We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing!”
Review of The Surf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Surf Hotel
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Bentota
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We had a wonderful week at The Surf! Excellent staff and service! We were planning to stay 3 nights but we stayed 8 nights- thanks to the staff! Everyone was nice and friendly! The hotel was in a very good condition. Our room was beautiful with stunning ocean view! We are coming back- that is for sure!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ulrika l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Ulrika,
It's so wonderful to see that our staff was able to provide you with great service and you loved the facilities the hotel had to offer. I will make sure to pass this message to the staff for the great job they have done. Please feel free to reach out to us if you need any help with your future reservations. Thank you again for recomending us on TripAdvisor and looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (905)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

578 - 584 of 905 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

We tried the Der Cafe here, the food was good and we totally enjoyed the hospitality of the staff.
The staff was polite and helpful. It was a relaxed evening by the quite beach and they have undoubtedly a lovely property.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FBKalra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Dear Karla,

Thank you very much for your review about our hotel on TripAdvisor. It's wonderful to hear that you were able to have a nice relaxing time during your visit to the Surf. Please feel free to contact us if you have any future travel needs and we would be glad to assist you. Thank you and have a wonderful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Bentota has 4 hotels to the North which share a common private beach. The surf is located in the middle and has a great view of the beach at its back. The rooms are spacious with all the modern amenities. The food buffets are lavish and food is tasty. The beach view from all the rooms is brilliant.
We visited the hotel on 30th Dec which is the peak period and the staff was unfriendly and greedy. As there were no rooms available in the hotel, we asked for an extra bed in our room for which they charged us USD 160 after seeing we had no other alternative. That is approximately the full room rent. The staff was also rude to our friends and didn't let them visit our room even during day time.

Room Tip: The rooms on the Ground Floor open at the back to the beach. Stay there to get a lot more value out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank funduadmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Dear Sir,

I'm happy to see that you very much enjoyed the facilities provided by our hotel and enjoyed the lovely beach strip that runs right in front or our hotel. Also, I will make sure to inform our F&B staff about the great compliments you have given about the food.
Since our extra bed fee is only $15 per night, I looked into the matter about $160 charge you mentioned for additional bed. What I could gather was that you needed to have 5 adults in the same room (maximum is 3 adults). The hotel staff have advised you that it will not be a comfortable and and you really insisted on that they have offered a discounted rate for the two additional people for their food and accommodation.
I do apologize if there was a miscommunication when conveying this message, but we always want our guests to enjoy the time they spend with us. Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and please feel free to contact me if you need any other assistance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed at The Surf for 1 night 30/12/13. My fiancé & I arrived at 2pm to which we were politely told the room was not going to be ready for a couple of hours as the previous guests had checked out late, we were ok with this but I did make a point of asking The Surf staff to confirm we would have a room tonight to which they assured me was the case. We then went and sat a one of their restaurants by the pool, had some lunch and watched an Elephant go by (the food was excellent and the hotel amenities are stunning).
After about 1 hour two staff members came out and started talking to us individually but saying the same thing "they have just had a room become available and whilst is was not an ocean view one as requested, it was a garden villa and very nice room", we agreed to take it and said we would check in after a walk on the beach, they then told us that we should take the room now as it may not be there when we get back, we decided to cancel the walk and check in first.
Our room was a garden room albeit right next to Hotel sewerage tank vents (the smell wasn't ideal), no windows and a huge crack spanning the whole mirror. My partner wasn't satisfied but frankly we have stayed in far worse places before, it was one night and didn't really plan on staying in the room much anyway. Even up to this point we were happy "stuff happens".
We then went to have a drink at the Hotel Bar next to check in to find the Hotel staff having an animated discussion with an English couple (I remember seeing him check in around the same time I got my room). The Hotel Lady was telling him that even though he had a confirmed booking well in advance, the guests from the previous night due to check out were refusing to check out and therefore they no longer had a room available for them, they were offered another albeit worse Hotel as alternative option, the Englishman then explained to the hotel staff that this was not right or fair in any way and security should remove the previous guests, if they didn't wish to do this they were clearly not being truthful about the situation, the Hotel lady then lost her temper after being accused of lying and the English couple needed to change their New Years plans and find another hotel. To cut this already long story short, we witnessed them feed this exact story to another two couples (one mans wife was sitting there in tears). Later that night we did witness the hotel staff removing belongings from one of the rooms and putting them in storage, we have been travelling around Sri Lanka for 1 week now and bar this incident have found Sri Lankan's to be lovely caring people. If what the Surf Hotel say is true then at the very least, they need to grow some backbone in order to fulfil obligations they have to their guests going forward. I suspect the truth is somewhere in the middle and they had overbooked the hotel combined with the fact they had one problematic guest not leaving spoiled at least 3 couples holiday/new year in Sri Lanka. If you chose to stay there, it would pay to send an email the day before arrival to double check they will actually have the room requested will actually be available for you.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Pel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Just finished a tour of Sri Lanka and stayed at some amazing hotels but surprisingly, upon reflection, the Surf would be my pick from them all. Modern clean rooms with all the amenities. We had a ground floor room with a patio door onto the beach which also provided a great view. Food was decent and beach was excellent.
Staff are polite and service orientated. Management seem to be on top of things there. Would definitely recommend.
For reference we also stayed at the Jetwing Lighthouse, Sigriya Hotel, Chaaya Blue and Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank JayxM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Dear Jay,

It's a great pleasure to see that we were able to fulfill your needs during your visit to the Surf and thank you son much for recommending our hotel for other traveler's as well. We will do our best to continuously improve our services to make sure your next visit will be an even better one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

I have stayed in the past at the other beach front hotels in Bentota, however the experience at The Surf was simply unique. It is like a hotel attached to the Sea. Rooms a nicely done and we had taken a room on the first floor which gave a beautiful view of the sea. They have 2 pools - we frequented the pool which is long and about 4ft - so you can lazily swim or wade through the pool. We kept alternating between the sea and the pool. The large green lawn by the sea is spectacular and very well maintained. Service was reasonably ok, though housekeeping needed a reminder once to do up our rooms. Food in the restaurant was very tasty and suited our south asian palette. We also did a treatment at the Spa - which was heavenly, dont miss their jacuzzi in a large but very private space.

Room Tip: If you are a pools person - take a room on the ground floor in the executive wing - its like a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShabbirMerchant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Dear Mr. Merchant,

Thank you very much for recommending us on tripadvisor. It was a pleasure to have your company and glad to see that both you and wife had a great stay with us. If you are planning to make another visit this way please let us know and we will make sure to take care of everything. Thank you again and hope to see both of you back here soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

i inform to you that this 'The surf' hotel unbelieveble attraction because very interesting and very attractive sea view.because completely hotel with nature however this hotels situated at very closed to the sea view..present new management is running well this hotel earliest name is Lehiniya surf hotel. so now out lihiniya only the surf hotel.here everthings are very attractions .so i requesting from world tour operators and holiday makers you should select for this wonderful hotel for a yuor fun and rest.i am living near the hotel so i know about ever things this hotels.very best for the stay with couples .so you do not miss this dream hotel.beach is the best for bath long coastal area very good for the walk for exercise.because very long coastal. lot of communities are visit for week end holiday for the fun .but nothings any destrubs with others

Room Tip: travelors should shoose the beach face rooms better for the upchare locations because sea face.do no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
Thank Serandip1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bentota hotels
0.8 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.2 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
0.4 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
2 mi away
Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surf Hotel

Address: Beach Road, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka (Formerly Lihiniya Surf Hotel)
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bentota
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#6 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range: £80 - £357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Surf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Surf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf Bentota Hotel Bentota
Lihiniya Surf Bentota
Hotel Lihiniya Surf
Lihiniya Surf Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing