We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Beach Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good Beach Experience”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We went there for a week end and enjoyed our stay. The property is located on the beach and all rooms have close access to the beach. Unfortunately for us the weather was not that favorable but the room with balcony facing the sea was very relaxing.
The pools are nice and spacious and the food was ok. The service was very good with modern facilities in the room.
However we felt housekeeping was a bit negligent as we found several short falls in the standards maintained in the room.
Some of the items listed on the Menu were not available at frangipani returant and that was disappointing but the restaurant staff was very courteous.
Two small water bottles were complementary but considering the quality of water in the area I did wish they were a bit more generous with the water.
We enjoyed the staff courtesy who was always willing to help right from the reservation to departure.
Overall our stay was good and would have been excellent if not for the few short comings mentioned

Room Tip: I believe all rooms are facing the beach.. The higher categories seemed more spacious but overall we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dhanishka D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    668
    456
    157
    44
    34
See reviews for
440
590
48
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed 2 nights in a deluxe room. Our room 115 was on the ground floor and was very spacious and clean with a direct view of the beach. A walk across the lawn and you're at the beach. One of the few places in the south west coast of Sri Lanka that has not being eroded by the sea. We were well looked after by the staff especially, Mahesh. Tried both the restuarants, Frangipani and The Breeze.The only problem I had was that everytime I turned on the espresso machine it would trip the power off in the entire room. Overall it was a good hotel thanks to the large garden dotted with coconut trees, great beach, 2 pools and reasonably good restuarants.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the garden and the beach to enjoy the sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajeev R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Chill, relax, swim, play, tan, enjoy and dive into this escape haven. Two great pools and a beach at your service! This is the place to be if you're seeking a really good breeze of some free, memorable time. Everyone is laid back and the living is easy!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank salehlzeik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Had cocktails on the beach watching the sunset, lovely experience and excellent value. Great cocktails and canapés with Ranga and his staff. The buffet evening dinner in The Breeze Restaurant is superb, great selection for every taste. Staff can't do enough for you. The hotel is right on the beach and room 131 can be recommended. Facilities include 2 lovely swimming pools and spacious gardens.

Room Tip: All rooms have beach/sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This was our first time at Avani. We booked 2 double rooms and stayed on Saturday night. Did not know what to expect as it was a refurbished hotel formerly known as the Serendib. We liked it very much. The hotel was very clean and had courteous staff. There are two pools very conveniently located and the beach is right outside. Rooms are quite nice. we had some hiccups with the TV. The screen said that everything will be charged, but when we called the front desk they said there will be no charge. One of the staff personally took us to Sunshine Inc .for some fun water sports. There was a cultural performance on Saturday night. Parking is a little away from the hotel, but the area is very safe. Overall, compared to some of the other hotels around, Avani is worth the money.
Ravi
Hong Kong

Room Tip: Downstair rooms allow very easy access to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hkustrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

funtastic service in all areas. location pool, beach, rooms , lobby...relaxing and fresh. it was great stay for us. we enjoyed our stay a lot. staff and everyone is friendly and helpful. we will certainly be recommending to our friends.

Room Tip: rooms on the second floor are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gangapallimulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a ground floor deluxe room which was very large and well laid out. Ample space for two adults and two kids. Staff were very courteous and helpful particularly the staff at Chatters Bar. Try the ala carte menu at the Chatters Bar which has some good dishes. Dinner at the Breeze restaurant was not that great and could improve.

Two nice swimming pools and next two the bentota strip of wide golden beach. The free movies including some new releases in the room tv system kept the kids occupied. The chatters bar is a great place to relax and overall the hotel stay was very pleasant and recommended,



Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Aganthuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.6 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.1 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 23 in Bentota
817 reviews
8.1 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,455 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa

Property: AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Address: Bentota, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka (Formerly Hotel Serendib)
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bentota
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, TravelUp, Agoda, Expedia, Travelbag, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avani Bentota Resort And Spa
Avani Bentota Hotel Bentota
Serendib Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing