We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Surf Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$52
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota(Bentota)
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$57
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$39
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa 80(Bentota)
US$64
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saman Villas(Bentota)
US$537
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (985)
Filter reviews
985 results
Traveller rating
409
307
131
66
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
409
307
131
66
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssri lankabeach facingthe ground floor roomsfirst floorsea viewfront officewelcome drinkswimming poolnice beachindian oceanseafood restaurantthe general managerbentota beachdinner buffetsea foodtuk tukwater sports
Filter
Updating list...
671 - 676 of 985 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This hotel is great in most ways except dinner options and poor coffee quality. Until we insisted on brewed coffee we kept being served instant To make up for this they offered lovely black current juice at the breakfast buffet. The rooms are lovely, well appointed, comfy beds etc. The balcony is outstanding with great quality loungers. The dinner menu is very limited but overall I would gladly return. Rates are very attractive during this off season. Wifi difficult to access in the rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Destinyspeaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Dear Miss,
Thank you very much for your comment about our property. We really do appreciate you mentioning about the challenges you had during your stay with us. I’ll make sure to provide your feedback to our Chef regarding the selection on the dinner menu and look at the ways on how to improve it.

Due to some severe weather conditions, we did experience some problems with our internet provider during July. As a result, we were facing some difficulties with the WiFi connections.

However, we have been able to correct these problems and the connection is much better now. I do apologize for any inconvenience you may experience and hope you won’t come across these problems during your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We spent one night here . Hotel is nothing but excellent. Unbeatable location, friendly and competent staff. The pool and garden were absolutely lovely . Nice, clean room.. had a beautiful view of the beach....Special thanks to Mr...Asela (A.G.M) ..couldn't have been more kind and helpful. he has done a great job in making our stay pleasant @ the surf. Lovely hotel with a lovely view. Fantastic Stay , Highly Recommended !!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank salika j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Salika,

We are very happy to see that you had a great stay while you were at The Surf Bentota. It was our pleasure to serve you and I’ll make sure to pass the message to all our staff about the great compliment you have given. When you decide to come back for a longer stay, please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

"The Surf" is an amazing place for a get away during the weekend, a place where you can just relax and spend time with your loved one.
We stayed there for one night, and wished if we could have stayed longer.
When we reached the hotel, we were welcomed with warm smiles, cold cloth and a cooling drink. The food was very elegant and the main restaurant was very classy. The experience of walking in the pristine shores is similar to walking in clean white snow.
Our stay was a good experience overall with minimum hiccups.
The staff was very friendly (from the security guard at the gate to the head chef at the restaurant) and they were always prompt in their shared concern about our well-being.

There are two things to improve on, 1 - We made four requests for the cushions outside to be replaced as it was soaked with rain water however this was not done.
2 - We checked in at 7pm and asked our bath-towels to be replaced in the morning however this was not done either.

We hope to return and see these improvements.
As are overall experience was VERY POSITIVE ! :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Dear Sean,

Thank you so much for taking the time to make a comment about your visit. I'm so happy to hear that your overall stay was a very positive one. However, I wished we could have made it a perfect stay by attending to the two issues you mentioned above. I will definitely check with appropriate departments about these problems and make sure to improve our service.

Apart from that, it's great to hear that our staff was helpful and courteous to you. We sure enjoyed your company while you were here and I'm so glad I got the opportunity to talk to you couple of times during your stay. Please make sure to visit us sometime in the future and we will make sure to deliver a better experience. If you need any assistance with a future reservation or any other questions, please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed one night and we regretted not staying longer. It is the perfect place to stay next to the beach. The swimming pools are great and well cleaned.There were a nice and cooperative staff. Very friendly people and professional... We had a beautiful view of the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silke A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Dear Ms. Wijesiri,
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are really happy to hear that you and your husband had a great stay while you were here. As you mentioned, all our rooms are overlooking the beach to give every guest the possible view while they are with us.
I'll make sure to inform our staff about your encouraging words about their service and we would love to see you back here again (maybe we can expect three people instead of two next time).
Thank you so much again Aloka, and hope you had safe flight going back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night and hospitality offered from all the staff was really wonderful. I was with my family on holiday @ Surf. Food was fantastic and room conditions were brilliant .


My car had a problem with its ignition in the morning just before our check out.
I would like to give my special gratitude to Asela (GM) and the staff those who went out of the way and help to sort our car imidiately . Many thanks once again to Asela and the staff for taking time for this.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chaminda_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Dear Chaminda,
First of all, I apologize about the delayed response. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed staying in our newly renovated rooms and even the food selection was to your liking. Even when things weren’t perfect (with your vehicle) I’m glad to hear our staff including our GM was able to assist you.
Again, thank you so much for taking the time to adding these comments on Tripadvisor, and we would love to see you again here at The Surf.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews