We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Out of this world”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Bentota
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Out of this world”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Recently I went to the island of Sri Lanka, and my first stop of my fantastic stay was this beautiful hotel in Bentota located right on the sea front. The room itself was lovely, we had one of the rooms on the ground floor going on to grass area which was completely ideal to get too and from the room and pool. Also, these rooms were perfect to get away from the killer heat, air conditioned and with a fan. Regarding dining matters, we ate at the main buffet restaurant for most nights, catering for everyone with traditional local food for the adventurous and plenty other of options for anyone who was not quite up for the curry. I happened to try everything on show, and if I was being honest all meals from breakfast to dinner was sublime. This hotel is perfect for anybody as there is lots to do there from cricket, darts, table tennis, swimming and bathing in the lovely sea. I would truly recommend this hotel to anybody considering to go to Sri Lanka. I definitely will be going back, as the staff and every Sri Lankan we met were extremely friendly during this stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Samual2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarlonRobert, Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for a wonderful Trip Advisor review of your stay at Bentota Beach Hotel, which has been both encouraging and uplifting.
It is a pleasure to hear how pleased you were with the location, food, service of our associates and other facilities we have on offer at the hotel.
Thank you for recognizing Bentota Beach Hotel for the excellent hospitality provided by our associates and rest assured that such praises will be shared to the entire team.
All your kind comments are truly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    515
    221
    94
    69
See reviews for
466
516
41
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bacong, Philippines
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The grounds of the hotel are lovely and spacious. The pool is really lovely but the beach is the gem. Huge expanse of beautiful beaches although not good for swimming. The letdown At the hotel for us was the large, school canteen-like buffet restaurant. Walking into the restaurant you are hit by a wall of noise. The food is average and repetitive. We would eat quickly then leave which is a shame as food should be a good part of any holiday. If you're not fussy about your food and don't mind noise, then this is a good hotel. Our room was lovely with a balcony overlooking the river and was very peaceful. There is a good poolside snack bar for lunch with a dedicated ice cream kiosk. Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank worldwanderer_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarlonRobert, Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us.
We regret any inconvenience that may have been caused to you during your stay with us.
Also thank you for the constructive feedback which is truly invaluable to us and we will certainly take the highlighted areas in to consideration for areas of improvement.
While thanking you for taking time to write to us, we certainly hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back at our Hotel, for a stay that we guarantee, will be memorable
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

As part of a group we were booked here for two nights. The resort is beautiful with a river to one side of the property and the beach on the other side, it is the perfect location for a holiday. Loads of activities for those who want an active holiday, and plenty of place for just lying under a tree with a cocktail in one hand and a book in the other. A nice swimming pool, a spa (which a friend certifies gave an excellent massage) and a good restaurant. The breakfast spread was huge.
I can honestly say that this was the best part of my Sri Lankan trip!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarlonRobert, Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for the review and we are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at Bentota Beach Hotel.
Your recommendation will definitely encourage us to continue focusing on guest satisfaction at any time in the future.
Once again thank you for your sincere review and it’s a pleasure having you with us.
Look forward to welcoming you to Bentota Beach Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

On the last night of a week staying at the bentota beach hotel and the trip has been amazing. The room was decorated to a high standard and the turn down service every night adds something special... The food is amazing the hotel is worth a visit even if it is just for one of khan's naan bread or something from the desert table... The staff are attentive and are always willing to help and it's on the beach so you don't have far to walk at all! Overall I would happily stay here again and it gets a massive thumbs up from me!

Room Tip: Train is out back but it didn't bother us until friday night when it was a bit loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessiebm26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarlonRobert, Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your most recent experience while at the Bentota Beach Hotel.
Our special thanks to you for your lovely, praising words for our team members for their special caring of our guests , which made your stay with us memorable holiday as ever.
We will most certainly share your comments with all our team members, who put in the extra mile and made the difference.
Look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2014

So I can't believe it's a 4 stars hotel. I mean it's great. Great space and great pool. Wonderful golden beach 1 minute away from almost any room. Green spaces are widely spread and sunbathing under the huge trees is very relaxing. The pool-side cafeteria has some good food. Didn't try the restaurants inside because I was staying away from Sri Lankan food (Yes, I did not like Sri Lankan food). Rooms were nothing special though, could have been better. But the good thing is that Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel; even on the beach. All in all, this hotel was probably the highlight of my trip!

Room Tip: Any room on the ground floor I think would be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarlonRobert, Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and share your experience with the TripAdvisor community.
It is truly rewarding to know that your stay with us was wonderful, specially by our location, selection of food and other amenities.
Thank you for taking the time out to leave such a positive review. We're looking forward to serving you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Good location, very friendly staff , nice garden, beautiful beach, rooms and bath need of some refurb. had good time over two days stay. we will return to this hotel once again once they refurb bedrooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonq53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarlonRobert, Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
We are jubilant to hear that you will be back with us soon and we will ensure your future stay to be even more enjoyable than the one you’ve already had.
We will also make a note of your comment regarding the need of room modernization at the next refurbishment.
We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Very impressive breakfast spread and quality of food.
Staff friendly but room service was slow.

Rooms ver comfortable in general.

Great location next to beach, but hotel feels old and the rooms are old fashioned. Pricing too high for quality of rooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gishanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarlonRobert, Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time in writing a review about our services and facilities. These will greatly assist us in assessing our self and which would guide us in a positive directions.
We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.5 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
#1 of 1 in Moragolla
1,540 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#9 of 30 in Bentota
796 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cocoon Resort & Villas
Cocoon Resort & Villas
#4 of 9 in Induruwa
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bentota Beach by Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentota Beach by Cinnamon

Property: Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Address: Colombo-Galle-Hambantota-Wellawaya Highway | Galle, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#8 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bentota Beach by Cinnamon 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the southern coast of Sri Lanka, Bentota Beach by Cinnamon is the perfect getaway from the buzzing city life. The resort specializes on water sports and other adventures at its own Water Sports centre with a variety of activities such as wind surfing, jet skiing, and banana boat riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bentota Beach by Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentota Beach Hotel Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing