We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$52
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota(Bentota)
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$57
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$39
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villa 80(Bentota)
US$64
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Saman Villas(Bentota)
US$537
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,639)
Filter reviews
1,639 results
Traveller rating
822
542
177
55
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
822
542
177
55
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreeze restaurantfrangipani restaurantchatters barsri lankasuperior rooma la carte restaurantgreat beachdinner buffetthe ground floorspecial thankspool staffpalm treesfront officetrain linerelaxing holidayrestaurant staffseafood
Filter
Updating list...
1,328 - 1,333 of 1,639 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We called and fixed in advance.
We were given a room on the ground level right across from the beach access.
We reached here absolutely knackered straight from Habarana and ordered some French fries to take the edge out of my kids’ hunger.
The serving staff from the restaurant- Nilantha, gets the dish of fries in his hand with his fingers (obviously) touching most of the fries.
Asked him if they don’t use trays- he answers right back- what for, after all it’s just a plate of fries. Completely taken aback, I asked him why were his fingers touching my food? Prompt reply- so what?
With that he thrusts the bill in my face and asks me to sign.
I search for my husband who luckily is still checking in, we put our bags in a cab and hop to Taj down the road.

The rooms at Avani looked nicely done up and modern/ the bathroom in the room we had been given felt cramped and dark though!
And I am sure this incident doesn’t happen to everyone seeing the rave reviews. But if this one man really couldn’t care less about the food service etiquette or politeness- it has to say something about the hotel in general, as for me always- every single employee of the hotel IS the hotel itself.

They did try to ask what the matter was, but offered no real apologies/request to stay.

We were offered welcome drinks on arrival .
So all the politeness of the reservations/corporate office staff or their own check in staff goes to naught at least with one set of travelers- us.

Room Tip: Please ask for rooms on the first floor as the ground floor ones have serious privacy issues!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MalanAnuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Great location. Nicely designed. Bit of a odd policy on the tv. You have to tell the reception to switch it on if not it won't work! That's soon after you check in.

There is free wifi even though we didn't use it.

Food is average but ok.

Overall - value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VaruniV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Avani was beautiful, a very serene and relaxed feeling at this Hotel. The pools were great, rooms were big and beathrooms were lovely. If your staying Bentota then you should stay here. Only downside is the very expensive food, go HB or AI.

Room Tip: Spa is amazing!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Avani Bentota is a recently renovated hotel and located somewhat in the middle of the Bentota Beach hotel and the Taj hotel hence sharing the same beach.

First impressions were very good, the lobby and reception staff were very welcoming, providing us welcome drinks and a swift checkin. We also got a small surprise voucher of LKR 1,000 ($ 8) that we could use for SPA or dining.

We were given a room on the upper floor and we were impressed with the design of both the room and bathroom, particularly the window in the bath area allowing direct view of the sea.

The main issue we faced was that the AC was not working properly and on our complaint to guest relations we were simply informed that there is a lot of load on the main AC plant and it should start working within half an hour. The AC never started working properly and we had to make do with the fan instead. We had arrived late in the evening after a long and tiring drive and went to sleep immediately waking up in sweat in the morning. On another complaint, the technician arrived and claimed to fix the AC as we left for our breakfast. On our return we found the AC leaking water, thankfully our stuff was not near. After further complaint and waste of an hour we were ultimately transferred to another room on the ground floor.
Other than this shortfall the resort is pretty amazing and just about rightly priced for its star rating (note that the star ratings and prices in Sri Lanka are generally exaggerated and if we compare to Dubai, the sri Lankan 4 star would probably meet the 3-3.5 star rating and so on).

The breakfast spread had a lot of variety and quantity, but avg. quality. One can easily have a brunch here and avoid lunch. Being muslims and not allowed to have pork, we were impressed to see that the chef at the live egg cooking station had a separate frying pan that should not be used with pork, however, a further suggestion from our end would be to use separate utensils, oil and crockery as well otherwise the initiative is lost.

The beach is very close at less than 200 metres from the hotel grounds. The beach was very clean and we were only bothered once or twice by vendors on our 2 day stay, but the sea was very rough for this time of the year. Note that none of the beach hotels in Sri Lanka can actually own their private beach so you may never get the main beach part all to yourselves.

Water sport activities are not offered directly by the hotel but they direct you to a 3rd party vendor that offers such services on the Bentota river at outrageous prices.

Both the swimming pools were nice and clean.

Other recreational activities only include carom and table tennis.

My wife used the SPA and loved the service (thanks Ms. Joy). They have both Thai and Sri Lankan staff.

The grounds and garden are amazingly beautiful and we understand a trademark of the local architect Geoffrey Bawa.

We did not have either lunch or dinner at the hotel restaurants during our stay.

Will definitely return to the hotel when we visit Bentota again.

Room Tip: All rooms have beach/sea view. The ground floor ones have direct access to the ground, but lower privacy on the patio.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Humaid_Ahsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

very nice sceneries.beautiful buildings.the sea adds a fizz to the experience.the food could improve.probably a wider range and better quality would do.if the price staff were very friendly and helpful.but for the price,would expect a bit more.if the price was lower, for this expeirence i would have given 4 stars.

Room Tip: go for the upstair rooms.they have a nice balcony!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank voges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews