We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Bentota
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed here for two weeks for our silver wedding anniversary. The room was huge cleaned everyday comfy bed gorgeous view of the pool and beach. Food was amazing so much choice and the staff so welcoming. The pool is great loved to sit on the ledges and rocks on a hot sunny day. The grounds are fabulous with its abundant wildlife from the naught chipmunks to the curious lizards. Met some lovely people there did the trips, relaxed ate some great food best holiday for a long time. Loved bento tea beach hotel

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roundysbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Bentota Beach Hotel. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Whilst thanking you for sharing your positive feedback we eagerly look forward to having you with us again for your next anniversary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

639 - 645 of 1,461 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

I have stayed in this hotel for 9 days with my friends and I have really enjoyed it. The room was neat, not big, however clean and good-looking. An ocean view is also a plus. The territory and facilities of the hotel were also on the level, however we preferred swimming in the ocean instead of the pool.The food was delish, staff in the restaurant was always friendly and glad to help with any request, special thanks to Dinuna, Roshen, Suranjith and Thushara, guys were always around without being importunate. To sum it up, we really enjoyed our stay there and definitely advise it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarinaNastenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Bentota Beach Hotel. We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and our warm hospitality. We eagerly look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Hated it!
We booked a superior room for three nights at this hotel. As soon as we arrived it felt like we had entered a prison? I believe it's nicknamed the prison too.
Reception and seated area nice and the a la carte very good with exceptional service but then we were the only couple in there.
Didn't like the buffet area. The bar was lively in the evening with entertainment. As I said we had booked a superior room so I would hate to see the standard rooms. Towels and linen ok. Very small bathroom . Bedroom also very small and claustrophobic.
You had to keep the air con on and there was instructions that you should not open the doors to the balcony. This is something to do with the humidity and the floors getting wet because of it, even more claustrophobic. There was a sea view however, just.
We had already cancelled the third night before we arrived due to a change of plans, luckily. The next day we spoke to our guide and called the holiday company and booked into another hotel in Negombo losing our money but we felt it worth the loss.
Would not return and would not recommend. The hotel is also extremely close to the railway lines.

Room Tip: I cannot suggest anything because I really hated it. Maybe try to get a suite. Cannot comment on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanfairyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.
We sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience you had with us during your stay.
We do take constructive feedback seriously and we sincerely regret that certain areas, especially the condition of the room allocated to you, did not meet your expectations.
While thanking you for taking time to write to us, we certainly hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back at our Hotel, for a stay that we guarantee, will be memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Amazing experience. I was there with my wife for our honeymoon. At first I thought it would be a worn down hotel but was I wrong. I stayed in three other hotels in Sri Lanka and which were good but this was by far the better. Loved every minute! To top off the stay, on check in they surprised us and upgraded us to a bigger and better room with a view. It was perfect!

The food was awesome - didn't need to go out for dinner because the hotel had the best food! Amazing people, amazing service and amazing country.

I look forward to going back there again sometime soon!

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Get the superior room and ask for the sea view -> leave the windows open and hear the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suhel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Bentota Beach Hotel. We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and our warm hospitality. We eagerly look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed at the Bentota Beach Hotel for 9 days of our honeymoon. We went all-inclusive and although that meant we had to stick mostly to the main restaurant for our meals, the food was varied and excellent. There were several other options if we wanted to pay for our meals, including a private pagoda on the beach with our own chef had we wanted it.
When you enter the beautiful reception area, you are met by the delicious smell of cinnamon.
The rooms are very pleasant, although we did have to ask them to change our mattress, but the staff did this within 20 minutes of being asked and without question.
Everywhere we went within the hotel complex, every single member of staff was polite, warm, friendly and couldn't be more helpful.
The swimming pool is clean and lovely, a lifeguard is always present when open. The gardens are lovely and the beach is beautiful. Unfortunately, we went at the wrong time of year to swim in the sea as it was very rough, with strong currents.
Absolutely loved our time there and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Worth asking travel agent before travelling how much a room upgrade is. We paid very little to upgra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juliet111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Bentota Beach Hotel. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Whilst thanking you for sharing your positive feedback we eagerly look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We came here for our honeymoon and we were a bit disappointed that we had to wait over an hour to check in an ended up with a disabled room and two single beds. The resort itself was beautiful with luscious gardens, a nice pool and plenty of activities. There was a very bug Muslim population staying at this resort. The buffet dinners were pretty good with a wide selection of food and different themes each night. Other than the initial hiccup it was a good stay. Lucky it was our final destination in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fima d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at our Hotel. We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We apologize for any inconvenience that may have been caused initially due to our Hotel being fully booked on the day of your arrival and hence not being able to provide your room by the usual check-in time. We are constantly reviewing and improving our efficiency and service offerings and will certainly ensure that we offer a better experience to you upon your return. We eagerly look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights after a week travelling Sri Lanka. Rooms were lovely and the pool and gardens are amazing. We just had breakfast included but get there early as the buffet gets a bit busy.
We ate in the hotel 2 nights. If you like buffets and everyone pushing for food then it's fine! The restaurant away from the buffet was nice but too quite as we were only ones there as mist people go for all inclusive buffet.
Get a tuk tuk and get out if the hotel for dinner. Amazing restaurants nearby with top quality seafood and great service

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Eva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at our Bentota Beach Hotel. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We eagerly look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bentota hotels
0.5 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 26 in Bentota
905 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
0.7 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bentota Beach by Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentota Beach by Cinnamon

Address: Colombo-Galle-Hambantota-Wellawaya Highway | Galle, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bentota
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#7 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
Price Range: £1 - £1 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bentota Beach by Cinnamon 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the southern coast of Sri Lanka, Bentota Beach by Cinnamon is the perfect getaway from the buzzing city life. The resort specializes on water sports and other adventures at its own Water Sports centre with a variety of activities such as wind surfing, jet skiing, and banana boat riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Bentota Beach by Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentota Beach Hotel Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing