We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel for water sports”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Bentota
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel for water sports”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We (couple) had a deluxe room and it was very good. Had the beach and swimming pool views. The rocks in the pool was a bit dangerous as the legs could hit them while swimming. Our son and family (two boys 11 and 8) enjoyed the water sports and various other activities. We had a great massage at the spa. we stayed 3 nights.

Room Tip: Select a deluxe room. Standard rooms are poor. The hotel needs refurbishment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    529
    523
    229
    96
    71
See reviews for
480
529
41
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Just a lovely hotel with a scent of cinnamon at the lobby, friendly staff, nice pool area. Week in a paradise, online curry started to taste a bit boring after 3 days.

Stayed February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Junksu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karachi, Pakistan
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We had a day trip to bentota from colombo, so this hotel was an easy access to the beach. We had snacks near the pool, which were appetizing. Their were good water related activities for the guests, and tourists, and their is a boat ride, sea is really rough these days so did not really experience the beach. My daughter took a baby elephant ride so that was nice. I liked the hotel and might stay here if I ever visit Sri Lanka again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SairaAdnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norflok
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

this is r first family holiday and the first time my other half and son have been on a plane and wow what a great time we had from the food to the stuff and to the hotel it self.

the food at bentota beach is amazing i have to say i was scared of this as my son and other half r so fussy about there food. my son as always asked what he would like and everyone did there best to get what him what he would like and my other half i have never seen him eat so well :) lol.

the staff r amazing and will help when ever there can. a little tip to these people go along way. we meet some really nice people out there and some that i no i would love to see again.

my mum and dad got married when we went and was the main reason we went to this hotel and there day could have not gone better in the morning we was all in the pool chilled we had no thing to think about apart from getting ready :). the wedding it self was amazing and have never seen anything like it. if i had it my way i we go and get married there tomorrow :). the elephant that is at the hotel most days even had some cake to :) lol.


id just like to say a big thank you to everyone at bentota beach for everything did for us and also for making my mum and dads day amazing :)

gemma, richard and caleb xxxx

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gemma k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed for 1 night in June 2012.Three of us, as family.The dinner sucked. Son slept on empty stomach! Breakfast and lunch was better. Hardly any sea food on the menu though it was buffet styled.
The pool is quite large and interesting.Did not explore the beach due to lack of time.Son enjoyed the jet skying. Quite expensive. The guys operating it try to cheat on the time duration. So keep a watch.Make sure your time and theirs tally before setting out!
The boat(large one) was lame! The animator was pleasant and enthusiastic.
The rooms were OK. Towels were slightly stained. A/C packed up but was corrected promptly on complaining.Room service was fair, but I lost a valuable leather purse which I realized only a couple of days later. Inquiry at that stage proved futile.So don't count on honesty of the staff much.

Room Tip: higher floors on main wing have better view of the sea and lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shifa_ja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

If you ever want a wedding with a difference or an amazing relaxed holiday then Bentota Beach Hotel is the one.
The wedding package at this hotel is amazing,what with dancers, singers, drummers and an elephant and a choice of unbelievable back drops for your photos and of course the amazing price. Your wedding coordinator Shalini leaves nothing to chance, absolutely everything just runs like clockwork.
If you want traditional dresses for bride or bridesmaids then you can rent for an amazing £10.00 each. The choice of colours is amazing and the ladies from the salon even help you get dressed.
The holiday side of things was just as amazing from the room boys decorating the beds with flowers most days, food choice amazing but if you are a fussy eater and cant find anything you like just ask the chefs, they are amazing and try to help as much as possible.
The waiting staff in the bars and restuarants are so friendly and make you feel welcome.
The pool boys especialy Saresh are so helpful and along with the gardeners preparing your sunbeds in your chosen spot is no problem. But please remember that all these guys do not earn a fortune so when you tip a few dollars here and there it goes a long way.
The wildlife around the hotel is amazing,land monitors,iguanas, ghekos, polecats, mongoose, squirrels, elephant, and an amazing array of birds and butterflys.
A very big thankyou to Shalini, Quin, Ravi, Saresh, Priyanthi(Pate), Nishan, Abeywickrama, Sanath, Viraj, De Silva, Kumara and Ranjiht just to mention a few.
Our wedding was something special and i hope other people will follow suit and get married at this wonderful hotel because it realy was something amazing.

Room Tip: To be honest all the rooms have their own special qualities but if available then the 200+ are the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andreak01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

A very big hotel .... the first room we got was smelly and it had mold on the ceiling. So we changed rooms (which was a bit of a hassle). Rooms are very nice with DVD players.
Pool and garden area are huge (but they are specialized in big groups)
Dinner+Breakfast buffet excellent. Wifi didn't work for hours (but its free and works in the rooms as well)

Room Tip: check the view, the ceiling and the smell before you settle down
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.5 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 24 in Bentota
826 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
#1 of 1 in Moragolla
1,633 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bentota Beach by Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentota Beach by Cinnamon

Property: Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Address: Colombo-Galle-Hambantota-Wellawaya Highway | Galle, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bentota Beach by Cinnamon 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the southern coast of Sri Lanka, Bentota Beach by Cinnamon is the perfect getaway from the buzzing city life. The resort specializes on water sports and other adventures at its own Water Sports centre with a variety of activities such as wind surfing, jet skiing, and banana boat riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bentota Beach by Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentota Beach Hotel Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing