We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our 4th visit to the Vivanta by Taj” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vivanta by Taj - Bentota

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Markinch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Our 4th visit to the Vivanta by Taj”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here for our 4th time from 15th May to 29th May.
We had a wonderful time at the hotel.
Our room was excellent with great views of the sea.
All of the staff at the hotel were pleasant and full of smiles.
The food was first class and the level of service and attention was 1st class.
I know that in a previous review I commented on the hotel start rating, but since refurbishment it deserves the 5 star rating.
Many thanks from Thea and I for the kindness extended to us during our holiday.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff in giving us the best holiday in memory.
I would like to extend our sincere thanks to the GM Mr Manoj Mathew, to the EXEC Chef Mr Satya Narayan and to all the other staff who were so kind.

They say that Thailand is the land of smiles... we actually think that Sri Lanka wins on the smile contest hands down!

We will certainly be back next year! :)

Kind regards

John & Thea Ballantyne

Room Tip: Go for the Delux rooms and if possible the 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank qtek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Mr & Mrs Ballantyne,

Thank you for coming back to Vivanta by Taj Bentota and for sharing your experiences about you recent stay with us. It is because of patrons like you that the Taj Group of hotels is encouraged to grow its international presence and showcase the traditional Taj hospitality.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the newly renovated hotel and its services. We have been receiving excellent reviews post renovations and we look forward to providing the highest level of service at all time. My team joins me in thanking you for your compliments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

Manoj Mathew V M
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,195
    616
    199
    78
    43
See reviews for
659
926
48
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is a wonderful hotel - it really has to be the best hotel in Sri Lanka. We have just returned from a two week stay having visited this hotel every year since 2000 and celebrated birthdays and wedding anniversaries many times. Mr Manoj Mathew, General Manager, is always available to ensure every single guest is made to feel very special. The hotel has recently been refurbished and is looking absolutely splendid - it is situated on a beautiful quiet beach which stretches miles and is just lovely to walk along.

The Executive Chef, Katya Narayan, is outstanding and is always available to give advice. There are four excellent restaurants - we especially like the Oriental Restaurant - the food is delicious and Manchanayake and Nuwan are to be congratulated on their service. The rooms are beautiful and the suites are luxurious especially the Presidential Suite. The Housekeeping is first class supervised by Valshali Chatterjee - the Room Boys do all they can to make your stay comfortable especially Sachith who looked after us this year - he is very creative with the beautiful swans made out of towels left on our bed.

The pool and grounds are delightful and all the staff make sure you are comfortably settled in loungers each morning. There are various activities provided by the Sports Staff - Chamara keeps everyone happy. A visit to the beautiful Spa is a must ably managed by Nilesh Kantak.
Congratulations to the General Manager and all his Staff for their excellent service.

Room Tip: The 6th Floor is a good choice for lovely views of the sea but the lower floors are also very good a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WeybridgeDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your experiences about your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota. We are always delighted to welcome you to our hotel.

We are happy to note that you had a memorable stay with us. Thank you for complimenting our newly renovated rooms and the landscaped premises. We are getting excellent reviews about the hotel especially from patrons like you who have stayed here before.

Our team of Associates, Managers and Chefs are our greatest assets. They always take pride in striving to provide the highest level of service at all times. Thank you for your compliments - Chef Satyanarayan ( Sunny) , Ms Vaishali, Chamara and all the staff are encouraged by your compliments and remember you both with fond memories.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
234 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We recently spent 7 nights/8 days at the resort and could not have been more at ease or relaxed. What made the experience so perfect was the staff at the resort. Every day, every moment, every interaction we shared genuine smiles with all staff, from the room cleaners, to the servers, to the front desk and to the maintenance crew. WOW - what a huge departure from so many other resorts that we've stayed at around the world. This was truly the very first time that never once did we encounter an unhappy staff person. And, if they're happy, you're certainly going to be happy. This was a slightly early celebration of our 9th wedding anniversary and they made it special for us with a really nice meal and acknowledgement.

Bentota is not an easy reach from the airport, but that's OK - because once you arrive, they make it all worth while. We opted for a Deluxe Sea View room with half-board. It was a perfect choice for us. The room was comfortable and had a ceiling fan!!!! This may not seem like a big deal, but what a great addition as it does a perfect job cooling the room. There is nothing to be improved in the room - the view was gorgeous, the daily towel sculptures were fun and the bed was comfy.

The location, as others have mentioned, is very close to town and a short tuk-tuk ride away. The beach is really very nice and while we didn't spend too much time there, the pool is fantastic and was our temporary home throughout the week.

The food in the The Palms was varied, delicious and never disappointed. Sunny, the head chef, was very kind and made us our favorite meal for our farewell lunch. We did manage to eat in the Chinese restaurant twice and it was perfect!

We forced ourselves to leave the resort a few times and made a day trip to Galle with several stops along the way. And, we did venture in to town for lunch on two occasions, to the same resturant - Pier 88 - yum! And great seafood.

Now, for pricing - yes, the seafood is expensive at the hotel compared to prices in town, so if you don't want the convenience of eating in the hotel, then grab a tuk-tuk to town. We found everything else reasonably priced (Lion beer was a bargain!).

A few things to consider:

Wifi - It simply feels like a price gouge when a 5-star resort charges for this service in this day and age. Such a shame really, as I imagine the value the resort could receive from guests freely sharing and checking in on social media app would match the value they receive in wifi fees. Granted, it did force us to digitally-detox, but it just "feels" so cheap.

Spa - the treatment was perfect and our practioners were great. What was not so great was the outside jacuzzi area. It was a bit of a mess, smelled like tar due to the proximity to the rail tracks and only two of the jets functioned in the jacuzzi. With such a diverse option for flora, there's no reason that jacuzzi area could not be more lush and well-landscaped.

Pool Area Service - we truly adored every server and all staff was kind and attentive. The only area for concern was the pool area. We found ourselves waving to gain the attention of servers and would wait several minutes to find someone to take an order. But, this has been mentioned by other posters.

To end on the positive (because that's what the resort deserves) we received the most kind departure from the front desk staff, Sunny and a few others who all walked us to the car to wave goodbye. I've stayed in hotels around the world and never once has this ever happened before. Outstanding customer service is what sets this place a part from the others and the positive, happy vibes of the staff translate in to a happy, relaxing, positive time for guests!

We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Room 621 was perfect - gorgeous sunset view. Any sea view room will do!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota and for sharing your experiences about your recent stay at our hotel.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed our services and facilities. As you rightly pointed out, our team of Associates, Managers and Chefs are our greatest assets and they take great pride in striving to provide the highest level of service at all times. We are privileged that you could start your Anniversary celebrations at our hotel.

We have noted your concern regarding the WIFI and we hope to resolve this problem soon. The Spa area near the Jacuzzi has been acted upon. I have also spoken to the concerned Departmental Head to look into the services offered at the poolside. We thank you for bringing it to my attention. You have my assurance that we are always very receptive to our guests concerns and suggestions and we strive to resolve it as soon as possible.

Thank you once again for taking the trouble of writing to us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Amazing place. We went for lunch here at the coffee shop and had the buffet. The staff were amazing, executive Chef Sunny blew us away with the spread and his staff. So friendly and interactive. We did not stay here, unfortunately we booked the AVANI which was a huge mistake. Just the lunch and service we got at the Taj wil have us visit them for sure, but this time for a stay .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Advisor16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent meal experience at our All Day Dining - The Palms.

We are happy to note that you enjoyed the cuisine and the services. Our Executive Chef Sunny and his team are encouraged and delighted by your compliments and thank you for the same. This hotel is unique in many ways as it is one of the few hotels in the region which has four restaurants and a bar. This is greatly appreciated by our guests as they have many dining options under one roof.

Thank you once again for your generous compliments. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The best seaside 5star experience we have had. Travelled in a group of 4 families, 8 adults and 7 kids in all. Everyone of us had a ball.The reception was fabulous,rooms pleasant, baths comfortable,warm pool enjoyable and food was great.They surprised us with a big complimentary birthday cake for one of our kids. The beach near the hotel was surprisingly not crowded and the morning strolls were refreshing. Even the sendoff we received was very very warm.Definitely one place I will visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Madhusudana1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for taking your time and sharing your experiences during your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota.

We are delighted to note that you, your family and friends had a great time at the resort. We are delighted to note that you were happy with our hotel and its services.

We thank you for choosing Vivanta by Taj Bentota and we look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

This was a visits for dinner on a recommendation to eat in the Chinese restaurant, we visited and first had cocktails in the bar, the lovely decor Nd great band playing added to the nice evening. The staff were helpful and courteous showing us the way to the location on the lower floor.
The layout and decor was lovely the tables suitably spaced to allow good conversation not being overheard and the food was superb the best I have tasted. This was a really great experience one to be savoured the room was cool well situated and the added simple touches of the scroll menu and chopsticks added to the uniqueness. The food was delicious and well priced we choose the house wine as due to imports alcohol can be expensive but this was also really good, the service was attentive but not intrusive and the chef came to meet us, he is from china and I have to say this is well worth a try

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Carol210660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your experiences regarding your recent visit to our Chinese Restaurant at Vivanta by Taj Bentota.

Our Chefs and the entire team of the Oriental Pavilion, our Chinese restaurant are delighted to note that your have enjoyed your meal experiences. This hotel is unique in many ways as this is one of the few hotels in this region which has five food & beverage outlets including the Tease Bar which you have already experienced. This provides a good selections of cuisines and experiences under one roof.

We would be delighted to show you around our hotel when you visit Bentota again. I am sure it will encourage you to stay with us like our other patrons from all over the world.

Thank you once again for your compliments and for choosing to dine at our Chinese restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel and if you have experienced Taj Hospitality earlier then you feel instantly at home! The rates are steep no doubt but you can be assured of quality. Infact we were pleasantly surprised when they upgraded us to a suite. The property has a freshness to it unlike some of the Taj Groups other hotels especially in India. All in all if you are travelling with family this hotel is worth the investment!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank parochat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your experiences about your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota.

We are delighted to note that you had a memorable stay with us. We are also pleased to note that you have liked the newly renovated rooms and public areas. We have been getting excellent reviews about our hotel after the renovations and we would like to thank you for your compliments.

Taj Group has some exciting new resorts and hotels and I am sure you will enjoy the Taj hospitality in all our hotels worldwide. Please do visit our website for more information.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
2.6 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.5 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#2 of 10 in Wadduwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cocoon Resort & Villas
Cocoon Resort & Villas
#3 of 9 in Induruwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Bentota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Bentota

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Address: National Holiday Resort, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bentota
#2 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Bentota 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sri Lanka is referred to as a ‘small miracle,’ for despite the island’s relatively small size, its natural wonders and beauty are in abundance. Vivanta by Taj – Bentota is located on the south west coast of Sri Lanka. The hotel lies over a lush hill that overlooks the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Holiday Gems, Odigeo, Southall Travel and Travelbag so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Bentota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Bentota Hotel Bentota
Taj Exotica Hotel Bentota
Bentota Taj Exotica Hotel
Taj Exotica Sri Lanka
Taj Exotica Srilanka
Taj Exotica Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing