Even wonderful birthday surprises - flower bouquet, cake, special bed decorations!. A la carte restaurant dining was superb for choice, quality & service. We really enjoyed our return stay and would most highly recommend the Vivanta to anyone wanting 5* quality & service in a great Sri Lankan beach location.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you for taking the trouble of sharing your experiences about your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota.

We are delighted to note that you had a memorable stay with us. We are glad you have liked the renovated hotel especially the renovated rooms. We are getting excellent reviews from most of our guests who have stayed in these rooms.

Our Associates, Chefs and Managers are our greatest asset and they take great pride in striving to provide the highest level of service at all times. They are encouraged by your observations and thank you for your compliments.

We thank you once again for choosing Vivanta by Taj Bentota and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews