We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spend the day in Bentota”
Review of The Surf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Surf Hotel
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Bentota
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Spend the day in Bentota”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We spent our family getaway at the Surf Bentota. The greeting from staff when first arriving was excellent with prompt and polite greetings and service. The restaurant was great with a vast variety for all tastes. The rooms are clean, spacious, overlooking stretched golden sands and blue water, simply amazing. Would recommend Hotel Surf for a nice weekend getaway. It was worth every cent. Special Thanks to Manager Lee who made our short getaway a memorable one.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chandrajith_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Chandrajith,

It's great to hear from you and thank you so much for this review about your day outing at the Surf. We are pleased to hear that you received a good service from our staff and I'll make sure to pass this message to them.
However, I do have to apologize for not being able to assist your family with their request couple of weeks after you came to our property. Unfortunately we were all booked up for that day and I wished some way I could have assisted them. But, please feel free to reach us in the future if you or your family wants to visit this area. We will make sure to do our best to provide you all a great experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    263
    96
    54
    52
See reviews for
278
318
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Stayed here for 3 nites, absolutely loved it. Modern, renovated rooms, beachfront, 24 hour bar/cafe, and very attentive (but not intrusive) staff. Will definitely be going back. I've been searching for decent places to stay in Sri Lanka, and this tops my list.

Room Tip: Since all rooms face the ocean, there is no such thing as a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicknackF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Hi,

Thank you very much for recommending our property and we are glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay while you were with us. Please feel free to contact us anytime you wish to come back this way. We would love to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo-03
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We, two professional parents and two daughters aged 10 & 14, wanted to spend a day or two out at a place not so distant from our home. So we chose Bentota and went through web pages and decided to go to "the Surf" at Bentota. To begin the review with good news, the Hotel staff gave a fine service, a good variety of delicious food. Rooms (we got a triple) were specious enough, so no complaints about the Hotel at all. However, the beach was crowded, but that should be expected on a public Holiday.

However, quite contrast to the service at the Hotel, Ceylon Hotels Corporation Reservation desk at Head Office gave a terrible service. I contacted reservation of Ceylon Hotels Corporation (now owned by Galleface Hotels) a few days before and was assured that a triple room would be reserved and further requested either to come to Galleface Hotel personally to make an advance payment or to deposit money within three working days to their account. I was assured that the account details would be texted to me. As there was a delay in texting, I called again. I was told that the lady who spoke to me has already sent a text message (which I now know as the beginning of a series of lies), which I did not receive. I was told that it would be texted "again". Thereafter, I received a text giving the account number, but without giving the name of the bank! After another text that I sent, the name of the bank was texted to me. Thereafter I deposited Rs. 5000/- & sent an email attaching the payment slip, requesting for a reply and confirmation, which I did not receive at all. Twice when I contacted the reservation at their head office, I was told that they would call me back in 5 minutes, but did not receive a call at all..!. Finally I contacted the Surf and received a confirmation promptly with an apology. It was a consolation in deed to be treated nicely when we arrived at the Hotel.

So it is advisable to get a reservation from the Hotel itself and not to go through the highly disorganized reservation desk at Ceylon Hotels Corporation.

Room Tip: If you need more privacy, better to get an upstair room rather than getting a ground floor room next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colombo_City
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for publishing your thoughts about our hotel and our reservation desk. I'm truly sorry to hear about the difficulties you had to go through to get your reservation confirmed. We will definitely address this matter with our central reservation department to avoid similar incidents in the future. We value each and every one of our guests and want to provide the best possible service from the time they first contact us for a reservation till they leave our hotel after their stay.

On a positive note, I'm happy to hear that the hotel staff was able to resolve this matter and make your visit to The Surf a pleasant one. On behalf of The Surf and Ceylon Hotel Corporation I want to apologize for any problems you encountered, but want to assure that this is an isolated incident and we will put all our efforts to provide a better service to you in the future. Thank you again for sharing your experience and hope to see you and your family back at The Surf pretty soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We arrived to the hotel right after we landed in Sri Lanka.
Just in the minute you cross the Hotel gate, you feel the luxury.
We got an amazing room on the long pool, with a view to the ocean. the room is as 5 star Hotel.
best service. best location. best view
we gave it only 4 star- only because we didnt like the food..

Room Tip: Take the room on the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyal c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Dear Eyal,

Thank you very much for recommending us on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to see that you not just enjoyed the facilities offered at the Surf, but also had great experience with the service from our staff. We are sorry to hear that you didn't like our food during your stay and please let us know if there was anything specific that we could improve for your next visit. Please feel free to get in touch with us for any of your future travel needs and thank you again for recommending us on this site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We really did not know what expect from our first SriLanka trip, but The Surf Hotel Bentota made our stay a memorable one... we, a family of four with two young curly hair kids found The Surf to be very accommodating with super friendly staff and cleanliness that impressed us.
The direct access to the beach was great for us and the kids, along with the pools that made our stay very easy and relaxing.

We only had our breakfast at The Surf, while enjoying the rest of our meals around town, nevertheless, we found the breakfast buffet satisfactory, but wished for more continental selections.

Verdict: a great place to stay that is super clean with very friendly staff that has been trained well... A super friendly General Manager was always on site and available for any direction of staff... enjoyed it and will sure return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nidal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Nidal,

We really enjoyed having you at our property and was so glad to see your kids enjoyed their stay here at the Surf, especially, around the dessert table :) We wish to see you and the family again and please feel free to contact us if you need any help with your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This was by far one of the best properties.
The rooms are very clean, there are 2 swimming pools well maintained, food is quite good with good options of restaurants. It becomes a lottle difficult for vegetarians though.
Spread of the breakfast is quite good.
The best part about the hotel is the beach. There is a private stretch of the beach .... Very clean and its perfect for taking a dip and surfing too...
The service is not that great, as there are 100 rooms and we went there around a very busy weekend. But, the rest of the positives really negate that!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Esha,

Thank you so much for publishing this review online about your visit to the Surf. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the facilities we offer at our hotel.
Please let us know in what service areas we were lacking so we can make sure to improve our those weaknesses in the future. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience about our property and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed at the Surf as we wanted to be on the beach side of the railway tracks. Bentota is a peaceful enough beach and the Surf was right on the beach.
We were only there one night and took the Full Board package, which weirdly isnt actually full-board, rather, only food. I knew this, but was surprised when the restaurant water wasnt included.
The room we stayed in was adequate, well equipped and we stayed here with 2 kids, for which they provided a single bed (our girls are small enough so they could share)
The food was adequate, although lunch was a bit limited. I think the thing I would have liked was more kids activities, there didnt seem to be a lot of thought put into this. Luckily our girls are still happy to just swim in the pool all day, which was right out the front of our room and very clean.
Theres a few shops just outside the hotel, and the general staff were very polite and efficient.
Beach as mentioned was good, although rough, which was expected at this time of year.
Bentota wasnt my favourite spot in Sri Lanka, but The Surf was an okay stay.

Room Tip: All the beach facing rooms seemed okay. Ground floor rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing the service you received while you were at our hotel. we are happy to hear that you and your family had a nice experience during your visit and we will try to add some more activities for our younger guests.
We apologize if there was a confusion regarding your meal plan. We offer full board meal plans and do not have the option for all inclusive packages. So, any additional items obtained during your meals will be billed including bottled water and soft drinks. However, we do provide jug water and tea coffee facilities free of charge during all meals. Again, we hope you had overall a great stay and please feel free to contact us if you need any assistance with a future reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.8 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.2 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
0.6 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
2.9 mi away
Pandanus Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surf Hotel

Property: The Surf Hotel
Address: Beach Road, Bentota, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka (Formerly Lihiniya Surf Hotel)
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#6 Family Hotel in Bentota
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Surf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your The Surf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf Bentota Hotel Bentota
Lihiniya Surf Bentota
Hotel Lihiniya Surf
Lihiniya Surf Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing