We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach resort hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Bentota
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Although the property has become old, the hotel is well maintained. But it is time, at least the rooms are upgraded with more modern facilities. Superb beach resort hotel with lots of activities available. One can watch the beautiful sunset idling on the beach chairs. The beach is clean and well maintained. The restaurant spread is extravagant for both breakfast and dinner with very prompt and courteous service. Nice place to stay and require at least 3 days to enjoy all activities in this resort hotel.

Room Tip: Just check if the AC is in good working condition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonees71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

It is such a great pleasure to read about your satisfaction of the recent stay here at Bentota Beach Hotel.
We are so glad to learn that we have been able to meet your expectations!
We all hope that you will enjoy relaxing surroundings and our facilities soon again and we thank you for sharing such a positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

543 - 549 of 1,461 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

It is a beach resort, let it be the food, the pool and the beach,
Rooms, Very small bathrooms on the downside, but however the bed and the selection of the pillow menu, was quite an enchancement.
The food was marvelous during all times.
The pool was okay,
Big garden, very ideal for children with a play area.
Overall good for relaxation and food lovers

Room Tip: High floor rooms are nice with the balcony Travel during a high occupancy, the buffet will be on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chubbacheesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you very much for taking time to review the facilities of Bentota Beach Hotel
It is our pleasure to note that you had a good time during your stay in the hotel and we are looking forward for your revisit in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Bentota Beach Resort is v v nice property. Our view was lake side and the staff readily agreed to provide. Also since it was our anniversary they decked the bed with fresh flowers and gave a very pleasant surprise. The food was good and they were willing to even do changes in set menu since my partner is pure veg. Breakfast too was good and they had some in-house games too.Though we did not indulge in it but the hotel had nice greenery and we went to the beach in late afternoon...nice and clean towels and everything was organised...

Room Tip: I stayed in May -2010...I did not see an option how to select the duration when you stayed. I think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashish d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor.
We read with very much delight, that our team could make your stay fantastic holiday and we thank you especially for the lovely, praising words regarding our facilities and services.
It would be our sincere pleasure having you visiting us in the future and we would be most obliged to assist you in arranging your future reservations with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Having just returned from a first trip to both Sri Lanka, and the Bentota Beach Hotel,(not to be confused with the Bentota Beach Club, which is, I believe is not as nice) I wish I had stayed longer in both. Sri Lanka is an amazing and beautiful country (even in the rainy season), but the hotel made the stay perfect.

Through a minor booking error, we started off in a standard room, (having booked a deluxe) and ended up being upgraded to a suite. The standard room was excellent, with balcony, and views over the gardens and sea beyond. Well equipped and had everything we needed.

We opted to upgrade to all inclusive as it appeared at a reasonable price, and were not disappointed. The food in the main buffet restaurant was excellent, with a choice of probably 30/40 main dishes each meal to choose from. A lot of different curries, but also a wide variety of European food as well..

What really made our stay extra special however, was the staff. Although considerably overstaffed by European standards, every single one was friendly, efficient and happy to chat to all the guests. We also spoke to the manager, Marlon, who took the trouble to come over and introduce himself on our first day, and spoke with us on 3-4 occasions during the week.

A week in Sri Lanka is not enough, although getting around is not the easiest thing in the world. It's not a large island, but the average journey time in a taxi or bus is probably down to 20mph due to the insane traffic. Tuk Tuks and motor cycles abound, and driving standards would get most arrested within minutes in the UK.

Overall, a thoroughly enjoyable stay, and we hope to return before to long.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lochspouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

It is a great honor to see that you were happy with our services rendered.
At the Bentota Beach Hotel, all colleagues makes every effort to maintain the high standards of timely and quality service delivery and we are delighted that we have been successful in achieving this during your stay with us.
Thank you also for the recognition of our standards and your kind words about the efficiency and friendliness of our Management and the staff, your compliments will definitely be shared with the team.
Look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Good Location. Rooms are big and well maintained. Hotel is next to the beach but our room did not have sea view. Night there was electricity tripped in our room which was not resolved in time. Group check in took little time. Overall good experience will visit again.


We stayed in 2011.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VishwasJoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for choosing Bentota Beach Hotel. We would like to pass you our utmost appreciation and thankfulness for taking the time to publish your fabulous review regarding your recent vacation at Bentota Beach Hotel and that you found it as good as ever.

We look forward to having you and your family back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We were married there 9 years ago (before tripadvisor).
The staff were fantastic, hotel immaculate and the food amazing.
Every evening when we returned to our room, our bed had been turned down in a different way. My wife also had her birthday there and the room was decked out in balloons and banners. She was also serenaded by the Bentota Bees. Fantastic.
In the bar, when your drink gets low, another one appears courtesy of the unobtrusive waiters and if you'r a smoker, a lighter will appear over your shoulder whenever you take a cigarette out its packet.
Treated like royalty!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for such a tremendously encouraging review even after nine years. We feel great to know that you had a perfect wedding.
We especially enjoyed reading your summation about the wedding vacation.
Our aim for each guest is to provide a truly fantastic experience and it is always a pleasure to know that guests have enjoyed their time at Bentota Beach Hotel.
We look forward to having you and your family back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Despite booking and confirming two interconnecting rooms, we were put up in two adjacent rooms. The management did not seem to be able to explain why this lapse.
The rooms had chipped bedside tables, and torn pillow cases and pillow covers. In one of the rooms we were staying in, the bathroom design was very poor; there was no divider for the bathing area and the water used to freely flow through the bathroom.

I would recommend that the management should rectify these shortcomings to make the experience more enjoyable.
I would also like to add that the food selection, especially Indian food was amazing. A feast for culinary lovers.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Modayi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

We were pleased to read your constructive review on Trip Advisor following your stay.
We thank you for staying with us and for sharing your thoughts, specifically about the condition of the rooms, which we will certainly take into account the next time we plan a renovation.
Thanks for also highlighting the positive aspects of your stay as well.
We are in the midst of planning many modifications at the property for future enjoyment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bentota hotels
0.5 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 26 in Bentota
905 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
0.7 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bentota Beach by Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentota Beach by Cinnamon

Address: Colombo-Galle-Hambantota-Wellawaya Highway | Galle, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bentota
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#7 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
Price Range: £1 - £1 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bentota Beach by Cinnamon 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the southern coast of Sri Lanka, Bentota Beach by Cinnamon is the perfect getaway from the buzzing city life. The resort specializes on water sports and other adventures at its own Water Sports centre with a variety of activities such as wind surfing, jet skiing, and banana boat riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Bentota Beach by Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentota Beach Hotel Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing