We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay with access to the beach at all times !”
Review of The Surf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Surf Hotel
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Bentota
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay with access to the beach at all times !”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This was by far one of the best properties.
The rooms are very clean, there are 2 swimming pools well maintained, food is quite good with good options of restaurants. It becomes a lottle difficult for vegetarians though.
Spread of the breakfast is quite good.
The best part about the hotel is the beach. There is a private stretch of the beach .... Very clean and its perfect for taking a dip and surfing too...
The service is not that great, as there are 100 rooms and we went there around a very busy weekend. But, the rest of the positives really negate that!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Esha,

Thank you so much for publishing this review online about your visit to the Surf. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the facilities we offer at our hotel.
Please let us know in what service areas we were lacking so we can make sure to improve our those weaknesses in the future. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience about our property and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    263
    96
    54
    52
See reviews for
278
318
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed at the Surf as we wanted to be on the beach side of the railway tracks. Bentota is a peaceful enough beach and the Surf was right on the beach.
We were only there one night and took the Full Board package, which weirdly isnt actually full-board, rather, only food. I knew this, but was surprised when the restaurant water wasnt included.
The room we stayed in was adequate, well equipped and we stayed here with 2 kids, for which they provided a single bed (our girls are small enough so they could share)
The food was adequate, although lunch was a bit limited. I think the thing I would have liked was more kids activities, there didnt seem to be a lot of thought put into this. Luckily our girls are still happy to just swim in the pool all day, which was right out the front of our room and very clean.
Theres a few shops just outside the hotel, and the general staff were very polite and efficient.
Beach as mentioned was good, although rough, which was expected at this time of year.
Bentota wasnt my favourite spot in Sri Lanka, but The Surf was an okay stay.

Room Tip: All the beach facing rooms seemed okay. Ground floor rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing the service you received while you were at our hotel. we are happy to hear that you and your family had a nice experience during your visit and we will try to add some more activities for our younger guests.
We apologize if there was a confusion regarding your meal plan. We offer full board meal plans and do not have the option for all inclusive packages. So, any additional items obtained during your meals will be billed including bottled water and soft drinks. However, we do provide jug water and tea coffee facilities free of charge during all meals. Again, we hope you had overall a great stay and please feel free to contact us if you need any assistance with a future reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

We are a family of 10 and chose this hotel because of the good reviews. Spoke to Lee (the manager) who was very helpful and very eager to help. Lee provided us with a excellent package that was too good to miss.
The staff was very helpful and always had a smile. We were provided with a welcome drink as soon as we arrived which was quite refreshing. The room given to us was a very clean and a nice room, however there was a problem with the hand shower in the toilet, which was solved within a matter of minutes by the maintenance guy.
The pool was excellent, good size and not that crowded which was great.
Lunch had a variety of international and srilankan cousins, which I and my family throughly enjoyed.
I was quite hard to get a room however Lee sorted us out and was an absolute star.
A personal thank you to Lee for making this day outing a very enjoyable and unforgettable experience...
I will definitely be revisiting this place again wit ma girl.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaam_nazeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Hi Shaam,
It’s so nice to hear from you. First of all, I have to thank you for being so understanding and helping us when we made a last minute request from you. We really appreciate that. Apart from that, I’m very happy to hear that you and your family had a wonderful time while you were at our hotel. Also, it’s good to see that our staff was attentive and took care of the problems right away.
We would love to have you and your family come back and visit us and if you need any assistance in the future, please feel free to get in touch with me. Next time, I’ll make sure you all will have an even better experience while you are at The Surf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

one thing we noticed about this hotel was that it was very clean....a very small room ...nothing much to be commented on. a double bed and a mirror ... no chairs....room opens to the beach.. that's a plus point.
food was not up to the standards we expected.

Room Tip: choose a deluxe room not superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gimhani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Dear Hazel,
We very much appreciate the comment you have published on the TripAdvisor. Our staff always works hard to provide a clean nice environment to all our guests. I’m sorry to hear that you felt that the size of the room size was insufficient and didn’t have any chairs. We do provide chairs to all our rooms and each room is provided with two sunbeds on their own balcony or terrace/patio. However, our “Deluxe” rooms are bigger than the “Superior” rooms during your next visit we can book you in to one of those rooms. I will make sure to inform our Chef about the food, and was there anything in particular that was lacking with our food services. Again, thank you so much and looking forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Friendly staff and excellent food, with beautiful views over the Indian Ocean. Rooms adequate for a comfortable stay.
Very close to Bentota railway station, so an ideal location to explore other parts of the island.
I recommend taking a rail journey just for the delightful experience, but don't worry too much about timetables, trains arrive when they arrive.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrKaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Dear DrKaron,
Thank you for taking the time to comment about us on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed you visit to our resort and enjoyed the food and the services. As you mentioned, we are located very close to the main railway line and also the main road going to Colombo and Galle is also within walking distance. Please visit us again on your next visit to the island and hopefully we can provide an even better service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilbirnie, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Brilliantly designed stylish hotel with superb choice of really good food. Kept spotlessly clean daily by staff who are very friendly and helpful and themselves very smartly dressed.
Choice of two swimming pools which are clean and manned by lifeguards. Facilities include choice of bars, restaurant and a la carte restaurant, spa and massage available and a well equipped gym. Free wi fi is available in public areas. All rooms are air conditioned.The hotel is right on the beach front with a nice clean sandy shoreline.
The town is only 5 - 10 minutes walk or a short taxi ride. If I ever go back to this area on holiday I would without doubt choose this hotel.
Review by J.C.A.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor and it was excellent with a balcony, but if you want immediate acces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kilbirnieite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear J.C.A,

Thank you very much for providing us with these wonderful remarks. We always try to provide best possible service to our guests and please let us know if there was anything we could have done better to improve our service. When you decide to make another trip this way, feel free to contact us with your reservation needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This hotel is great in most ways except dinner options and poor coffee quality. Until we insisted on brewed coffee we kept being served instant To make up for this they offered lovely black current juice at the breakfast buffet. The rooms are lovely, well appointed, comfy beds etc. The balcony is outstanding with great quality loungers. The dinner menu is very limited but overall I would gladly return. Rates are very attractive during this off season. Wifi difficult to access in the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Destinyspeaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Miss,
Thank you very much for your comment about our property. We really do appreciate you mentioning about the challenges you had during your stay with us. I’ll make sure to provide your feedback to our Chef regarding the selection on the dinner menu and look at the ways on how to improve it.

Due to some severe weather conditions, we did experience some problems with our internet provider during July. As a result, we were facing some difficulties with the WiFi connections.

However, we have been able to correct these problems and the connection is much better now. I do apologize for any inconvenience you may experience and hope you won’t come across these problems during your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.8 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.2 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
0.6 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
2.9 mi away
Pandanus Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surf Hotel

Property: The Surf Hotel
Address: Beach Road, Bentota, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka (Formerly Lihiniya Surf Hotel)
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#6 Family Hotel in Bentota
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Surf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your The Surf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf Bentota Hotel Bentota
Lihiniya Surf Bentota
Hotel Lihiniya Surf
Lihiniya Surf Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing