We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Bentota
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little piece of paradise”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed for almost 10 days at the Avani Bentota in April 14, and really loved it. Wonderful beach with the most amazing sunsets, and you're also far from Beach Boys and people trying to sell pareos etc. in case you prefer not to be bothered.
Nice design of the building and rooms, very clean and good service. All staff were nice and very helpful and most people speak good English and German.
Large variety of both international and Sri Lankan food. We joined a beach BBQ organized one evening for a supplement of 3500 rupees, which was a little on the expensive side, but a very nice atmosphere and high quality food.
As a suggestion to the hotel: why not organize cocktails on the beach for sunset every night?
In Bentota itself, there doesn't seem to be a lot happening in the evening in terms of bars etc. - it's not a place for partying but relaxing.
There is however a big offer of activities like excursions to Galle, river boat trips etc. via local guides.
All in all, we had a wonderful stay and can only recommend the Avani Bentota!
Bentota train station is right behind the hotel - you do hear the trains in the rooms, but we didn't find it disturbing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away as possible from the railway - the trains can be a little noisy especiall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rat-on-the-Road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    653
    447
    156
    43
    33
See reviews for
432
576
46
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed for 5 nights after a 4 day tour round, then onto the Maldives for 5 nights - overall a lovely hotel, made special by the wonderful friendly staff.

Breakfast very good, we ate in the buffet restaurant once, as found the choice great outside the hotel, Golden Grill was very good, as was the seafood restaurant right on the station platform (sounds bad, but was set back!)

We were lucky as spent our last night when Sri Lanka won the t20 final, i went to Gaule on the train to but my Sri Lanka cricket shirt & became an honorary Sri Lankan & cheered them on to beat India, the hotel staff loved it, they all love cricket & i have never met a nation that smile so much & are all so knowledgeable about our great sport of cricket - they all (about 50 of them) came up & shook my hand after the game all thrilled they won & i had my shirt on cheering them on!

Hotel great position - yes the beech boys & traders are a tad tiring, but it their living & soon leave you alone if you say 'no thanks' - Dominic looks a tad scary, but has a great heart, never did any trips with him, but others did & had nothing but praise for him & the trips, so don't worry about handing your 'filthy lucca' over to him, its safe.

Avoid the pool to sunbath in -plastic wood there gets very hot, do as the Germans do -sunbathe under the trees (much cooler) - some lovely Germans there, but also a scattering of the usual rude french, who didn't seem to understand 'self service' means just that at breakfast, not snapping their fingers for staff to get theirs for them (very rude nation as a whole sadly) - don't be put off by that as more Brits & Germans who both must be embarrassed by them!

Great Hotel, very clean & had a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Pleasantly enjoyed the stay at Avani Bentota! Having stayed at the other two next door, found the service to be more consistent and special mention to Ajith at the bar who made cocktails even remembered and informed others who to do them before his shift ended. Brilliant service. Definitely resort of choice now in the South.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pas_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DElhi
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We reached Colombo and all we knew that our next destination is Bentota. We had not booked any hotels. Thanks to tripadvisor again, we booked Avani for one night and thought we will check out the next day to a better hotel. But we were really mesmerized by the property and hospitality as we reached there. The rooms, the location, the view, the facilities, the food, the service everything was just so perfect . We decided to extend our stay in Avani even after seeing the other nearby hotels. You take back a lot from the experience than what you pay.

Room Tip: Book through tripadvisor for better deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SumitaMalakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stayed at Avani 15night staff brill food brill in all fantastic holiday will go again in February 2015 cant wait Location good white sandy beach and less. then five minutes walk lots of good restaurants and places to see had a job to spend my money meal for two plus drinks fifteen to twenty English pound and no bad tummys in the two weeks we stayed

Room Tip: All rooms are good ground floor is better for the over sixties
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Henry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

After 4 weeks of sight seeing, it was pure pleasure to stay at Avani resort. For four days we never left, even to go to the town. We ate at the bar and at the A-la-carte restaurant, swam at the pool, walked along the beach and just enjoyed being pampered.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nili O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka, null, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

It is an excellent hotel. The hotel was very big, rooms were big as well and had sea and swimming pool viewing balcony. Good washrooms. Apart from the great rooms the swimming pool was great, the garden area was very big and you can relax in the garden which in also sea viewing. The restaurant served very good local and international food. Both dinner and breakfast was awesome. I would highly recommend this hotel if it fits your budget!

Room Tip: All the rooms are ocean and swimming pool facing, higher floor rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taufique H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.6 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.1 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Cocoon Resort & Villas
Cocoon Resort & Villas
#3 of 9 in Induruwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
3.1 mi away
Pandanus Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 23 in Bentota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa

Property: AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Address: Bentota, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka (Formerly Hotel Serendib)
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bentota
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avani Bentota Resort And Spa
Avani Bentota Hotel Bentota
Serendib Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing