We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not yet a Cinnamon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Bentota
Reviewed 17 July 2012

The Bentota Beach Hotel was built in 1967, which makes it probably the oldest of the Geoffrey Bawa Hotels. Its central courtyard has some really tall Araliya (flower) trees, perhaps the tallest we have ever seen, which reach right up to the top floor Deluxe rooms, which we had. We were on half board basis, as from previous experience we found that we could not have the huge breakfast buffets and then also eat a substantial lunch buffet as well. During the weekend that we were there, the hotel was quite full, and was dominated mainly by a Middle Eastern tour group, a German group and a number of locals. This meant that both car parks were full, and we found it difficult to park. The buffets are all very generous, though some meats are a trifle undercooked at the buffet - this can be dangerous when there is honey glazed pork on (Saturday's) menu.

We stayed Sunday night as well, and found that the hotel emptied out after noon on Sunday. The staff are all very courteous and helpful. The speed of checkin was very swift, but due to some internal dept. calculation that had to be done, we were kept waiting on check out.

The choice of pillows was excellent, and afforded a good night's sleep. We were disturbed on the first night by Buddhist chanting in the nearby temple, a DJ at the courtyard Private Lounge which went on well into the night, and a couple of dogs outside.

On the first day, the (toilet) flush was not working properly, but this was fixed before we complained. Our room was 209 - the top fo the basin tap kept dropping off with a clatter, one of the clues why the hotel needs a little more refurbishment work. There was insufficient bath gel in the shower. The LG TV was a little small for a hotel of this calibre, since the duty was dropped substantially recently it would make sense to at least retrofit LED screens into the Deluxe rooms. We enjoyed watching the DVD's that we brought with us. Some lamp fittings in the stairways are falling apart, with lots of rust. That said the place looks quite pretty in the night. We were kept waiting for 20 minutes for pool towels, as the attendant was on a break. As locals, we expect it, but a British or German tourist would be quite shocked, I would imagine.

While we enjoyed our weekend very much, it is clear that a lot more work needs to be done before KHMS upgrades this hotel to their premier Cinnamon brand. Still it is the grand dame of Bentota Resort hotels, and a Kandyan wedding with all the trappings added spectacle to our Sunday.

A highly recommended day trip is the one to the architect of the hotel's sprawling villa, Lunuganga. It is just 4km from this hotel. Geoffrey Bawa was a flamboyant man, who became a star international architect. The tour is worth the Rs. 1,250 ticket, and you can throw in a lunch or an afternoon tea (prebooked) additionally if you want better value.

Room Tip: Take the Deluxe rather than the Standard or the Superior. It is worth it. Avoid the new wing, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LocalActingGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,460)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

818 - 824 of 1,460 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2012

Very nice hotel between river and ocean, clean rooms and nice water activity, nice swimming pool, food is good but very high price

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ahmedalmahameed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We've been to Bentota beach in our honeymoon in 2009, we loved it so much that i had to come back again. All facilities were great. They have great service and the staff were so friendly and always smiling. At the restaurant they have amazing varieties of great food that we gained weight during our stay. The swimming pool was great and clean and so is the beach. The room was good but we should had booked a bigger one.

At the end, i would like to thank everyone at Bentota beach, we really enjoyed our stay and it was great to come back again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jejeeid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We (couple) had a deluxe room and it was very good. Had the beach and swimming pool views. The rocks in the pool was a bit dangerous as the legs could hit them while swimming. Our son and family (two boys 11 and 8) enjoyed the water sports and various other activities. We had a great massage at the spa. we stayed 3 nights.

Room Tip: Select a deluxe room. Standard rooms are poor. The hotel needs refurbishment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Just a lovely hotel with a scent of cinnamon at the lobby, friendly staff, nice pool area. Week in a paradise, online curry started to taste a bit boring after 3 days.

Stayed: February 2012
1  Thank Junksu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We had a day trip to bentota from colombo, so this hotel was an easy access to the beach. We had snacks near the pool, which were appetizing. Their were good water related activities for the guests, and tourists, and their is a boat ride, sea is really rough these days so did not really experience the beach. My daughter took a baby elephant ride so that was nice. I liked the hotel and might stay here if I ever visit Sri Lanka again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SairaAdnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

this is r first family holiday and the first time my other half and son have been on a plane and wow what a great time we had from the food to the stuff and to the hotel it self.

the food at bentota beach is amazing i have to say i was scared of this as my son and other half r so fussy about there food. my son as always asked what he would like and everyone did there best to get what him what he would like and my other half i have never seen him eat so well :) lol.

the staff r amazing and will help when ever there can. a little tip to these people go along way. we meet some really nice people out there and some that i no i would love to see again.

my mum and dad got married when we went and was the main reason we went to this hotel and there day could have not gone better in the morning we was all in the pool chilled we had no thing to think about apart from getting ready :). the wedding it self was amazing and have never seen anything like it. if i had it my way i we go and get married there tomorrow :). the elephant that is at the hotel most days even had some cake to :) lol.


id just like to say a big thank you to everyone at bentota beach for everything did for us and also for making my mum and dads day amazing :)

gemma, richard and caleb xxxx

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gemma k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bentota hotels
0.5 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 25 in Bentota
882 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
0.9 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bentota Beach by Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentota Beach by Cinnamon

Address: Colombo-Galle-Hambantota-Wellawaya Highway | Galle, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#7 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
Price Range: £150 - £343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bentota Beach by Cinnamon 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the southern coast of Sri Lanka, Bentota Beach by Cinnamon is the perfect getaway from the buzzing city life. The resort specializes on water sports and other adventures at its own Water Sports centre with a variety of activities such as wind surfing, jet skiing, and banana boat riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bentota Beach by Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentota Beach Hotel Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing