We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant resort experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We are a family group on a motorcycle tour around Central and Southern Sri Lanka, spending a few days at the end of the ride at this resort. The Avani was designed by famous architect Geoffrey Bawa and has an open tropical feel, very suited to the location. We booked through a travel agent so I can't comment on the communication experience but the front desk people were ever helpful.
The welcome and check-in experience were very satisfactory with prompt service and a cold welcome drink.
We were allocated a room on the 1st floor with a view over the pool and through the trees to the water. The room was quite large with a modern bathroom. There are suites at ground floor level near the pool which are very open but one of our party enjoyed their experience in one of these rooms.
The breakfast provided in the pavilion near the pool provided plenty of choice with freshly prepared eggs of your choice. (If you like an omelet, have the chef take it off the heat early as they like to cook everything to within an inch of its life!).
We did have lunch at the resort which was generally OK but usually preferred to try the local experience and eat at the restaurants a short walk into town. You have to run the gauntlet of tuc tuc drivers near the road entrance to the resort but that's not unusual in Sri Lanka.
We did attend the dinner on the beach which was quite expensive by Sri Lankan standards and as mentioned in other reviews, the food was just OK. Sri Lankan chefs don't seem to know "medium rare" but if you can interrupt the cooking process it is possible to get a steak that still has some life left in it. However, the resort does try to make the experience a memorable one with lots of flares on the beach and a close to the water location. Despite the price and very average food, we enjoyed the experience.
During our ride, I managed to cut my knee quite badly which, in the tropical heat of Sri Lanka became badly infected. Despite attending various clinics and hospitals along the ride, by the time I arrived at Bentota, my knee needed some serious help. The resort doctor Ms Kanchana Munasinge was called a number of times to attend to me, despite interrupting her own weekend plans. She also arranged for various medications to be delivered to me. Nothing was too much trouble. Thanks Doc!
All in all, our party enjoyed the time at Avani.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidUral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,009 - 1,015 of 1,468 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

After touring Sri Lanka we had booked this hotel for 5 days relaxation. Not to keen on the first room we got on the first floor overlooking the pool as the air con did not work to good, however when we talked with reception we were offered other rooms as the hotel was quite. We chose a ground floor room opening on to the garden and it was very quite and perfect.
Breakfast was excellent however very busy when a lot of locals travel to hotel from Colombo for weekends. We ate a couple of times at the ala carte restaurant and found the service and food excellent although very quite and difficult to judge how it would cope when very busy.
There is an excellent restaurant called the Golden Grill just across the railway line from the hotel (leave the hotel main door , turn right and cross railway under the bridge, 50 yards ahead and to the left is the restaurant , 5mins) much better than the name suggests, the Sri Lankan Thali is fantastic .
Caught the train in to Galle for excellent sightseeing but beware the train does not normally stop at Bentota on the return but it only takes 5mins and 100 rupees to get to hotel from main station. Good supermarket in town for any supplies required.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank MandC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I spent one night at Avani Bentota in Dec 2013 and have nothing but amazing things to say about this hotel. My boyfriend proposed to me at Avani and the hotel staff were incredibly accommodating and generous upgrading us to a suite for free. The suite is separated from the hotel and has direct access to the beach. It was spacious,clean and modern with all the amenities including a jacuzzi and free wi-fi. Service was incredible and the staff were all obliging and attentive. They even organized a champagne breakfast for the two of us on the beach following the proposal as requested by my finance.

The hotel itself is beautiful, has two pools and is located on a lovely beach. Having stayed at hotels all over the world from Europe to America this will go down as one of my favorite, thanks to the staff at Avani for making this an incredible and memorable occasion.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Tried to contact the hotel a few days before our arrival to arrange airport transfer but never received a reply (used the email address from their website). The day of our travel I emailed again without success. Not good enough!

Hotel in general is good, room 318 with balcony is good with great view of swimming pool and sea. Mini bar could be better. Walk-in shower great. TV channels limited. Movies for free but limited. Little bit dirty but otherwise a good room with a comfortable and big bed.

Breakfast buffet good. The Chatters Bar (also serving the swimming pool area during day) is substandard. Very slow service and simple food orders took on average 60 min. Longest was 1hr 45min for a club sandwich and a tikka wrap!!! We refused to pay, which was eventually accepted by management (thank you understanding). Not good at making cocktails. In my opinion Chatters Bar is understaffed and they need more training. Frangipani restaurant was overall good although Indian dishes were shown on the menu but was never available (then take it off). New Years Eve party was well above expectations. Great arrangement although the local live band and beauty contest was not to our liking...

Outside the hotel there was nothing much to do after sunset, nor at the hotel (bar was usually quiet). Walking along the long stretches of soft sandy beach was fantastic in the morning and late afternoon. Trains passes by all day and night very near the hotel but is not a problem really. Outside the hotel don't get fooled by the many "tour-guides" that wants to show you around town. There isn't much to see in Bentota. It's great for relaxing at the pool, walking on the beach, surfing/boarding and early nights. Family friendly and a nice spa.

Room Tip: Room 318 has great views and its comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Our family of three (one being a toddler) enjoyed our stay at Avani very much. We were over at Vivanta and wanted to extend our stay, but they were fully booked.

My husband went to talk with a representative at Avani to see if they had any availability and to see the rooms. Sumal showed him a one bedroom suite, which I would call a villa, which was available, and for a lesser price than the deluxe room we had at Vivanta. My husband booked for one night and the next day, we made the switch.

The suite was detached from the main hotel building, nestled near the pool and had beach access. It had a spacious living/dining room, a very large bedroom and enormous bathroom with a jacuzzi bathtub and separate shower. The baby crib was already set up when we walked in. The decor inside was modern, clean and inviting. There was a private patio with wooden chaise lounges. Wifi was also complimentary.

Sumal greeted us upon our arrival in the lobby and took us immediately to the suite so that I could see it for the first time. He then checked us in from the suite, we didn't have to go back to the front desk. There was a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine and chocolates in the suite. We also had our own security guard dedicated to our suite 24/7. Not that this was necessary; we have felt safe during our entire time in Sri Lanka.

The service we received right from the beginning of our stay was exceptional. We decided to extend our stay, and the manager, Tissa, immediately sent over a fruit basket full of delicious fruit. On the second day we received a basket of different bananas from the island.

The resort has a tranquil feel to it. There is a lot of green, open spaces. There are 2 pools and 1 kiddie pool, as well as beach access, which I mentioned earlier. While the amenities are nice, it was our villa and the friendly hospitality of the staff that made our stay so enjoyable. I would definitely stay at this resort again and would recommend it to family and friends.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Lexo467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We came back to avani bentota after one year . The property is as nice and the set up beautiful . Sadly the services quality felt deteriorating while they were not really highest class last year either. We have been welcome by a very nice young lady and even though she was professional and willing to help , the resort did not have our note from the time of booking re our wish to book us ground floor . We booked with the company directly in Colombo , they promised us to book us ground floor,but they obviously just promised without doing much more. They did not seem to have been attentive enough to communicate clearly with the staff in Bentota .
We got the 2 rooms we booked on first floor but sadly one was badly smelling smoke of cigarettes. Anyway the nice young lady tried her best to help us but she could not manage better than only one room ground floor out of the two ,we booked. So we gave up to our wish to gave 2 rooms near each other.
The staff at the restaurant need significant education on how to service in a restaurant. One example - we order one bottle of water once , at dinner and the waiter said yes and just sat down at another table joining friends for dinner.... My husband had to go there and push this guy so we get our water bottle.
The quality if food is not great . We have been in quite a few places in Sri Lanka , we have experienced much better.
There was work carried out near our room and on a Sunday afternoon just days before Christmas people were working with drilling machine...
At aprox 200 eur per night during Xmas time , dear Mr manager at Bentota resort I think you need to seriously reconsider if you want to sell the concept of deluxe tourism.
...As well as renovating a bit as the bathroom smells and start showing the mould ...
We did come back second time , but it will not be the third .
It is such a pity fort he great location and beach you have there.
Definitely too high high prices and ranking but in reality one do not get the service accordingly.

Room Tip: If you still want to give it a try , ground floor ,south ,near the pool where you can swim.just a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanaGDhaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The high praise for Avani Bentota is very well deserved. The welcome was great and all the staff were extremely helpful and sincere. Location is very good - right on a gorgeous beach (which is far nicer than the beach in Hikkaduwa). Room was a fantastic size with a very spacious balcony overlooking one of the pools. Shame we couldn't have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.6 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.6 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 25 in Bentota
895 reviews
8.1 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,554 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa

Address: Bentota, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka (Formerly Hotel Serendib)
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bentota
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#4 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range: £92 - £350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get away to our Bentota hotel, beach haven. Soak up colonial charm in nearby Galle. Laze by the ocean as AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa combines contemporary style with sun-filled days on the southwest coast. Spice up your appetite with local flavours. Sail gently through the mangroves for a relaxing afternoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avani Bentota Hotel Bentota
Avani Bentota Resort And Spa
Serendib Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing