We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Kildare
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“wonderful place!”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our travelling around Sri Lanka. This is a beautiful resort - the rooms are excellent, very spacious and lovely views from the balcony. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We loved the pool and it was very close to the beach however there doesn't seem to be much activity on the beach. Buffet food was good - but dinner was too expensive. We really enjoyed our stay

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Thetravelbunny26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    456
    157
    44
    34
See reviews for
441
591
48
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

My husband and I spent some of our honeymoon at the Avani, the service was wonderful- staff were very helpful. The hotel is right on the beach and has two pools. We also enjoyed a beautiful private dinner on the beach- a real highlight. Food in the hotel is somewhat limited in range, although there is a good breakfast buffet selection. We very much enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel for a relaxing beach break.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatMel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Having spent over a week travelling around Sri Lanka, we booked in for a week of relaxation and beach time at the Avani. Room was nice, service was good (most of the time) and the pool/beach access was great and there was stuff/restaurants nearby. They need to work on their wine list - by actually having some of it in stock - but that would be the only negative. Spa treatments were fab too!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This was our first stop in Sri Lanka and was a great way to relax a bit after the long trip. Spa treatments were professional and relaxing and very reasonably priced. Meals, particularly the breakfast, were very good (though the Asian fusion restaurant seemed a bit overpriced). The property is beautiful - a couple of different pools, and even better - the property is right on the beach. We had an awesome view of the ocean right from our bed!

Room Tip: From what I could tell, all rooms face the beach - so it seems like any of the rooms are great! But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Fantastic view, well lit and decorated rooms!! 2 mins walk from the beach. walking distance from the market.

well, i don't have anything to write against Avani except for the fact that they don't have much to offer for Vegetarians at any of their restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SagarJani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed at the Avani at the start of November with my partner and two special friends. The resort was very nice and our room had a lovely pool/sea view. Our room was a bit tired but very clean and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Breakfast was buffet style and my partner had curry for breakfast most days! There is a lot to do around Bentota and going out on the tuk tuks is an experience to be recommended! A lovely place to visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2013

A little corner of paradise to relax before heading home to reality. Lots of things to do around Bentota. Great opportunity to appreciate Geoffrey's Bawa's genius - great to have historic photos and can't recommend highly enough going out to The Secret Garden (his Brothers house) - go by tuk-tuk.

Room Tip: We were upstairs, so had an elevated view, whereas downstairs could be better if children are includ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.6 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.1 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 23 in Bentota
817 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
8.1 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa

Property: AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Address: Bentota, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka (Formerly Hotel Serendib)
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bentota
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avani Bentota Resort And Spa
Avani Bentota Hotel Bentota
Serendib Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing