We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Bentota
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Having read the trip advisor reviews i looked forward to my stay with guarded optimism. I can't fathom what people could find to complain about. Unfailingly friendly, clean, and atmospheric. The beach here is wonderful with a gradual shore so that despite the waves it doesn't beat you up. Plenty of room for long walks. The grounds are huge with lots of loungers, comfortable loungers. Pool is nice and was never busy. I didn't see any children around anywhere. The staff who provide towels and loungers on the beach were sometimes difficult to find so i settled for just a towel on the sand. Food was excellent. Breakfast had a double buffet with Indian specialties as well as western choices. You are not experiencing Sri Lanka until you have curry and Hoppers for breakfast! I I only had one dinner which was fine, nice variety of desserts. Pizza at the little restaurant by the pool was awesome. The hotel, as all hotels in the area, is very near the train tracks. I did hear the train but it was not loud and didn't disturb me. There was no loud music or other disturbance to disrupt my sleep. I loved my room and beach view balcony...room 108. Not fat from restaurant and lobby either.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thetravelduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for publishing a detailed review about Bentota Beach Hotel on Tripadvisor.

It is with much delight we accept your best compliments regarding our services and facilities of the hotel

We are indeed grateful for your stay at Bentota beach Hotel and we look forward to your next visit to make it even more memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    528
    520
    228
    96
    70
See reviews for
478
526
41
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We were given a twin room for our two night stay. The front desk was rude when we asked for a double room. After our tour operator (Red Dot Tours) interfered, they changed our room for the second night. The location is perfect amidst the backwaters and sea. We got the basement rooms which were musty and old, but they had direct access to the lawn which our son enjoyed a lot. The meal buffets were elaborate and delicious. The staffs were okay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank HappyTravellerIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for taking time in sharing your experience with us.

We have already addressed all the front line staff on service etiquettes and the service delivery will be carefully monitored by our management team continuously.

We look forward for your next visit in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I really wanted to like this hotel. We had a wonderful week in Sri Lanka in three other fabulous hotels, and this one was way below what I expected. The room had been updated, but there was mildew all over the ceiling, and the room smelled a combination of musky and smoke. The pillows themselves reeked-maybe they mildew, too? It took three calls to housekeeping to get different pillows, although there is a "pillow menu" placed by the bed. It turns out they don't have all the specialty pillows that were listed, either. The food was better some nights than others, but always large varieties.

It is obvious this place is catering to Eastern European/ Russians, mostly on all inclusive stays. We had breakfast and dinner but not the all-inclusive package since we are gone during the day. When we tried to buy draft beer in the bar, we were not allowed because it was only for all inclusive guests, even though we were willing to pay. Also, when we were in the restaurant, surrounded by guests with small water bottles, I was not allowed to purchase one, but was told that only the large bottle was available because the small ones were only for all-inclusive guests.

The night before we checked out, they called us twice to come pay the bill that night rather than in the morning, even while my husband was in the process of paying. Also, they locked the mini-bar while we were at dinner the night before we left until after we checked out. I guess they probably had bad experiences with people stealing from the mini bar at the last minute and not paying their bill, but for us who are honest and have no problem paying our bills, it felt like we were not trusted.

We had specifically requested a room far away from the train and were given a bottom floor right next to the train. We paid full price and felt like we were being treated poorly because we were not on all-inclusive plan.

The grounds are large, and the beach is very nice. The pool is also very nice. But, they need to update the place. This felt like a mid-level place, not four stars.

There are other hotels that look nicer in same area. Try the others instead.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 100worldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback. All points stated in your review are carefully noted.
Since we cater to a different mix of clientele certain controls needs to be adopted for the convenience of all guests hence the reason for service varieties.
Nevertheless we will ensure that every effort been taken in fine tuning our service styles and we thank you once more for the time taken in posting the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Really nice place. I enjoyed the yoga classes and food. The rooms are cool too, although ours were a bit far away from the main area. It's noisy at night, and there was a sharp light pointing directly into the room making it hard to sleep.

The place is well kept and staff is friendly and helpful.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thanks for being our valued guest. We are so glad to hear that you did enjoy your stay at Bentota Beach Hotel
The areas you have mentioned for improvement is well noted and action for the betterment of all future guests.
We look forward to see you in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I had been for my honeymoon and was offered a suite, which was an upgraded room as the hotel didn't had any other rooms due to sold out but having 2 twin beds joined together and calling it dbl. bed was the least I expected. Even after making reservation a month prior and informing them about a room facing beach, we were offered room far away from the beach.
In the night, place is full of mosquitoes and hardly any lights were provided in the corridor.

For getting near the beach, one has to actually take a over bridge above railway line which was again not told to us during reservation. In the night going towards beach is like taking a big risk of life as there are no light facility and the hotel doesn't take the responsibility of their customers.

Staff at the restaurant were very jolly and corporative. Need to thank the chef who prepared omlette, it was very tasty and as I wanted. (Sorry don't remember his name.)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mugzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
We appreciate your candid review.
Highlighted point is well noted and action accordingly to prevent any repetitions of similar acts.
We truly regret for the inconvenience occurred to both of you at the initial stages of your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Design of this hotel is good, could give you a resort and relax feeling, wide public beach, big swimming pool. However, room is getting old and they really need to do some improvement or renovate it, also some place in the room you could see it's dirty and could not remove and clean easily. Too many mosquito in the room (especially in the toilet) even turn on the air condition. However, they provide the electric mosquito killer plug in the socket, this problem was solved during sleeping.

Wide option in the dinner buffet and the taste is good! This make me feel surprise because the room make me don't have any expectation.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kahom Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your comments.
We thank you for staying with us and sharing your thoughts, which will certainly take into account with the renovation work.
The hotel has a permanently based out sourced pest controlling personnel to treat for mosquitos and other pests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

BBH is one of my favourite hotels in SL. The food is consistently good and the service is great.
It's a big hotel so the walk to and from your room can get a bit tiresome especially if you're with kids. Other than that I think it's a great child friendly place. The location is such that the lagoon is one side and the sea on the other which allows for super water sports.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nuwanthi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience. Your satisfaction and continued trust placed with Bentota Beach Hotel is greatly appreciated.

We would very much look forward for yet another opportunity to welcome you back to our little paradise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.5 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
#1 of 1 in Moragolla
1,608 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 23 in Bentota
817 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bentota Beach by Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentota Beach by Cinnamon

Property: Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Address: Colombo-Galle-Hambantota-Wellawaya Highway | Galle, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#7 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bentota Beach by Cinnamon 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the southern coast of Sri Lanka, Bentota Beach by Cinnamon is the perfect getaway from the buzzing city life. The resort specializes on water sports and other adventures at its own Water Sports centre with a variety of activities such as wind surfing, jet skiing, and banana boat riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bentota Beach by Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentota Beach Hotel Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing