We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace or adventure, take your pick!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Bentota
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Peace or adventure, take your pick!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I stayed at the Bentota Beach Hotel for 2 nights, 3 days in June 2014. we were a group of 4 girls and we fell in love with the place from the word go! It's a beautiful property, with so much to do. Everything is so perfect, the rooms, the beach, the food, the staff. They have a perfect spa and a private beach for you to relax, and some great adventure sports and water activities (we tried the jetskii and the boat safari into the mangroves). We saw some monitor lizards and baby alligators on the way.
I would like to mention that their buffet spreads were great, good on taste and variety. The staff was more than helpful, and the best part was, we went during off-season, so we got a great bargain on room rates. I would definitely recommend both Bentota and the Bentota Beach Hotel to anyone who is looking for a holiday at a place that is not over-crowded and offers great hospitality.

Room Tip: Opt for the rooms near the reception area, on the first floor, for a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chayanika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
We are truly excited to know that you had a great vacation while enjoying the beautiful surroundings, delicious food & beverage offerings and great service provided by our dedicated associates.
Be assured that we will share your excellent comments with all our colleagues and they will most certainly be proud to know that they were able to make this stay extra special for you.
Once again, thank you very much for your preference and we hope we will be able to welcome you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    526
    518
    227
    96
    70
See reviews for
476
524
41
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed in the resort for 2 nights. The rooms were average, but the location, pool, beach etc were excellent. The highlight of this property is the Buffet Spread they had for Breakfast and Dinner. We had a very friendly restaurant manager who arranged for a birthday cake for one of our friends with short notice and at no extra cost!.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RajeshGopinathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
We are very pleased to hear your great experience on your holiday.
It is very important that you feel the essence of experiencing different and memorable holiday here in Bentota Beach Hotel.
Thank you very much for sharing the comments on the TripAdvisor and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gampaha, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is my first bad experience in a five star hotel went to there as a company annual trip.There was no ventilation in the room,moisture all over the roof and floor.Even the tv did not work.The only thing to satisfy was the pool environment open spaces to beach and river.Food was kind of ok,but not have the variety which own to beach resorst.I would not recommend to this hotel at all there are resorts better than this in benthota area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank malikPathirana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for taking your valued time to write about your experience of your stay at Bentota Beach on TripAdvisor.
We regret that your stay at Hotel did not meet your expectations.
Thank you once again for your constructive feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back, trusting that we could deliver the expected service on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

It was for a single day FB with an extra lunch. Huge hotel, space with friendly and well attended staff. We had a bulb going off in the wash room and it was fixed on a single notice. Floor room service did checked if we wanted fresh towels or tea/coffee even it was a single day stay and we had good food with 1 open and 1 en-closed pools having both beach and river accessible at the same time. Worth It! Aha - and the cinnamon smell ;) It is Cinnamon now.

Room Tip: It is biased - upstairs are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kumudu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you so much for such an enthusiastic feedback regarding your stay with us!
We collectively take a lot of pride in our service, and it's only capable through our colleagues.
We'd very much like the opportunity to look after you and your family again, with some added special attention.
We thus thank you again for having shared us your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chennai
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Although the property has become old, the hotel is well maintained. But it is time, at least the rooms are upgraded with more modern facilities. Superb beach resort hotel with lots of activities available. One can watch the beautiful sunset idling on the beach chairs. The beach is clean and well maintained. The restaurant spread is extravagant for both breakfast and dinner with very prompt and courteous service. Nice place to stay and require at least 3 days to enjoy all activities in this resort hotel.

Room Tip: Just check if the AC is in good working condition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonees71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
It is such a great pleasure to read about your satisfaction of the recent stay here at Bentota Beach Hotel.
We are so glad to learn that we have been able to meet your expectations!
We all hope that you will enjoy relaxing surroundings and our facilities soon again and we thank you for sharing such a positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

It is a beach resort, let it be the food, the pool and the beach,
Rooms, Very small bathrooms on the downside, but however the bed and the selection of the pillow menu, was quite an enchancement.
The food was marvelous during all times.
The pool was okay,
Big garden, very ideal for children with a play area.
Overall good for relaxation and food lovers

Room Tip: High floor rooms are nice with the balcony Travel during a high occupancy, the buffet will be on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chubbacheesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking time to review the facilities of Bentota Beach Hotel
It is our pleasure to note that you had a good time during your stay in the hotel and we are looking forward for your revisit in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Bentota Beach Resort is v v nice property. Our view was lake side and the staff readily agreed to provide. Also since it was our anniversary they decked the bed with fresh flowers and gave a very pleasant surprise. The food was good and they were willing to even do changes in set menu since my partner is pure veg. Breakfast too was good and they had some in-house games too.Though we did not indulge in it but the hotel had nice greenery and we went to the beach in late afternoon...nice and clean towels and everything was organised...

Room Tip: I stayed in May -2010...I did not see an option how to select the duration when you stayed. I think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashish d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor.
We read with very much delight, that our team could make your stay fantastic holiday and we thank you especially for the lovely, praising words regarding our facilities and services.
It would be our sincere pleasure having you visiting us in the future and we would be most obliged to assist you in arranging your future reservations with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.5 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
#1 of 1 in Moragolla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cocoon Resort & Villas
Cocoon Resort & Villas
#3 of 9 in Induruwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 23 in Bentota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bentota Beach by Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentota Beach by Cinnamon

Property: Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Address: Colombo-Galle-Hambantota-Wellawaya Highway | Galle, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#7 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bentota Beach by Cinnamon 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the southern coast of Sri Lanka, Bentota Beach by Cinnamon is the perfect getaway from the buzzing city life. The resort specializes on water sports and other adventures at its own Water Sports centre with a variety of activities such as wind surfing, jet skiing, and banana boat riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bentota Beach by Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentota Beach Hotel Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing