We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We stayed three nights at bbh. The...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Bentota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We stayed three nights at bbh. The...”
Reviewed 9 August 2010

We stayed three nights at bbh. The location was nice. The service was horrible. Staff, especially the receiptionests were very disrespectful. Try to accept a receptionest deliberately ignoring you and shouting at you. Our laundry took three days to arrive. The minibar and restaurant prices are high. Swiming pool was less than the surrounding hotels. I'd never stay there again unless there is no other choice.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    526
    518
    227
    96
    70
See reviews for
476
524
41
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nj
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2010

stayed at this hotel in may 2010, for 5 days. i was there with my wife and two kids. we had a very relaxing time there. i agree that hotel needs upgrading but it is not shabby. we had a minor problem with AC in on of our rooms. they gave us another room immidiately.the staff were curteous and very friendly. they were not after tips as some people had mentioned. we thaught the food was good.it was buffet style. when we left bentota, we stayed at taj at gall face. apparently we had left some money in the hotel room. the roomboy handed over the cash to the management and they tracked us down at our new hotel. money was returned to us. we are from US. i don't think we will never see this money again if it was in a US hotel. we rewarded the roomboy for his honesty .

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avatarNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

I have just returned from a 10 night stay at the BBH and all in all left satisfied.

As previous posts have mentioned the hotel is at the stage where it would benefit from a makeover, this is not to say it is scruffy, it just requires updating.

To me the staff are the asset of this hotel, with the exception of 1 or 2 of the bar staff in the lounge bar and pool bar who were incredibly rude, hostile ( more so if you were all inclusive ) and couldnt care less about serving you.

The room we were in was a superior room, we were in a standard room for the first day and it would appear the only difference is location and bath robes, not worth paying extra for.

The choice and quality of food is excellent and any previous posts slating the food are talking nonsense, I have eaten in Michelin star restaurants where the service and quality are less than here, however the buffet style does start to wear thin due to the fact you tend to over eat and appreciate less.

The drink offered on AI is poor, the local wine is palatable but i would question the alchohol content likewise with the beer, unless of course I have suddenly refound my youth and am now able to drink for Scotland again ! The local spirits are acceptable but with rough edges !

The pool and gardens are great and also an asset to the hotel, however why oh why do they only have 4 tatty parasols is beyond me. Why they do not have waiting staff serving drinks around the pool is another mystery ( the staff could earn a fortune on tips alone ). On the last day someone did come round wondering if we wanted ice cream, this should be everyday.

The beach is fantastic with good long walks possible in both directions, however, DO NOT swim in the sea, the red flags are not there for decoration as a British father and son discovered during our stay !!!!

Entertainment is quite simply, awfull, be prepared to make your own. The Bob Marley lookalike whilst good needs to increase his repertoire to more than half a dozen !!

To make your stay more enjoyable be prepared to tip, waiting staff, pool boys, barstaff, room boys etc. Allow yourself 500 rupees( £3) per day for tips and this will more than pay for itself. We found that by giving the room boy a small tip each day ensured you wanted for nothing and your decorated turned down bed would be a work of art. Tipping the waiting ensures Ice Cream is available everyday instead of just weekends !!
Tipping the pool boy ensures you always have a sunbed with parasol in prime spot.

Most importantly, treat the staff with respect and you will learn a bit more about their culture, do not treat them like servants which we witnessed on more than one occassion, they are the freindliest people you will ever meet.

Special mention must go to the front of house staff who are the biggest asset to this hotel with their friendly and helpfull cheery attitude.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forestry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nilgiris, Tamil Nadu
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2010

In July 2010 I took my family consisting of my wife and 2 teenage children to Bentota on a family holiday. We decided to stay at the Bentota Beach Hotel for 3 nights as I have travelled on work to Colombo a few times and have always stayed at John Keels - Cinnamon Grand Hotel where I have had only great experiences with service and food quality!
Although the Bentota Beach Hotel was informed that we would be reaching around 2 pm while booking, as the travel from the airport took longer than anticipated we reached around 4.30 PM. To our utter dismay the two rooms booked were still not ready! We were provided one room to hang out in and made to wait over an hour for the other room while it was cleaned!
As I have had great food at John Keels - Cinnamon Grande Hotel at Colombo I expected the same quality of food at BBH and had booked for a full board stay. The food quality to say the least was poor and the menu NEVER changed much to the 3 full days we spent there! Some items from lunch was produced at dinner as a different dish which tasted no better! I sincerely wished I had not asked for full board as we could have had Ala Carte which would have been marginally better - I hope. As food quality was so poor the family ordered extensively through room service.
The rooms are far from satisfactory for the price paid as lighting systems were constantly breaking down and complaints made no difference. Bathrooms were poor with shower cublicles leaking thus wetting the entire bathroom! One of the rooms provided was absolutely basic and not of the standard expected of a John Keels property. Intercoms at BBH were not working!! Calls to room service would end up in restraunts, calls to operator at the front desk and complaining was a waste of time!
The over all holiday at BBH was a disaster and the only saving grace was our 3 nights at Cinnamon Grand - Colombo where we all had a great time to salvage the family holiday.
The SPA was dark, gloomy and lacking hygiene - although the treatment my wife and I had was acceptable.
This property of John Keels definitely needs major renovations real soon other wise no guest will return. I will return to Bentota but to BBH .............NEVER!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BOPANA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2010

The hotel is designed in the style of an ancient Dutch fort and is situated between the Bentota River and the Indian Ocean. The hotel has all the usual facilities plus a shopping arcade, sports centre and a health centre. Water sports take place on the river.
Food and lodging are of good quality. My room was clean & spacious with a lovely balcony. The furnishings were a bit dated & worn though.

The hotel grounds are beautifully laid out with lawns, flower beds, dinning areas, pools and plenty of sun beds amongst the many palm trees. The grounds open on to the beach via a guarded gate. Apart from tourists, the grounds are home to lots of palm squirrels, these little creatures are a delight to watch as they scamper about.

Its relaxing atmosphere and friendly staff made this hotel an ideal place to spend a few days after a tour of Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TBFWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2010

when i was going to Galle with my Friends, i wanted to see some hotels around. so i went to Bentota Beach Hotel to see some rooms. A nice & slim lady came out from the reception and offered us a quick welcome. she has Shawn us several rooms and the property. when we were talking to her , she said her name is Navoda. she spoke to us very friendly and professionally. i understood that Nawoda has a good knowledge about the hotel. I realy want to come and stay there. when we returned to the lobby she offered us a welcome drink to have a refresh . I think the over all staff is giving a nice service like Navoda to keep up your standard . I hope that Bentota beach will give anybody very pleasant stay with there professional staff and beautiful location

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smilevacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2010

interesting architecture...our room was facing the bay...the view was amazing.. spacious beautiful room with balcony.. very elegent... the beach is incredible ..especially the view from the beach to the hotel...
if you are holidaying in sri lanka and you need to be at a beach resort..this is simply of of the best!

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rajdking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.5 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
#1 of 1 in Moragolla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,581 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cocoon Resort & Villas
Cocoon Resort & Villas
#3 of 9 in Induruwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 23 in Bentota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bentota Beach by Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentota Beach by Cinnamon

Property: Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Address: Colombo-Galle-Hambantota-Wellawaya Highway | Galle, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#7 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bentota Beach by Cinnamon 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the southern coast of Sri Lanka, Bentota Beach by Cinnamon is the perfect getaway from the buzzing city life. The resort specializes on water sports and other adventures at its own Water Sports centre with a variety of activities such as wind surfing, jet skiing, and banana boat riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Bentota Beach by Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentota Beach Hotel Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing