We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning in the most understated way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2012

This hotel is beautiful. I stayed here, with my boyfriend, in December 2011, when it had just opened as Avani Bentota (in its previous incarnation, it used to be called Hotel Serendib). While parts of the hotel weren't open at the time, and we had to deal with initial service quality issues since the staff were all trying to figure out how different things worked - our stay was still amazing. The hotel architecture was designed by Geoffrey Bawa, an iconic architect who contextualized modern architecture for the tropical setting. It's almost like the hotel invites the environment - the trees, the heavy sea breeze - into the hotel.

The recently renovated rooms are luxuriously modern. The business center carries a collection of movies for a romantic evening in front of the 40 inch LCD TV. The shower looks into the room through a glass-panel for amorous honeymooners (gay or straight).

Stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dxbtraveller28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,520)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,255 - 1,261 of 1,521 reviews

Reviewed 29 February 2012

The room we had was very large and comfortable.
A very nice bathroom with rain shower and hot water.
Great pool area looking onto the beach.
The food was very good from the restaurant to the buffet.
The staff were also very friendly in the restaurants and reception area.
My only complaint is the constant waiting around by the staff for a tip.
My husband and I like to tip but we can't tip everyone we come in contact with.

Elizabeth Hall
Sydney Australia

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 1954Elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I stayed at this hotel from 25th January - 15th February, this was my first trip back following the recent renovation. (I have stayed at the hotel prior to the refurbishment 21 times). I stayed in a deluxe room, the room was very spacious, very comfortable, and the housekeeping was just excellent. The original pool area is surrounded by wooden decking, which is not of the best quality, some of the decking is already lifting, also it is very uncomfortable to walk on as it gets so hot in the midday sun. The second pool is situated directly in front of the restaurant, I have to be honest that I did not particularly enjoy watching guests walking around in skimpy swimwear right in front of the dining tables whilst I was eating. The main dining area is open plan on two levels, however, the ground level only has seating capacity for 50 guests, so I would advise that you get there early, otherwise you will be up and downstairs to get your food, as food is served buffet style on the ground level only. The food, although it is of a good quality it is uninteresting, and repetitive, with a limited choice. The other point to make that access to the main dining area is in the main uncovered on many occasion we had to make out way to dinner under cover of umbrella's or just get wet.The entertainment is not that good and often there is no entertainment in the evenings.The drinks are too expensive, and the overall cost of the hotel is in my opinion expensive, to justify the cost they really need to up all aspects of service provided not just the rooms as they seem to have done. Little thought seems to have been given to disabled access, as most areas i.e access to the lounge area from the garden area is up a small step, there is no ramp in situation, the same applies to the access to the dining area. etc;. I would very highly recommend the driver Raja De Alwis, he is the perfect gentleman, a very very careful driver, who goes out of his way to ensure that you get the most out of every trip you go on with him, he is very knowledgeable, giving you time on your own to enjoy your days out, but ensuring your total safety at all times. Very reasonable costs charged.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are very spacious, the only difference between the deluxe and the superior rooms is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We spent 8 nights in this very nice hotel (January 8-16). We were positively surprised when we entered the main gate. The impression of the resort was new, clean and perfectly renovated. We had a superior room which was huge with more than enough space in the wardrobes, a separate lounge area and a big bathroom with shower and bathtub. The TV entertainment system is up to date and includes VOD and a large variety of TV channels (free WLAN in superior rooms!). The service by the hotel staff was great, always friendly and willing to help (of course expecting tip) in the end. The food was very nice although the buffet was not the biggest one we have seen in Sri Lanka. The outdoor installation was nice and tidy with two pools. There were more than enough sunbeds but the hotel was poorly booked during our stay. We did not use the Spa area because of the high prices (you can fiend excellent treatments for a far lower price outside the hotel). The fitness room was small for a 4.5 -5 star hotel. The overall impression was excellent also due to the very friendly and familiar service. Prices are high for Sri Lanka. As always in a hotel of the category you pay too much for drinks etc. compared to the local price level.
We booked the Miracle Dinner at the beach on the last night. It was very impressive although we noticed that the staff was still very unsecure as we had been the 2nd couple to book it since the hotel was re-opened. But it's worth doing it and they were trying to make it a once-in-a-lifetime experience.
Overall feedback: Completely satisfied! We would book it again anytime.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CCstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We arrived into this hotel over 3 hours early and was greeted with Mr. Thissa who checked us in within 10-15 minutes. We were allowed to go to our rooms early and was very happy as having had to endure a 4 hour car journey from Kandy, we couldn't wait to relax. First impressions of this resort is modern and chic. It has all the qualities of what a resort should have. The main reception area is cool and airy and the view of the lawn, pool and ocean is gorgeous. Our room was a perfect size and had a view of the lawn and ocean with a balcony (1st floor). The Bathroom has a rain shower and a very good size. The king size bed is very comfortable and the room in general was spacious. The downside of the room was the AC which was so loud that you couldn't sleep with it on, and the ceiling fan looked wobbley and about todrop! So the room was uncomfortable late nights when it was hot. The restaurant which served buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner was good and had a variety of items to suit everyone. The resort also has a more standard restaurant with a more set menu and also has a separate bar. Only sad thing was there wasn't much with fish on the menu.The beach is faultless! It's clean and clear and beautiful. Only prblem is the hawkers and beach attendant who feel they can always come upto and force a sale on you, but you do learn to grin and politely decline and they do leave you alone after. The staff and friendly and polite and very helpful. Only other problem were the cleaning staff..our room was missed cleaning twice, and was told that they were busy??!! Our room was in the middle of the first floor, so not sure how only ours was missed. Also they never do the room all in one go, and they keep knocking on the door to one more thing. So after a long day on the beach, when you want to retreat back to the room, remember to put the 'do not disturb' sign, otherwise you will be disturbed. Also if you do forget to put the sign and you don't answer the door after 3 knocks, they will come in!!! So this was rather annoying. The hotel setting is lovely and we stayed there for 7 nights and enjoyed everyday. The hotel also help with booking taxi's as we went for a day trip to Galle, which is a must! The hotel souvenir shop is very expensive and I wouldn't buy anything from the shop unless you really need to. Also bring insect repellant as the rooms did have little gaps and the little plugs they provide is not as efficient. The price of the room with breakfast was expensive, but we found it worth the price. Our only downside is we didn't pay full board as we did eat in lunch and dinner at the hotel. We did venture out and didn't see anything worth eating at (though I'm sure there is?) however an eat as much as u want buffet was ok and we had no problems.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ansu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Stayed at Avani Bentota for one Night in Jan 2012. The hotel staff were very friendly and obliging. Check in and room allocation was done within 10 minutes of arriving. You get a nice view of the ocean when you enter the lobby area and the open spaces are great! The pool area was was very nice, with the hotel having two pools for the guests convenience. The rooms were nicely done but i think the most convenient rooms are the ones near the pool in the ground level as the room terrace open up near the pool deck. The rooms at the top most level are a bit smaller than the rest. Nice flat screen TV's in the room and the rooms comes with adapters etc.. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and we had a great nights rest!!
Food needs to improve at the hotel a lot!. The buffet Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner did not have much choice compared to hotels such as Bentota Beach, Tranz or Lighthouse. The food was also very bland and tasteless. Usually hotels have some meat action station in those regions for dinner and lunch but Avani did not have such action stations. Salad selection was very poor! Food was a BIG disappointment! When you are on holiday you look forward to eating good food!
Food and drink off the menu was very expensive! Not worth the price at all! This seems to be the new trend the hospitality industry in Sri Lanka is adopting in resorts!
This hotel does not have a Elevator and the dinning area can get a little warm when there is no breeze. Hotel should consider installing some fans to keep the air circulating during hot days.

Room Tip: Ground Floor rooms are more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natasha0017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I tried to book this hotel by email. It took quit a while but after some time we got a reply and then replies were always within 48 hours. However we never actually booked as on the day we asked for booking confirmation the hotel increased the prices by over 25%. It was not like we took a long time for confirmation (I guess just a few hours after their offer email) .... Then obviously I booked another hotel (even more expensive to be frank, but no hassle on prices and very quick and professional response) as we are very suspicious on the service when booking process is so bad. Then they came back to offer original prices..... What is this ???anyway we will never stay in this hotel

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MvdK01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.6 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.2 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 26 in Bentota
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
0.8 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
8.1 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa

Address: Bentota, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka (Formerly Hotel Serendib)
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#4 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range: £76 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get away to our Bentota hotel, beach haven. Soak up colonial charm in nearby Galle. Laze by the ocean as AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa combines contemporary style with sun-filled days on the southwest coast. Spice up your appetite with local flavours. Sail gently through the mangroves for a relaxing afternoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avani Bentota Hotel Bentota
Avani Bentota Resort And Spa
Serendib Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing