We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$168
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$139
US$130
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
US$88
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Saman Villas(Bentota)
US$537
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
US$47
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Janus Paradise Rest(Bentota)(Great Value!)
US$34
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Club Villa(Bentota)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,615)
Filter reviews
1,615 results
Traveller rating
803
538
177
55
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
803
538
177
55
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreeze restaurantfrangipani restaurantchatters barsri lankasuperior rooma la carte restaurantgreat beachdinner buffetthe ground floorspecial thankspool staffpalm treesfront officetrain linerelaxing holidayrestaurant staffseafood
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,074 - 1,079 of 1,615 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The room had a very good view of the beach/Indian Ocean and one could easily spend hours in the balcony lapping up the sound of the waves and breathing fresh air.The hotel has two decent sized swimming pools and staff are very friendly and go out of their way to make guests comfortable. The rooms are spacious and have all the amenities that one would expect. The hotels is situated near a railway station and therefore the noise generated by the movement of trains could be a distraction. I was disappointed by the menu at the Asian Restaurant and hence we decided to eat outside the hotel. The buffet breakfast was of very good quality. All in all a pleasant experience at this resort.

Room Tip: To get a good view of the beach/ Indian Ocean ask for a room on the 3rd floor. On lower floors the view could be obstructed by palm trees
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SudhirG25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The staff was extremely pleasing. We weren't disappointed for a single moment, except when we had to leave. The spa was great, the food was awesome and the customized hospitality is something one won't forget easily

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jyotsana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Avani Bentota for a night after coming from blue water wadduwa. Booked a superior room. When checking in we were warmly welcomed and were guided to our room quickly, but we were not at all happy with the room. the room was crampy, probably the smallest room I've ever been in. Plus points about the room were that It had a great veiw over the pool and the beach beyond it and was equipped with a nice high tech entertainment system. Plus there were no elevators at all in the hotel so you can imagine trying to get a baby stroller up. So we had to leave the stroller in the reception, and I was glad we did because we wouldn't have been able to keep the stroller insidethe room considering it's size. then we went to have Dinner at the pool side restaurant which too was small but was very nicely furnished and the staff there were superb. They quickly provided us with a baby chair and Somebody was always around when ever we needed. Food was pretty good but I wish there was a little bit more of a variety. The next day We called room service for additional water bottles and had to wait for more than 1 1/2 hours and practically scold than to get it. And in the mean time they told us to cheek out by 12. despite the fact we checked in at 5pm on the previous day. Only after having a heated argument with the front office they agreed to give us a couple of hours more. But by then we were pretty dissapointed and wanted to leave soon. So we went for lunch and asked them to Clear the room. Special mentions should be made about Ranga at the restaurant and sumal at the front office. As they were particularly helpful. Will we return? Considering the wonderful experiences we've had almost everywhere else we went to, probably no. !

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Sandun F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Hotel is all open plan, with flowing style that opens up to the main garden, pool and then beach, as would be expected from a sea side resort. has 2 large pools and amazing views from the room we had of the gardens and then beach. Rooms are very modern as would be expected by western standards, good amenities, bar is good. The dining area is a bit small for a hotel of this size, but the food was good.
The costs are on the high end though.

Room Tip: i think most rooms face the sea side, if not request for one that does
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank pavanjugroop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We went there for a week end and enjoyed our stay. The property is located on the beach and all rooms have close access to the beach. Unfortunately for us the weather was not that favorable but the room with balcony facing the sea was very relaxing.
The pools are nice and spacious and the food was ok. The service was very good with modern facilities in the room.
However we felt housekeeping was a bit negligent as we found several short falls in the standards maintained in the room.
Some of the items listed on the Menu were not available at frangipani returant and that was disappointing but the restaurant staff was very courteous.
Two small water bottles were complementary but considering the quality of water in the area I did wish they were a bit more generous with the water.
We enjoyed the staff courtesy who was always willing to help right from the reservation to departure.
Overall our stay was good and would have been excellent if not for the few short comings mentioned

Room Tip: I believe all rooms are facing the beach.. The higher categories seemed more spacious but overall we enjoyed the room. If you prefer privacy opt for a 1st or 2nd floor room with balcony.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dhanishka D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews