We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good hotel but overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Bentota was the first city we stayed at upon arrival so you can imagine how happy we were after almost 3 hour drive to arrive at Vivanta. Hotel looks great, it's by the beach. However, they managed to mess up all our bookings, we requested sea view upon booking but they were given away, rooms were not ready, twin beds instead of one. We asked to change rooms but wasn't possible. Beach access was closed. Pool closes around 9, the bar closed at 12. We were Bored. There is absolutely nothing to do after midnight neither at the hotel not anything around it. Food was average at the buffet but somehow expensive. The pool experience was good, and the greenery makes up for many things. Overall, i wouldn't go back though.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mehrin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your candid views about your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota.

We are sorry to note that we could not match your expectations during your recent stay with us. From our records we notice that the booking was made for twins rooms and not double rooms. Hence you were offered twin rooms on arrival. During peak seasons it often happens that Double rooms are sold out and guests book rooms what are available on the system. We always advice our guests who are not getting rooms of their choice to put a request with their preferences while booking so that the hotel can try to see if these requests can be accommodated prior to arrival. We do apologize for the inconvenience caused.

We have noted your observations regarding food & beverage pricing and activities post midnight and our Food & Beverage Manager and his team are looking at options to resolve this issue. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.

We assure you that we value the suggestions and feedback of all our guests.and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,215
    630
    207
    80
    44
See reviews for
676
941
49
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had our wedding at Vivanta by Taj at the end of July and from the moment I stepped foot onto their property I was made to feel like a million dollars. The staff are so friendly and hospitable and go out of their way to make sure you are more than comfortable all the time.

1. I had 30 family members arriving from London all on different days and different times. Each one of them was welcomed with a garland and refreshing drink and the hotel kept good track of which guests were there for the wedding.

2. On the morning before the first guests arrived, I asked the staff to put a note into their welcome pack with an itinerary of the day's activities we had planned for them. Even though it was short notice, they got it printed and given to everyone who was checking in. For those I had missed, they delievered the note to their rooms.

3. I asked Channa and the chef to put together a menu for a pre-wedding dinner. 3 courses for a fixed price but 2 versions: one for vegetarians, the other for meat eaters. They came back to me within an hour with a delicious set menu choice.

4. We were upgraded to the executive suite on the night of our wedding which helped with the post wedding blues!

5. They organised a volleyball court and match for the two families to play.

6. My grandma is jain and the chef made special dishes for her for breakfast. Nothing was too much hassle.

I could go on and on with examples of how great this hotel is but they really did give our special day that extra bit of sparkle!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the new part of the hotel as they have recently been done up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissMDTravelChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Congratulations!! Thank you for taking the trouble sharing your experience about your recent celebrations with us. We are honored and privileged that you have chosen Vivanta by Taj Bentota for celebrating your wedding.

As you rightly noticed, my team of Managers, Chefs and associates are our greatest assets and they take great pride in striving to provide the highest level of service at all times. They are encouraged and motivated by your compliments and thank you for the same.

We now look forward to welcoming you back for your Anniversary celebrations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We chose Sri Lanka as a short getaway destination and hadn't regret anything. Bentota is a pretty quiet place in general; given the cultural differences, we decided to pick a hotel that would accommodate all possible requests so we wouldn't have to go outside it's premises at all. Vivanta turned out to be perfect for it. Big territory, nice pool, beautiful beach just outside the fence, good gym - nicest place for a 4 days lazy vacation. Staff were attentive and very professional; each request was attended within few minutes. Nice comfortable beds in the room. The view of sunset on the poolside was priceless, it's one of the must see things of the hotel. We had a nice and not very expensive dinner at the seafood restaurant Shack. However, overall food wasn't exciting when speaking about breakfasts and dinners at the main restaurant - but may be it was just us, we don't really like the curries :) another sad part was paid wifi. Other than that it was a beautiful experience; not sure if I ever come back to Sri Lanka but if I will, Vivanta will be my choice again for sure. Our friends visited the hotel after our trip and recommendations, and left with the same feelings of relax and piece of mind.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Valentina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your experiences about your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota.

We are delighted to note that you had a memorable stay with us.As you rightly noticed, this hotel is scenically located with easy beach access, newly renovated rooms, Internationally acclaimed JIVA SPA and 4 restaurants and a bar offering customised service.

We have noted your observations about the food at the Palms restaurant and the Executive Chef and the Food & Beverage Manager are looking into the matter. Thank you for bringing it to our attention. We hope to resolve the issue regarding WIFI very soon.

We would also like to thank you for recommending this hotel to your friends and we are delighted to note that they also had a memorable stay with us. It is because of patrons like you that the Taj Group of Hotels continues to spread it wings globally.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

I really enjoyed Vivanta....having just come out of a two and a half hour drive from Colombo airport we were exhausted and sleepy. Loved the very high ceilings of the lobby and general grounds, and the cute little rooms were perfect for a beach stay.
Breakfast was okay, but the best experience was lounging in and around the pool with excellent pool service in which our corona bucket was never empty! :)
Had dinner at the chinese restaurant which was also okay, nice but not mind blowing, then went to the bar for drinks and a round of pool. Overall lovely stay, nice service and a relaxing and fun time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nermeen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for choosing to experience Vivanta by Taj Bentota .

We are delighted to note that you enjoyed the hotel and its services.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Arrived at Vivanta at 1:30pm greeted by staff at car welcomed at reception by attractive lady offered seat and arrival drink was in my hand within a minute.Booking completed in less then 10mins then escorted to room by attractive lass and bags arrived shortly after.Outstanding room size of a 2 bed room unit ,view from balcony was ideal of ocean from one end and the well cared grounds from other end. 2 levels up to the swimming pool and restaurant.Meals are of top quality at buffet meal for morning and night meals

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phillipison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble of sharing your experiences about your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota.

We are delighted to note that you had a memorable stay with us and you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms and services.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aussie
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Disappointed stay having read great reviews about the food & hotel . Food was very ordinary, over cooked dry and little to choose from on menus and we tried every restaurant . Poolside meals were great during the day.
Rooms basic I would recommend asking for deluxe sea view 6 th floor as they have modern bathrooms . We booked transport through hotel to take us to Colombo, it was very old with minimal aircon and old, a most uncomfortable 2 hour plus trip.
I think this hotel is tired !

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank shrewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your candid views about your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota.

We are sorry to hear that we could not match your expectations during your recent stay with us. We have noted your observations with concern and assure you that the Departmental Heads and their teams and looking into the matter so that all our future guests have a great stay. We do apologise for the inconvenience caused.

We would however like you to do visit again so that you will have positive impressions about our hotel as most of our patrons.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wavendon england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed at the Vivanta in June this year. The journey by private hire taxi to the hotel from the airport was approx 2 1/2 hours long, it is a lovely ride though and the driver was very nice and interesting, he stopped off on the roadside and we had fresh fruit and King Coconut from the vendors on the side of the road.
When we arrived at the hotel we were given fresh drinks and fresh flower garlands. The reception staff were very friendly. We were greeted by the executive housekeeper Vaishali whom was very lovely and helpful and wanting to make our stay very pleasant. The room which was on the 6th floor was amazing, with fab views of the sea. It was a large comfortable room, that was serviced very well each day by the house keepers with lovely towel (animal) arrangements every day. All the staff are the loveliest we as a family (me my husband and my mum) have ever met in any of our hotels.
Internet isn't free at this hotel , however the cost is approx £6 a day which doesn't break the bank when you are staying in such a lovely hotel.
The restaurants in the hotel are amazing and organised very well by Sunny the restaurant head Chef, his food is amazing, he will bend over backwards to make you special requests and is a perfect gentleman ensuring that our stay and food was perfect. Nothing was to much trouble for him. The shack which is the fish restaurant was amazing, you went and chose your own fresh fish and it was cooked to perfection, the fine dining was also amazing, probably my favourite, we never tried the chinese restaurant. The buffet restaurant catered for every nationality each night and i can't state enough that Sunny and his team were excellent. Channa the food and beverage manager was always there to chat to and was also very nice .
The pool is a good size, but i think would be quite crowded in peak season. The pool guys are lovely and look after you round the pool with the towels and umbrellas. The sea was very rough , so we could not swim in it, but the beach was lovely and you could walk a couple of miles either way on the beach. Apparently the beach in Nov and Dec time is very calm, but we went in the monsoon season, which was still hot (32deg) but a little rain.
There is not a lot to do in the hotel, but plenty to do outside the hotel. We used a Tuk Tuk driver every time we went out, we used the same one each time as the first time we had him, he never overcharged, he was an amazing guy called Nihal , he will really look after you if you use him and will not rip you off, he is a local family man who earns very little money , but is so trust worthy. He organised a boat trip for us just across the road from the Hotel and it was an amazing trip and he got it cheaper for us. At the end of our stay, he bought us a present each and we gave him some money for his family as he really looked after us and he was so over whelmed as they do not earn a lot of money. Opposite the hotel entrance road there is a good tailors ,i cant remember the name but its in a white building dead opposite the junction , they made my husband a lovely cashmere suit in a day and was very reasonable price. There are a few shops in Bentota which is walking distance (approx 1/2 mile ) , they are not amazing shops but have your local souvenir in. There are lots of tea shops as well, apparently its the best in the world, so we brought a lot :) .
We took the train to Columbo, which was an experience, very busy, the local people are vey helpful and tell you when to get off, it cost 50 p each way from Bentota, the journey is about 1 and 1/2 hours long. the train ride was magical though as the tracks run right alongside the sea the whole way there . Its definitely worth a nice day out on the train. In Colombo we just went to Odells which is a nice shop, something Sri Lanka lacks and was quite a nice shop. Sri lanka is very very poor, so we took some pens and pencils and some sweets and gave them to the locals , whom were very gratefull.
I would definitely return to this hotel as everything was out standing.
Thankyou Sunny for making us so welcome, hope to return to see you again next year.

Room Tip: definitely the 6 th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank abigailengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your experiences about your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota.

We are delighted to note that you had a memorable stay with us.a and were happy with the hotel and its services. Chef Sunny and Mr Channa were delighted and encouraged by your compliments and thank you for the same.

We will definitely pass on your compliments to Nihal - the tuk tuk driver. We are happy to note that you have had a complete vacation experiencing the Bentota Village and its people.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
1.0 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.5 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Cocoon Resort & Villas
Cocoon Resort & Villas
#3 of 9 in Induruwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
18.9 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#3 of 10 in Wadduwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Bentota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Bentota

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Address: National Holiday Resort, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bentota
#2 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Bentota 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sri Lanka is referred to as a ‘small miracle,’ for despite the island’s relatively small size, its natural wonders and beauty are in abundance. Vivanta by Taj – Bentota is located on the south west coast of Sri Lanka. The hotel lies over a lush hill that overlooks the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Destinology, Southall Travel, Agoda, DerbySoftTaj, Travelbag, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Holiday Gems, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Bentota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Bentota Hotel Bentota
Taj Exotica Hotel Bentota
Bentota Taj Exotica Hotel
Taj Exotica Sri Lanka
Taj Exotica Srilanka
Taj Exotica Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing