We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad expeirence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Bentota
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is my first bad experience in a five star hotel went to there as a company annual trip.There was no ventilation in the room,moisture all over the roof and floor.Even the tv did not work.The only thing to satisfy was the pool environment open spaces to beach and river.Food was kind of ok,but not have the variety which own to beach resorst.I would not recommend to this hotel at all there are resorts better than this in benthota area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank malikPathirana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for taking your valued time to write about your experience of your stay at Bentota Beach on TripAdvisor.
We regret that your stay at Hotel did not meet your expectations.
Thank you once again for your constructive feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back, trusting that we could deliver the expected service on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

542 - 548 of 1,463 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

It was for a single day FB with an extra lunch. Huge hotel, space with friendly and well attended staff. We had a bulb going off in the wash room and it was fixed on a single notice. Floor room service did checked if we wanted fresh towels or tea/coffee even it was a single day stay and we had good food with 1 open and 1 en-closed pools having both beach and river accessible at the same time. Worth It! Aha - and the cinnamon smell ;) It is Cinnamon now.

Room Tip: It is biased - upstairs are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kumudu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you so much for such an enthusiastic feedback regarding your stay with us!
We collectively take a lot of pride in our service, and it's only capable through our colleagues.
We'd very much like the opportunity to look after you and your family again, with some added special attention.
We thus thank you again for having shared us your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Although the property has become old, the hotel is well maintained. But it is time, at least the rooms are upgraded with more modern facilities. Superb beach resort hotel with lots of activities available. One can watch the beautiful sunset idling on the beach chairs. The beach is clean and well maintained. The restaurant spread is extravagant for both breakfast and dinner with very prompt and courteous service. Nice place to stay and require at least 3 days to enjoy all activities in this resort hotel.

Room Tip: Just check if the AC is in good working condition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonees71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

It is such a great pleasure to read about your satisfaction of the recent stay here at Bentota Beach Hotel.
We are so glad to learn that we have been able to meet your expectations!
We all hope that you will enjoy relaxing surroundings and our facilities soon again and we thank you for sharing such a positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

It is a beach resort, let it be the food, the pool and the beach,
Rooms, Very small bathrooms on the downside, but however the bed and the selection of the pillow menu, was quite an enchancement.
The food was marvelous during all times.
The pool was okay,
Big garden, very ideal for children with a play area.
Overall good for relaxation and food lovers

Room Tip: High floor rooms are nice with the balcony Travel during a high occupancy, the buffet will be on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chubbacheesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you very much for taking time to review the facilities of Bentota Beach Hotel
It is our pleasure to note that you had a good time during your stay in the hotel and we are looking forward for your revisit in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Bentota Beach Resort is v v nice property. Our view was lake side and the staff readily agreed to provide. Also since it was our anniversary they decked the bed with fresh flowers and gave a very pleasant surprise. The food was good and they were willing to even do changes in set menu since my partner is pure veg. Breakfast too was good and they had some in-house games too.Though we did not indulge in it but the hotel had nice greenery and we went to the beach in late afternoon...nice and clean towels and everything was organised...

Room Tip: I stayed in May -2010...I did not see an option how to select the duration when you stayed. I think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashish d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor.
We read with very much delight, that our team could make your stay fantastic holiday and we thank you especially for the lovely, praising words regarding our facilities and services.
It would be our sincere pleasure having you visiting us in the future and we would be most obliged to assist you in arranging your future reservations with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Having just returned from a first trip to both Sri Lanka, and the Bentota Beach Hotel,(not to be confused with the Bentota Beach Club, which is, I believe is not as nice) I wish I had stayed longer in both. Sri Lanka is an amazing and beautiful country (even in the rainy season), but the hotel made the stay perfect.

Through a minor booking error, we started off in a standard room, (having booked a deluxe) and ended up being upgraded to a suite. The standard room was excellent, with balcony, and views over the gardens and sea beyond. Well equipped and had everything we needed.

We opted to upgrade to all inclusive as it appeared at a reasonable price, and were not disappointed. The food in the main buffet restaurant was excellent, with a choice of probably 30/40 main dishes each meal to choose from. A lot of different curries, but also a wide variety of European food as well..

What really made our stay extra special however, was the staff. Although considerably overstaffed by European standards, every single one was friendly, efficient and happy to chat to all the guests. We also spoke to the manager, Marlon, who took the trouble to come over and introduce himself on our first day, and spoke with us on 3-4 occasions during the week.

A week in Sri Lanka is not enough, although getting around is not the easiest thing in the world. It's not a large island, but the average journey time in a taxi or bus is probably down to 20mph due to the insane traffic. Tuk Tuks and motor cycles abound, and driving standards would get most arrested within minutes in the UK.

Overall, a thoroughly enjoyable stay, and we hope to return before to long.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lochspouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

It is a great honor to see that you were happy with our services rendered.
At the Bentota Beach Hotel, all colleagues makes every effort to maintain the high standards of timely and quality service delivery and we are delighted that we have been successful in achieving this during your stay with us.
Thank you also for the recognition of our standards and your kind words about the efficiency and friendliness of our Management and the staff, your compliments will definitely be shared with the team.
Look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Good Location. Rooms are big and well maintained. Hotel is next to the beach but our room did not have sea view. Night there was electricity tripped in our room which was not resolved in time. Group check in took little time. Overall good experience will visit again.


We stayed in 2011.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VishwasJoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for choosing Bentota Beach Hotel. We would like to pass you our utmost appreciation and thankfulness for taking the time to publish your fabulous review regarding your recent vacation at Bentota Beach Hotel and that you found it as good as ever.

We look forward to having you and your family back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bentota hotels
0.5 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 26 in Bentota
921 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bentota Beach by Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentota Beach by Cinnamon

Address: Colombo-Galle-Hambantota-Wellawaya Highway | Galle, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bentota
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#7 Spa Hotel in Bentota
Price Range: £1 - £1 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bentota Beach by Cinnamon 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the southern coast of Sri Lanka, Bentota Beach by Cinnamon is the perfect getaway from the buzzing city life. The resort specializes on water sports and other adventures at its own Water Sports centre with a variety of activities such as wind surfing, jet skiing, and banana boat riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Bentota Beach by Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentota Beach Hotel Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing