We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014

One of the best properties I have seen for relaxing holidays. Excellent location right on beach having sea facing rooms, great facilities and excellent service. Location of the swimming pool ... Awesome !! Would surely come back again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ykgrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for taking the trouble of sharing your feedback about your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota.

We are delighted to note that you had a memorable stay with us and were happy with the hotel and its services.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,287 - 1,293 of 2,369 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights, enjoyed every minute of it. From the warm welcome upon arrival to the sad farewell on departure, there was nothing negative about this place. Staff couldn't be more helpful, decor was good and clean. The car arranged from the hotel for airport pick up was fine and the journey was 2 hours door to door, thanks to the two new highways now open. The gardens were lush with a variety of wildlife, none of which were dangerous. Pool area was kept clean and the pool was refreshing. Service was prompt and a good selection of snacks and meals were available. Lion Beer, the local beer, was £2.50 for a 625ml bottle and a glass of wine was £6.00. Internet was good, free in the lobby and Tease Bar, which suited us fine. The first evening we were there was Cocktail Evening on the terrace, compliments of the Manager. Free flowing wine, beers and spirits - a good way of mingling with the guests. Would we stay there again? absolutely.

Room Tip: All rooms are sea view from what we saw, very clean, good size and have the normal services. They we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota.

We are delighted to note that you had a memorable stay with us. As you rightly noticed, our team of associates, managers and chefs are our greatest assets and they take great pride in striving to provide the highest standards of service at all times. The team is encouraged by your compliments and thank you for the same.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Bentota is a small and quiet town located at a couple of hours drive from colombo. This property is taj is just off the Indian Ocean shore and is beautiful n relaxing. The amenities are great with a splendid pool. The food including the bfast buffet is delicious and lavish. The hotel coordinates cabs for day tours in and around bentota. Overall, if you are looking for a relaxing getaway for 3-4 days, this is a highly recommended option!!

Room Tip: Choose an ocean facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shruti_lsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota and for sharing your feedback about the hotel and its services.

We are delighted to note that you had a memorable stay with us and were happy with the hotel services. As you rightly pointed out, the unique location, newly renovated rooms and restaurants offering various cuisines and customized service makes it a great place to relax and rejuvenate.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

An amazing property facing the sea. All rooms have sea facing with balconies. The use of flowers , petals and towel decoration add to the uniqueness of this property. After being in Srilanka for a week and not getting a daily dose of roti/paratha we were delighted to see a live roti counter for the dinner buffet. A good blend of Indian, continental, srilankan. Service is prompt and helpful. The pool is large and well maintained. We met Mrs Vaishali Chatterjee and she was indeed a true brand ambassador of the Taj hospitality. It is nice to meet people who enjoy their job and make customer service their motto. From then on our stay was even more enjoyable. Hot aloo and paneer paratha for breakfast, was the highlight of our trip and this small gesture will remain in our memories always. Chef was willing to accommodate everyones small request for anything that guests wanted to eat.
The property is large, a stroll from one end of it to the other end on the beach during the day is beautiful. There is security on both gates to ensure your safety, they check your room no while leaving which kind of makes you feel safe as the beach is not used for swimming at all. You can sit near the reception area, relax have tea, chat away. Sit by the pool under the umbrellas, take in the sunset or sip some beer. A perfect holiday resort. On the flipside for the rates they charge they can definitely include wifi free as most other hotels in Srilanka do so.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bbhesania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for taking the trouble of sending us your feedback about your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota.

We are delighted to note that you had a memorable stay with us and were happy with the hotel and its services. We are conscious of the fact that food plays an important role during a holiday and hence our Chefs are always geared to ensure that all our guests have a great meal experience. This is one of the few hotels in the region which offers 4 restaurants and a bar within the hotel premises offering exciting dining options for our guests.

Ms Vaishali Chatterjee is truly an asset for our organization and she takes great pride in striving to provide the highest possible standards of service at all times. She is encouraged by your compliments and she and her team would like to thank you for the same.

We have noted your observations regarding WIFI and hope to resolve this in the near future.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We have been wanting to visit Srilanka for a very long time and finally managed to do that in May, 2014. While there were thoughts around making this a complete sight seeing trip, we decided to stay in Taj Bentota through out our stay in Srilanka and we are not regretting our decision a bit.

We were received by the hotel staff with a lot of enthusiasm and the whole check in process was smooth. It was very kind of the Executive Chef Mr Sathya Narayan ( Sunny) to be present at the reception till the time we completed check in formalities and left the reception for our room. Mrs Vaishali Chatterjee was also present to make us feel comfortable with the whole place.

Room :

Our room had a fantastic sea view and was reasonably large. Another advantage wih the room was that this was close to the all day dining restaurant. Room had all the amenities. Housekeeping department did a good job in keeping the place clean all the time. The towel art done by the team was beautiful and every time they did the service, they came up with something new..


Food :

Food is outstanding in this place. We tried The palms , Sea View and the Oriental Pavalian. Mr Sunny ensured that we get what we wanted. The variety and spread at all restaurants are very good.

Staff

Biggest asset of this property. All staff are extremely helpful and courteous. They are there to help you everytime. The housekeeping team and the restaurant staff are outstanding under the leadership of Ms Chatterjee and Mr Sunny.

The Resort

Overall spacious and clean place. Common areas are well maintained and well lit. The beach is clean and easily accessible from the rooms.


To summarise, we had an awesome break and we were looked after well by the Team at Taj Bentota.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank umurali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota and for taking the trouble of sharing your views about your experience at the hotel.

We are delighted to note that you had a memorable experience and were happy with the hotel and its services. Chef Sunny and his team and Ms Vaishali Chatterjee and her team are encouraged by your compliments and thank you for the same.

As you rightly mentioned, our team of associates, chefs and managers are our greatest assets and they take great pride in striving to provide the highest level of service and products at all times.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Went here for a chinese and it was excellent. The decor table settings service and the food itself all superb. When you consider that the price paid is same or nearly the same as you would pay in a smaller restaurant . I would highly reccommend you try here

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCorlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your meal experience at our Chinese Restaurant - The Oriental pavilion .

We are delighted to note that you enjoyed the food and service. This hotel is one of the few hotels in the region which has 4 Restaurants and a Bar within the hotel premises. This gives our guests amazing dining options during their stay. Our Chefs take great pride in striving to provide the highest quality of food at all times.

Thank you once again for taking the trouble of sending your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We have just returned from this hotel and have to say it is a beautiful and well maintained hotel with very good service. The only down side was the completely unnecessary money grabbing annoyances which, for what they were worth to the hotel, just seemed a pointless way of disappointing customers. Firstly there was of course the paid for internet. Do check your bill very carefully (we asked for a print out every couple of days) as one logon for 30 mins by my partner which should have been 250 rupees was charged as 24 hours at 1500 rupees (about £7 for one day). However, we didn't argue this in the end as I signed up for 30 mins and it stayed on for the rest of my holiday. I did alert the staff to this (as I didn't want to pay a lot of money!) but they told me that I had only had 30 minutes and that it was now off. Ah well, I'm not going to tell them twice.

Secondly, the hotel's price list for airport collection said 11500 rupees but our bill said over 14000. We did argue this one, for some time, and after making up all sorts of rather stupid "reasons" for the increase they eventually capitulated.

Prices for food are pretty high but a little lower than UK prices. We had the best fillet steak in the Palms that we have had for years. The buffet was very expensive (about £16 each) and very disappointing and we regretted going for it. Take a good look at what is in the buffet and then check how much food you could get for the same price or less from the menu before deciding.

Room service food was cheaper than restaurant and was very good. Portions are very large and we found that one curry with side dishes included was plenty for 2 of us.

Overall a great place. I took advice from below and asked for room on 6th floor, we had upgraded to the sea view and it was well worth it. The room was spacious, clean, modern with loads of plug sockets (universal types so ALL plugs fit). The pool was lovely although I can see why in the high season there may not be enough sun beds to go round.

Room Tip: 6th floor sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dean290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
1.0 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.5 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 25 in Bentota
881 reviews
7.6 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,535 reviews
24.2 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Bentota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Bentota

Address: National Holiday Resort, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bentota
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
#3 Spa Hotel in Bentota
Price Range: £98 - £503 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Bentota 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sri Lanka is referred to as a ‘small miracle,’ for despite the island’s relatively small size, its natural wonders and beauty are in abundance. Vivanta by Taj – Bentota is located on the south west coast of Sri Lanka. The hotel lies over a lush hill that overlooks the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, DerbySoftTaj, Prestigia, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Travelbag, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Bentota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Bentota Hotel Bentota
Taj Exotica Hotel Bentota
Bentota Taj Exotica Hotel
Taj Exotica Sri Lanka
Taj Exotica Srilanka
Taj Exotica Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing