We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel, needs a bit more of vegetarian food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing hotel, needs a bit more of vegetarian food”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel from the 15th of may till the 18th of may. I had a blast staying here and all the staff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel itself was amazing and very well maintained! The access to the beach was very easy and even the rooms were superb and super comfy. My only problem with the hotel is that during breakfast and dinner the variety for vegetarian food was very limited and hence I had to go almost straight to desserts. Plus the service when asked for water, spoons etc when we were at the buffet could have been better. Otherwise a great place to go for a holiday and would love to recommend it!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Vishisht B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    456
    157
    44
    34
See reviews for
441
591
48
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Firstly, the good points which add up to the rating. Beautiful setting, pools and beach are fantastic, rooms clean, everything works, staff are friendly and helpful. Food good, drinks not expensive, hawkers are kept off of the promises. Only 75 rooms so no fighting for sunbeds. Of course, if you go off site you will get pestered but it is honest and good natured and there are bargains if you have the patience, if not polite and firm usually does the trick. We were upgraded to half board because of refurbishment, which saved searching too hard for good restaurants, of which there are few.

Now the problem. Whoever decided to build a hotel between the main Colombo/ Galle railway line and the beach needs shooting. The hotel is no more than 5 meters from the busiest railway in the country, worse still the track is on a bend and totally unfenced. Consequently every train sounds it's horns, no matter if it's 0100, 0300, 0500. As the rooms are not soundproofed, it is a real pain. Trust me EVERY train.

I can't.blame the hotel as all of the other beach hotels have the same situation, we met people from three other hotels who commented the same. After the first two nights we got used to it, but there is no denying it is something that would make us think twice about a revisit.

Siestas are a must.

Room Tip: Ask for one in the reception block with a sea or pool view. I can only assume it is better. Or take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peterrexwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLML, Manager at AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving your thoughts about your recent stay with us. We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed the property, our service and facilities. As you correctly mentioned, the southern coastal belt has some of the best beaches in Sri Lanka as well as rail tracks which travel close to them, laid hundreds of years ago. Therefore, even though we have less than 15 trains that go through the Bentota station within the course of a day, most guests staying in hotels on the coastal belt can experience train travel, and this provides our guests with a wonderful opportunity to use the rail to visit the UNESCO declared world heritage site of Galle where the charm and the beauty of colonial Sri Lanka is still evident and unblemished for most part. The heritage left by the visiting Portuguese, The Dutch and the English Sailors is still captured inside the walls of the old fort. You can also access the low country tea estates in the Galle district which produces some of world’s finest tea flavors and the journey in the rail is in itself a very cost effective way of travel enriched with local experiences.

We hope you will consider staying with us in the near future and savour the local experiences which I am sure will add more value to your holiday. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you require any assistance in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Roshan Adihetty
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modiin Israel
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We spent our last three nights in Sri Lanka at this hotel. The service and cleanliness, as in Sri Lanka in general, is very good, with smiling staff who do their best. Other positive points are the location - a nice beach, although the ocean was too rough for bathing during our visit, and two great pools. Breakfast is fine but the dinner menu needs refining, including the addition of dishes suitable for the Western palate. (In addition to my husband and myself, there were many Europeans at the hotel during our stay.) Unfortunately, the air conditioning in our large deluxe room could not be adjusted and so it constantly blew on us. In addition, we had reserved a deluxe room with a view, but the view from our room gave us only a peek at the ocean.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a clear view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArnaModiinIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent location just on the beautiful beach. Hotel still struggling with its restaurant...very quick check in and friendly staff.
very good value for money. Blue Bird Tuctuc Neil very reliable for going around.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hala7atem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Location: On a long clean almost empty stretch of golden sand at Bentota
Property: Low rise pretty buildings in the main but easy to get lost in spaces and corridoors. Very pretty formal restaurant building. Lots of coconut palms planted around with addition of cheeky chipmunks everywhere
Service: Good to excellent - housekeeping totally professional , warm and helpful throughout including with a couple of difficulties, restaurant and bar staff a bit mixed in warmth and speed
Food: Breakfast quite good although fresh juice extra, lunch ok but more western than expected, bit disappointed with formal restaurant - food fine and presented beautifully but lacked flavour
Rooms: Pleasant light and airy with view overlooking large pool and sea
Facilities: Well maintained pool surrounded by palms, good spa - massages worth a visit
Overall: Very good just not stunning. Great beach worth walking both directions for an hour. couple of sellers but very nice products and people and they don't hassle you. Body boards can be hired on beach - decent guys and boards. Worth going into town for food

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seapink12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel in April 2014. first the good points; the breakfast is good, pool is big and nice, beach in Bentota is very nice. In the rooms the beds are very comfortable. Location is just between railroad and the beach, so noice from passig trains is quite loud, luckily not too often.

Then some points that where somewhat annoying.
The hotel has only one policy for checkout delay i.e. 75$. In our case 5 hours. It was almost 50% of the room price.
The drinking water / tee water in the breakfast or dinner was having quite a strong side tast.
We ate only once in the hotel, we found the restaurants in Bentota from tripadvisor ranking list much better and cheaper.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank tes183u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Our family visited here to spend the day. The staff was friendly and helpful, except the dark women who was serving in the dining area, who was really inefficient and unfriendly. The food was good. And the rates were reasonable. We had a nice time. I recommend this place.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank bunty r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.6 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.1 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 23 in Bentota
817 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
8.1 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa

Property: AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Address: Bentota, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka (Formerly Hotel Serendib)
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bentota
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avani Bentota Resort And Spa
Avani Bentota Hotel Bentota
Serendib Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing