We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
west midlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

We stayed here as a family of four for 1 night only. We had booked 2 rooms but on arrival booking for only 1 had been received. However rooms were quickly allocated and we were upgraded to a suite. Rooms were lovely, nicely equipped, well maintained, with nice sea view. The suite was fabulous, fantastic balconies with furniture and bed. We were on a half board basis , the food was good for both breakfast and dinner but the range was not as extensive as other hotels we have stayed in. However the food and beverages manager did speak to most guests and asked to be informed if there was anything else you would like cooked. The staff were friendly and very hospitable at all times throughout the hotel. Our only criticism of the hotel is that the pool area is too small for the size of the hotel. There was never many sun beds available and it's the only place in Sri Lanka we have stayed where sun beds were reserved before breakfast. The hotel was busy but not completely full but the pool area felt very busy and crowded. There is a huge lawn area to the right side of the hotel( when facing the sea) this would be a great place for a second pool area . Overall we had a lovely stay all be it short and would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view of beach/pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jp_1563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, 16 October 2014
Thank you for sharing your experiences about the recent stay at our hotel.

We are happy to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us and enjoyed the newly renovated rooms. We have 4 Food & Beverage outlets offerings different dining options and experiences. This is quite unique and not many hotels offer such choices. Hope your stay is longer so that you can have a great culinary experience.

We have noted your comments and observations regarding the pool and we propose to add another pool when we start our next phase of expansion. We thank you for your observations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,215
    630
    207
    80
    44
See reviews for
676
941
49
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrow,Middx
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

The Taj hotel made our 4 day stay very memorable providing us with the best possible service. The staff were very accommodating and helpful ensuring that all our requests were adhered to. Being vegetarians finding appropriate food is difficult but the Taj chef was able to satisfy us by making the various foods we recommended. The hotel also included a great pool with good access to the beach. As well as quick access to the beach the hotel is only a rickshaw drive from town.
On the other hand the hotel lacked in entertainment, with only a live music bar for the adults leaving the kids to go back to the hotel room during evenings. Being a 5* hotel they were also unable to provide free WiFi which was a bit of a disappointment.
Overall if you've looking for a comforting stay then Taj is the place but if your looking for some entertainment then your options are limited.

Room Tip: Tip your cleaners because they work hard and they deserve it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank varsanify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, 16 October 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble of sharing your experiences about your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota.

We are delighted to note that you and your family were happy with the hotel and its services. Our chefs are encouraged by your compliments and would like to thank you for the same. We have noted your comments regarding activities for youngsters and assure you that we are in the process of revamping the same. We thank you for bringing it to our attention.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

A wonderful hotel where staff do their utmost to make your staying pleasant.
Wonderful location and fabulous pool.
Food was very good, only a tiny complain was the fruit juices at breakfast were not fresh but out of a box, a bit disappointed for a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamassey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, 16 October 2014
Thank you sharing your experience about your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota.

We are delighted to note that you were happy with the hotel and its services and had a memorable stay with us. We have noted your comments regarding the fresh juices and our Food & Beverage Manager and the Executive Chef have agreed to look into the matter at the earliest. Thank you for your observation.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We spent 4 days at this hotel. The service is really very good and the staff involved really friendly. Breakfast and dinner buffet really good, if you need anything more just ask and they did their best level. Because been veg is bit hard, so we ask if they can label which is eggless and they did it and some special dishes as well. The chef was really good. One of the dish was really good so we ask for the recipe and he did provide next morning. I was really shock. The waiters were very helpful. The only down think is no evening entrainment part from music bar. They should think about kids shows and for adults as well. Apart from that Best hotel 5*.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rama H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, 16 October 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble of sharing your experiences about your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota.

Our chefs are delighted to note that you and your family had a great culinary experience. We have noted your comments regarding activities for the family and would like to assure you that we are in the process of revamping the same. You will be happy to note that the WIFI issue will be resolved in the near future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

The service is good and the people very nice but for a five star hotel to not have free wifi is just appalling. Clean and nice but slightly ostentatious with a decent buffet at breakfast. The average selection of T.v channels as seen in most other Sri Lankan hotels although all food is priced at extortionate prices. Juices at breakfast selection are incredibly fake such as the complimentary welcome drink which tastes more like sunny D or squash than real fruit juice. The service is very good and the people involved incredibly friendly but the lack of free wifi is enough to mean that it is a terrible hotel overall, especially in the context of the poor value for money that it entails. However this is primarily down to the management rather than service

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 8509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, 16 October 2014
Thank you for sharing the candid feedback about the hotel and its services.

We have noted your observations and have taken steps to ensure that our guests have great experiences at our hotel. You will be happy to note that the WIFI issue will be resolved very shortly.
We apologise for any inconvenience caused.

We constantly strive to improve our services and products based on the feedback from our guests and thank you for the same.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Shack restaurant was amazing. Fresh caught fish cooked how you want. Newly renovated rooms with great ac. Pain that you have to pay for the wifi but is often the way with nice hotels. Buffet was so so. Breakfast was great but dinner was no more than average. Personally not a big fan of buffets anyway. Beach was great but weather was patchy so waves were big. Good temperature and rain would only last for an hour or so on a day

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Devan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, 16 October 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble of sharing your experience about the recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota.

Our team at the Shack - seafood restaurant is delighted to note that you had a great culinary experience and enjoyed the fresh sea food offered every night. This is one of our most popular restaurants which not only has a great menu but also a breathtaking ambiance.. Our Executive Chef has noted your comments regarding the buffet at the Palms and has promised to closely look into the matter. We thank you for your feedback.
You will be happy to note that WIFI issue will be resolved in the near future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We spent 10 days at this amazing hotel. The staff were amazing, nothing was too small or too big for them. We were on full board and the food was amazing. Fresh food every meal and the variety was great. The waiters were very helpful in particular Suresh, he was very attentive and very helpful; he was the ideal waiter.

The only issue we had was that we had to pay for the wifi.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chandhini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, 16 October 2014
Thank you for sharing your experiences about your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota!

We are delighted to note that you had a memorable stay with us. Our associates are our greatest asset and they take great pride in striving to provide the highest level of service at all times. Our team especially Suresh is encouraged by your compliments and thank you for the same. Our Chefs are happy to note that you had a great culinary experience at our hotel.

You will be happy to note that the WIFI issue will be resolved in the very near feature.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
1.0 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.5 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Cocoon Resort & Villas
Cocoon Resort & Villas
#3 of 9 in Induruwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
18.9 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#3 of 10 in Wadduwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Bentota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Bentota

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Address: National Holiday Resort, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bentota
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#2 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Bentota 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sri Lanka is referred to as a ‘small miracle,’ for despite the island’s relatively small size, its natural wonders and beauty are in abundance. Vivanta by Taj – Bentota is located on the south west coast of Sri Lanka. The hotel lies over a lush hill that overlooks the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, Destinology, Travel Republic (UK), Travelbag, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Bentota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Bentota Hotel Bentota
Taj Exotica Hotel Bentota
Bentota Taj Exotica Hotel
Taj Exotica Sri Lanka
Taj Exotica Srilanka
Taj Exotica Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing