We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Surf Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$52
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota(Bentota)
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$57
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$39
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa 80(Bentota)
US$64
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saman Villas(Bentota)
US$537
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (985)
Filter reviews
985 results
Traveller rating
409
307
131
66
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
409
307
131
66
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssri lankabeach facingthe ground floor roomsfirst floorsea viewfront officewelcome drinkswimming poolnice beachindian oceanseafood restaurantthe general managerbentota beachdinner buffetsea foodtuk tukwater sports
Filter
Updating list...
651 - 656 of 985 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2013

It was amazing, would recommend this place to anyone looking to have a relaxing vacation. Great restaurants around the place if incase you wanna have meals outside the hotel. Ask hotel staff for places to visit and they have some perfect suggestions.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicole m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Nicole,

Thank you very much for recommending us here on Tripadvisor. It always great to see that we were able to meet your expectations and we cannot ask for a better compliment than you wanting to visit us again. Thank you so much and please feel free to get in touch with us when you are planning your next visit to The Surf.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

it was out first exotic trip experience and we afraid a bit about cuisine, about climate (our trip was on 6-17/10/2013), about all. But when we were transferred to the hotel The Surf Bentota - all our doubts and fears were dispelled)) The ocean view was the best I ever seen, the weather was wet ans the ocean was stormed, but at that honeymoon period we had fun and fooling around in the waves, like children)))) the wait staff was very considerate, the food was always fresh, tasty, there was enough food and local cuisine, and European, no one is left hungry. At the reception, in the restaurant, laudry, cleaning rooms - all high quality, on time and with a smile. Local residents have conquered us focus on the customer, his humanity and hospitality.Our honeymoon has helped organize a wonderful man - Wasantha (ot Titanic: his telephone number is +94 777 030 201). Starting from the trips, leisure, shopping, ending the wedding photoshoot and dinner by the ocean with the freshest seafood - all his work! We strongly recommend!

Room Tip: 112!! it was our rood on honey moon period! recommend!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank egolovkina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Hi,

It's very nice to hear back from you Kateryna and thank you very much for recommending us on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay while staying at The Surf. It is very nice to see you received a very good service from our staff and some of our staff still talks about the great volleyball skills you two showed at our beach volleyball court.
We would love to have you back and please feel free to contact us with any future reservation needs. Thank again and hope to see you two next year for your wedding anniversary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I stayed for three days. The Air conditioning is very very poor. The rooms are very OK. The Television has few channels and mostly local.The room to restaurant is very far. I would not recommend any one to stay here

Room Tip: Stay only on the ground floor.The Aircon will work better
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Balacola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear Guest,

I'm sorry to hear that you were not able to enjoy your stay at our hotel due to the bad air conditioning and the location of your room. If possible, could you please let me know the room you were occupied in so that I will make sure the A/C in that room is checked out by our engineering department.
Also, we try to provide all our guest a great ocean view from their room and as a result the building does stretch out from one end to the other end of the property. But, our main restaurant is located in the center of the building so it would be easily accessible by all guests. In addition, we have two additional food outlets located on either side of the hotel to provide easier access.
However, we hope you will give us another opportunity to change your mind about our location and if so please feel free to get in touch with me during your visit. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My partner and I spent 9 nights at The Surf hotel from the 27th Sept-6th Oct 2013 for the very fair price of approx £500 for B&B basis. We travel long haul a couple of times a year staying in budget and 5* accommodation and did not expect anything super plush for this price but we were both pleasantly surprised.

The hotel is set perfectly on the beach front, in a location that is very relaxed and easily accessible. The reception area is inviting, clean and cool and on our arrival staff were very attentive and welcoming. We were situated in a ground floor room which was clean, comfortably furnished and cleaned daily very thoroughly. The swimming pool areas are clean, comfortable and very well maintained set literally a stones throw away from the sands of the beach. Breakfast was good, with the usual selection expected from a buffet style breakfast i.e. fruits, breads, cakes, cooked items and traditional options. We only ate once in the hotel at the pool area as we generally like to get out and about, the service was prompt and the food was nice.

After reading previous reviews we felt very shocked at complaints directed towards staff. We felt that the service and staff attitude was extremely professional, efficient and friendly and find it difficult to imagine anything less. We had witnessed on numerous occasions the way in which the staff were spoken to by some of the guests and felt completely embarrassed, but each time staff remained professional and polite.

We will definitely be returning to Sri Lanka in the future and we will not hesitate to book another stay at The Surf.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room so you have your own sun loungers almost on the beach front :)
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear Emily,

Thank you very much for the great review you gave us and recommending us on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that all of our staff was helpful and courteous.
To be honest, we did have some issues with our staff and services, which we were mostly able to rectify with the help of the feedback we got from previous guests. So, I'm very happy to see the changes we made are paying off and we are able to offer a better service to everyone that comes to our property.
However, we do appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and standing up for us. This means a lot to our staff and we will make sure to continue to improve our services. Thank you very much again and please feel free to get in touch with me when you are planning to visit this area in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We originally planned to stay at the hotel for 2 nights, but then extended for one more night. The hotel is nicely located, with a beautiful beach. We looked for a long time to find a place of moderate price and on the beach and that was it!
You could see and hear ocean from your room (although you could clearly hear train on a back of the hotel as well, for light sleepers its a consideration!)
Swimming pools are clean and nice.
The only disappointment was a lunch at the hotel, they served only very spicy Sri Lankan curries. we tried to go to have lunch outside of the hotel but were ripped off paying more than 100 dollar for a tiny fish....
Hotel was obviously a destination for Russian speaking crowds coming straight from the airport.

Room Tip: have a room on a second floor, so you can see ocean better and be a bit further from a swimming pool which can get crowded and noisy.
Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Tomirisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear Tomirisk,

Thank you so much for recommending us on TripAdvisor. It's great that you felt that you received value for the money you spent with us. Anyone who loves staying near the beach we do have a great location to offer. As you mentioned, the down side is that we are located very close to the railway tracks and could hear the trains passing by. We would try to offer a better selection of items during lunch in the future and please feel free to contact me when you decide to come back to this area. Thank you and have a wonderful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews