We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

i always wanted to go to this place it did not disappoint me at all. nice location just by the beach comfortable rooms only disappointing thing was when i heard we have to pay to use internet even though i always use my mobile to surf net i think it might be a bit of a put off to overseas stayers who want to use skype and stuff to talk home when every little hotel has free internet. breakfast was awesome big variety of food.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 0saliya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota and sharing your feedback about your hotel experiences.

We are delighted to note that you had a memorable stay with us and you were happy with the hotel and its services.

We hope to resolve the issue regarding WIFI shortly.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,342)
There are newer reviews for Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,277 - 1,283 of 2,342 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

Taj oh taj wherever they built hotel they perfectly know how to provide its guest a perfect luxurious amenities. Taj is no exception surrounded by lush green rain forest with one side sea and caring staff really a awesome experience, for a perfect calm and luxurious holiday it is best and best

Room Tip: Most of the rooms i think are sea facing try to stay in sea facing room but after seeing the red fla...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tripathi_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you sending us your feedback about your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota.

We are delighted to note that you had a memorable stay with us. My Horticulture and Landscaping team are encouraged by your comments about the hotel premises and thank you for the same.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel looks very nice. The room was big and functional, with quite little balcony. Service very good, and fast. Swimming pool well maintenance, nice choice of food. The hotel is worth recommendation. For the family with kids, are perfect- as a Taj they are very flexible and willing to prepare all the dishes for the baby due your instructions.
The only minus was, that outside hotel there is not much to do, do if you are planning to spend couple of days within the hotel facility only- Bentota is perfect for this purpouse.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for writing to us and sharing your experiences about your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota

We are delighted to note that you and your family had a memorable stay with us. Thank you for complimenting the hotel and its services.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed here for a week with the whole family and even though i had the courtesy to write in advance they couldnt give us adjacent rooms.

decent rooms and the property is more 4 star than actually 5 star (the rebranding to Vivanta should have been a give away) however the staff more than make up for it.

Chef Sunny (Satyanarayan actually) was very courteous and seemed to be in every corner of the hotel which i guess is what an exec chef should do.

Food in the main coffee shop and the fine dining was very good. At the Shack which serves only freshly caught seafood it was absolutely divine while at the chinese restaurant it was downright awful - more sino-ludhiyana than actual Cantonese

the beach though is not crowded and absolutely lovely....simply unspoilt and worth the cost of rooms anyway.

Another thing that makes this unique is the towel art that the housekeepers make each day without fail..... the pig and the hanging monkey were the best


And finally when, oh lord WHEN will the management read the customer reviews and provide free wifi..... when you charge upwards of 200$ a room it cant be asking for much.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vishal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your views about your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota.

First of all my sincere apologies for not being able to provide inter-connecting rooms fo your choice. During high occupancies it is sometimes difficult to accommodate requests however happy to note that you were given adjacent rooms.

We are glad to note that you enjoyed The Palms restaurant and the Shack - our seafood restaurant. We are sorry that you did not enjoy our Chinese Restaurant. We have a Chinese Chef who specializes in Schewan cuisine. I have informed the Chef about your observations.

Chef Satyanarayan is an asset to our organization and he takes great pride in ensuring that all the guests have a memorable stay with us. He is encouraged and delighted by your compliments and thanks you for the same.

We hope to resolve the WIFI issue soon and we thank you for your patience and understanding.

We thank you once again for choosing Vivanta by Taj Bentota and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This hotel was excellent, and I must congratulate the manager Manoj Mathew.From the moment we stepped inside this modern ,friendly,and clean hotel we were treated extremely well and nothing to was too much trouble for the Manager and his lovely Staff. We loved the location, our room 603, the view, the restaurants, the bar,the spa, the pool, the room service and just about everything else. I have hesitation in recommending this hotel.It was our anniversary and they made the day very special for us. Special mentions must go to Vaishali Chatterjee the housekeeper and Sisil in the palm restaurant. We had a lovely stay thank you.

Room Tip: Our room 603 was great.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andersjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for choosing Vivanta by Taj Bentota and also for sharing your experiences about your recent stay with us. We were glad that we could be part of your Anniversary celebrations.

We are delighted to note that you had a memorable stay with us and enjoyed the services and facilities at the hotel. Ms Vaishali Chatterjee adn Sisil were encouraged and delighted by your compliments and we thank you for the same.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Describing Beauty that too with Class is as difficult as walking on Water . Vevanta by taj is such a God's meeting point, where u get world class hospitality. yummy Indain foods with range of selctions, lightning fast room service. Good clean hotel, with individual balcony all faciing Sea. world class swiming pool. and a well trained, staff , they never let ur mind diveret , in the night the song of sea water keeps ur miind releax. if there is any award it should be given to the Taj Group for these Property. My text dictionry is virtually strugling how to pen down my feelings, if u want to enjoy , releax, once in life time should visit Bentota and Stay at Taj, i would be definatly planning for next year again for a longer stay.

Room Tip: try to stay at second floor. so u are more nerar to beach and swiming pool .
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suyash2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your experiences about your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota.

We are delighted to note that you had a memorable stay with us. Thank you also for your generous compliments. My team of Associates, Managers & Chefs take great pride in striving to provide the highest level of service at all times.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Vivanta by Taj (used to be called Taj hotel & resort few years ago) is located in very good location at Bentota sealine.

This resort offers all you need and wish to have whenever you decide to spend a vacation on one of the best beaches in the world, it offers a typical Indian theme that makes you feel as if you like in Taj Mahal in India and it gives you the real meaning of its brand name.

hotel facilities are very good and you can find whatever you are looking for, the staff are well experienced and they are very helpful and kind.

one of the remarkable features is the Spa, that is located outside the hotel near the beach (still in side the hotel land). that offers you a unique Indian therapy and message that is managed by well experienced certified physiotherapist that sets with you and explain every single feature and service provided there with a great nice smile.

Room Tip: ask for sea view rooms/suites
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AK-Abouasleba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your views through the TripAdvisor about your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota.

We are delighted to note that you had a memorable stay with us and enjoyed our hotel and its services.

Our internationally acclaimed JIVA SPA is enjoyed by most of our guests and we thank you for your compliments.

Thank you once again. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
1.0 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.5 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 25 in Bentota
865 reviews
7.6 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,518 reviews
24.2 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Bentota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Bentota

Address: National Holiday Resort, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bentota
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#3 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
Price Range: £90 - £482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Bentota 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sri Lanka is referred to as a ‘small miracle,’ for despite the island’s relatively small size, its natural wonders and beauty are in abundance. Vivanta by Taj – Bentota is located on the south west coast of Sri Lanka. The hotel lies over a lush hill that overlooks the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, Southall Travel, Destinology, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Bentota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Bentota Hotel Bentota
Taj Exotica Hotel Bentota
Bentota Taj Exotica Hotel
Taj Exotica Sri Lanka
Taj Exotica Srilanka
Taj Exotica Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing