We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Property, Memorable Stay in Bentota (Srilanka)”
Review of The Surf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Surf Hotel
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Bentota
Reviewed 28 October 2012 via mobile

I Stayed at this property for 3 Nights starting from 25 th October. We were in a family group of 6 Adults and 5 Children. We got this hotel recomendation from the Queens hotel Kandy where we were staying earlier as it was of the same group. 

The hotel was getting renovated. They were making a new wing and construction work was going on that's why few services were hit back like SPA and health club was not working. WIFI was only in the Lobby and restaurant. This was the reason why we got this hotel at a very heavy discounted price of more than 50%. 

As soon as we we entered the Lobby we were just amazed by the beauty of it. Vert small and very sweetly designed lobby. It was a very beautiful modern lobby of different kind. 

We were greeted by Ms. Sylvia and Ms. Prabha at the front office desk. They are very very courteous and smiles 24hrs a day. They took very little time to get us check in the rooms. 

As soon as we entered the rooms it was chilled from before. I think they have switched on the AC long before. WOW was the word when we entered the room. Beautifully decorated everything what a Five Star hotel room should have was there at proper place. Minibar, LED TV , Black out curtains, Electric Kettle, Electronic Safe. 

The room had a balcony right facing to the sea. Infact all the rooms at this property is having a sea facing. Spectacular views. There were swimming chairs in the balcony which were totally awesome. You can sun bath in your room or you can cozily sit with your partner in the evening and enjoy your drink out there. 

Bed Linens were of very superiors quality. Matress was very soft and pillow was perfect. The linens were spotless bath linens were also of very good quality. 

Bathroom is I must say very beautiful designed. All the accesories in the bathroom were flown in from Italy and China and was very decorated. All the bathroom amenities were there and nothing was missing. 

Buffet breakfast was good and very similar to Srilankan kind breakfast. As we were in a group and we like Vegeterian Indian food so there was not much choice in that. But we requested there head Chef Dinesh for some Indian food and to our surprise he helped us a lot by making indian food for us. Dinesh is very very helpful and was ready to make anything for us. Thumbs up For Chef Dinesh. 

Garden and swimming area is very very beautiful right on the beach and you can enjoy the scenic beauty of sea while swimming or sitting in the garden. 

First of all I would like to say Hats off to the Architecture of the Hotel who has worked beautifully on every single part of the hotel. 

Overall I must say I really enjoyed with my family at this 5 star property. I can say that it is one of the best property in Bentota. I would like to really recommend this hotel to everybody. Full marks to them. A very much thanks to Sylvia and Prabha also who ensured that our holiday is memorable. Superb !!!!!  

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sanchitagarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (865)
There are newer reviews for The Surf Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

590 - 596 of 865 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2012

We stay at 'The Surf - Bentota' approximately a year back and this was definitely the most memorable weekend trip ever for my wife n me. The biggest plus point of this hotel is its location; you are literally just 10 steps from the waves. They have rooms at two levels; and we choose one of the ground floor rooms as you then don't need to make the effort of climbing stairs and getting into the hotel. The rooms are adequately furnished and clean. The hotel has 24hrs security, which is required considering it is on the beach itself. The staff are very courteous, not intrusive but always available for any help. The Surf is located right next to Taj, however is a smaller and much more cozy resort.

The restaurant serves good food, the breakfast buffet spread was pretty good with a fine mix of Continental and Local cuisine. The Devilled prawns are an absolute delight!

One of the major reasons for our stay being so lovely, was because of the Sri Lankan people; they're warm, helpful and always have a smile! Reminds me of the Goa I was brought up, but sadly now commercialized.

So if you are looking for a quiet, romantic getaway; the Surf is the place for you.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aspenrockz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Stayed a week here in February 2012 before going onto the Maldives. The accomodation and service overall were absolutely fine for what we paid. The view from the rooms is lovely across the sand and sea. The rooms themselves were clean and Ok overall. The food in the restaurant again fine along with the service. I would recommend this hotel as long as you are not one of those holiday makers who want it to be 5 star and just like home. If you accept that this is a fairly exotic location and prepared to enjoy the the colour and vibrancy of of something a bit different I doubt you ill be disappointed. We took a 2 day 1 night personal guided tour with Econ tours which I arranged from the UK. Again service was fine and I was able to sort the itinery to be exactly as we wished. A lovely week.

Room Tip: Get a high floor as the view will be better.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimbo0033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

This Hotel is located on the beautiful coast of Bentota, South Sri Lanka and is right on the beach. The Hotel has been refurbished and the rooms are nice, spacious, clean and with a breath taking view of the sea.
If you are looking for a quiet holiday of laying in the sun, reading a book and taking the odd dip in the sea or pool then this is the place to go as it offers little else. If you want to surf there is a surf Board rental place 50 meters down the beach with a great team of local guys who work there and teach. For more active water sports then a brief TukTuk ride away (100 rupees) there is "Tushal" - Sun shine sports center where you can water ski, Windsurf, jet ski etc all on the River. Bentota has plenty of restaurants for eating out and it is nice to try different ones. The dinner in the Hotel is not terrific which is unfortunate so I would recomment B&B rather than H/B and eat out in the evenings. Major pain is that the Hotel also has no WiFi. Only internet connections is 2 lines in the bar area and people sitting around waiting for one to come free. If you need to work whilst on holiday, this is not the place.
Staff are friendly and all in all i think you get what you pay for and i would stay here again, mainly because of the location and the rooms. You need plenty of mosquito protection in the evenings, maybe because of the river but all in all, fair value for money.

Room Tip: Best rooms are on the 2nd flor as you have a balconey. Theones on the ground floor open up straight...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Positivejoojoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

This is a small hotel which makes it perfect if you'd simply want to relax from your every day hassles. Laying by the pool and listening to the sounds of the ocean is priceless. Staff was really friendly and helpful! Kitchen was also great, with a variety of great food every day.

Shops and local stores are only a few minutes away by means of local transportation (tuc-tuc).

If you're looking for a quite and relaxing vacation, this is it. Nonetheless, we went jet skiing and on some excursion to Kandi, which added to the variety of things to do.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viktor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Stayed at Surf, Bentota for 2 weeks from 17.03.2012 found room good with sea view, cleaned everyday , staff very helpful, pool and garden area good, hotel right on beach, Breakfast, good, dinner okay,

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytripper020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We stayed at the Surf for 14 nights arrived home last night 5.3.12 what a wonderful hotel we did have a minor blip when we arrived no room but for one night we had to stay in the family room with our friends the staff were very sorry and tried to amend us with free wine bowl of fruit and a free a la carte meal, next day we were moved to our room we had a lovely room with a beautiful view of the sea on the 3rd floor but we had requested a ground floor room we spoke to Rushan we went to our sunbeds and with in 15 mins he had arranged a move for us, room attendants worked very hard waiters very helpful spoke english ok food was varied and good choice wonderful porridge only thing it tends to be luke warm to cold overall impression lovely friendly hotel they try really hard to please would certainly return one final point it was my partners birthday whilst there they gave us a table with flowers on it free wine a la carte menu and a birthday cake as well as singing happy birthday and then wanted to bring us breakfast in bed, how wonderful is that well done all the staff of the surf

Room Tip: We liked the ground floor rooms but all rooms have sea view
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ikglaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.2 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
0.6 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
7.9 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surf Hotel

Address: Beach Road, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka (Formerly Lihiniya Surf Hotel)
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#6 Family Hotel in Bentota
#6 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range: £58 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Surf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Surf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf Bentota Hotel Bentota
Lihiniya Surf Bentota
Hotel Lihiniya Surf
Lihiniya Surf Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing