We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best place to relax”
Review of The Surf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Surf Hotel
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Bentota
Reviewed 17 April 2014

the rooms were cozy and the ppl were very nice and helpful specially the mr Asela the reception ppl and all the guys at the buffet,. the food was tasty and the view from the balcony was amazing. i am definitely going there again soon

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yoshan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Yoshan,

I'm glad to hear you had such a pleasant and comfortable stay! Your experience is what we want for all our guests. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we look forward to your next stay. Thank you and feel free to contact us with questions you may have regarding your future reservations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (905)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

564 - 570 of 905 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

My family and I spent two nights in this hotel and had a wonderful stay.The staff were very friendly and polite and not overbearing.They certainly made us feel at home.I must say the service was excellent from top to bottom.
It was the Sinhala and Tamil New year and the staff had gone to great lengths to organise so many activities to keep the crowd entertained.
The rooms were good and so was the food. However a wider spread of desserts would be good.
Real value for the money spent

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dineshi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Dineshi,

Thank you so much for staying with us over the New Year holidays. We are very happy to hear that you received a good service from our staff and enjoyed the special events that was organized to celebrate the New Year. I will check with our Chef regarding the suggestion you have made and try to enhance our dessert options in the future. Thank you again for visiting us and looking forward to see you back here at the Surf in near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful time at The Surf. The food was good and the service excellent. The rooms were quite nice and comfortable as well. I Would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone who wishes to take trip to Bentota...

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for recommending our hotel on TripAdvisor and sharing your experience with everyone. I hope our staff and the facilities did meet your expectations and that you received a very good value for the money spent. Thank you again and please feel free to contact us if you need any assistance with your future reservations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I spent 3 nights in this hotel and used it to wrap our vacation to Sri lanka and Maldives. I was excited to go and chill out on the beach, pay the amount of money that will guarantee a suitable enviroment for a beach hotel. Everything was simply amazing, room location was perfectly good next to the pool. Bed was overlooking the beach and the pool. However, the staff there miss the professionalism and the politness in dealing with guests to the extent of shouting over guests. What i know is that even if the guest is mistaken, as a hotelier (professional one) you just keep quiet and get along with whatever. It is the first time in my whole life that i receive that reaction and such an attitude from a hotelier. They did not have the standards of dealing with guests, and it gets worse when as a hotel, you know that you are mistaken yet you do not admit it and you do not do the corrective answers. I have stayed in exactly 8 hotels in Srilanka and they charged less, yet indeed this was the worst interms of service. Would stay in any of the hotels next door. At the end of the day, we pay for the service we get and not for the bed!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Mohammad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Mr. Mohammad,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
I’m pleased that you were very positive regarding the facility “ Everything was simply amazing, room location was perfectly good next to the pool. Bed was overlooking the beach and the pool”

We really take any suggestions for improvement very seriously and investigate each area where we might have fallen short in satisfying our guests.
We believe that among the issues you encountered was our policy of ‘hotel guests only’ for the two swimming pools.
This policy has been adopted to ensure access, availability and service to our guests.
As a hotelier yourself I’m sure you can understand this policy.

Of course we are disappointed that you couldn’t endorse our hotel but are glad that you enjoyed your holiday in Sri Lanka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here as part of a trip around Sri Lanka and had a wonderful time. Staff were very polite and friendly though not overbearing. Room was lovely and as you would expect for a 4 star hotel. Buffets were lovely and good value for the amount of food on offer; breakfast was especially tasty. Pools were well maintained with comfy sunbeds. Only minor issue was the temperature in the shower fluctuated quite a lot but not enough to bother us.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank stephtrueman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Stephn,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience about our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are happy to see that you were able to enjoy your stay (even if it was a short one) and our services and facilities met your expectation. I do apologize about the problem you had with the temperature of the shower (even if it was a minor issue for you) and will make sure to inform our maintenance staff to check on it. Again. thank you for visiting us and hope we would see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed here in early Jan 2014. This is a great place - clean, large and private beach, every room faces the ocean and the food was good. The only complaint is that I purchased this via Bookings.Com. When I arrived to the hotel, there was an additional government tax which increased the rate by 15% or so (I think this # is correct). This was a surprise, and likely not the hotel's fault.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmichael2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Michael,

Thank you very much for recommending us on TripAdvisor. We are happy to see that you were able to enjoy the facilities provided by us at the Surf. As you mentioned, booking.com and other online sites does not publish the nett rate including the taxes and other service fees but mentions that on the confirmation once the reservation is finalized. It is only calculated at the time of payment and we do apologize if there was confusion from our end. Again, thank you very much for choosing our property, and looking forward to see back here during your next visit to Bentota.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed here in January as part of a six day extension following a tour of Northern Sri Lanka with Archers Direct.The quality of accommodation,cleanliness and food was excellent.The hotel has a wonderful location on the beach looking on to the Indian ocean and with a train station nearby and taxies and tuk tuks outside the hotel gates,it is very easy to explore under your own steam if you wish.
We were the only two British guests staying at the hotel at this time.The majority of the guests were either Russian,Ukranian or German,so the hotel staff soon got to recognise us.
At each entrance to the dining room,there were polite notices asking guests not to remove food from the dining area and smart casual attire should be worn in the evening at the restaurant.Food was removed quite openly.
When you have made an effort to "smarten up" for dinner it is disappointing to see guests arrive in their beach clothes and flip flops.It is a four star hotel,but doesnt seem to have the backbone to maintain this standard.
Housekeeping need a reminder to do up the rooms in the evening,in fact my room was only attended to three times in the evening out of six nights.
On the last but one day of the holiday,the housekeeping "boy" made a point of calling me to inspect the room,even though I was sunbathing on the patio.On the final day he again called me to inform me he was the room boy!I always tip ,leaving money in the room when vacated,but this practice is a turn off.The hotel porter also,when tipped for carrying a case just a few yards,stated that it was not enough!Management should be made aware of this practice to prevent intimidation by staff.
However a mostly very pleasant stay and I would be happy to return again in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomadvaleofglamorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Dear Guest,

It is great to see the comments you have made about our property. While it's great to see that many of the hotel facilities were up to your liking, we appreciate you bringing up about the areas we should look into. We will make sure to attend to staff related matters to avoid such problems for future guests. As far as the restaurant goes, even though we request our guests of dress code for meals it is not a requirement as we are a beach hotel. We are glad to hear overall your stay with us was a great one and we would love to see you back at the Surf.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bentota hotels
0.8 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.2 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
0.4 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
2 mi away
Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surf Hotel

Address: Beach Road, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka (Formerly Lihiniya Surf Hotel)
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bentota
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#6 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range: £81 - £386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Surf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Surf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf Bentota Hotel Bentota
Lihiniya Surf Bentota
Hotel Lihiniya Surf
Lihiniya Surf Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing