We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Pool n Room ,Friendly front office !!”
Review of The Surf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Surf Hotel
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Bentota
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We came in a group of 05 n was greeted by a very friendly manageress who not only gave us a upgrade but allowed us check in @ 10:30 am.The room was nice n roomy but the best thing was the Pool ..it was simple awesome.
#Food :
Dinner -> need more variety n food needs to be bit more spicy-was too sweet :Pls remove the restrictions on dress code... knee high shorts should be allowed
Breakfast-.> good variety ,king-coconut would be a good addition (and hoppers)
Lunch-> good..reminds me of home ... pls add Ice cream

# Staff: friendly but looked bit scared of guests...can improve with bit more experience/exposure

# Mini bar- better have a warning notice on the cooler settings .

So Final word : with little bit of fine-tuning can go for 5 star...coz u got the best beach front ,best pool(s) n excellent rooms.

Do think about the food n call me i will definitely come back !!
Thanks for the great hospitality and i wish you all the best ...go for 5 star its closer than you think ...!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms facing the Pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AmilaX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Amila,

Thank you so much for the great feedback. Providing a great value to all of our guests is our main goal and we thank you for appreciating it. I will make sure to share the suggestions you made with our team and improve those areas to provide an even better experience during your next visit to The Surf hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (896)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

534 - 540 of 897 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

From 09/06 to 22/06/14 i had spent my vacation in Hotel The Surf. It was a very nice time that i was able to experience with loved ones, an an interesting culture and a beautiful hotel. The friendliness, attentiveness and the helpfulness of the people was overwhelming for me. I often think back to the wonderful time and will come back for sure. All my friends and acquaintances i have told of their hotel and i wish that they, too, book a stay with them.You to all the staff at Hotel The Surf, i wish a good time in good health. Thanks for the great time at and with them !
Kind regards Silke Herzog

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Silke,

Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience about the Surf hotel on TripAdvisor. It is a great pleasure for us to know that we were able to provide you with a great service. I hope you were also able to take advantage of the great beach strip we have to offer which is a great feature we have to offer. Again, we are honored to see that you are planning to come back to and thank you for recommending The Surf to all your friends and family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My whole family loved this beach side hotel which opens directly to the sea front. the best part is after you play on the beach you can have a good shower and then have a good swim in a lovely pool and then get back to your room.
the moment you step into the balcony of your room you can even sleep with the beautiful sky above and beach in front of you.
once of the best i have experienced so far. my son who is six years old also loved this,
the food was also very authentic and i loved the spread.

Room Tip: everything is perfect!just go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MithraSubbaiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Mithra,

We are so happy to see that your stay at the Surf Hotel was an enjoyable one. And even happier to know that your son had a great time while staying with us. As you mentioned, the beach near the hotel is very easy to access and perfect for a evening stroll. I will make sure to pass your compliments to our staff and looking forward to seeing you back with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Last weekend we stayed at "The Surf" for a short vacation - out of the busy schedules.
It was marvelous as all what we got was home-like treatment - every one from top management to the bottom down of the staff - were very friendly, helpful and always checking on our requirements.

It is this type of hospitality a guest always anticipates, welcomes and embraces when they find it.

I highly appreciate the level of service, care and attention they had on every minute detail of our trip, to maximize our happiness ...

When you go there, the only thing that you would lament over is the fact that you have to return home leaving such beautiful surroundings, mouth watering meals,modern comforts and of course - the friendly people you find there. Thanks Mr. Asela and his team - from top to bottom- for your extra efforts to make our stay fabulous.

This was our second visit and no doubt not the last... Keep up the good work..."THE SURF"

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kakanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for recommending The Surf Hotel on TripAdvisor. We really do appreciate the lovely things you have mentioned about our property and the staff.
We always try to give personal attention to all our guests to the best we can. I hope you would return to Bentota area in the near future and have another lovely time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This hotel is a marvel with such a beautiful beach ideal for surfing ,surfers-unfortunately the sea was rough,RED FLAG!!!all room s have a magnificent view of the beach espespecially the ones with a huge balcony with sun loungers and a table for two.the food was excellent.staff was soo cordial and right round spoke good english(pronouced)well. Ms gethanjali the guest relation officer was so cordial friendly and geniunly showed interest in all guest's paying personal attention to them.she wanted to know what are plans for the day was coz she wanted us to see the geoffery bawa estate on elpitiya road bentota.once visited the estate it makes sense all about his work in sri lankan hotel architecture.. however as i continue my review on the surf.....I observed that the GM swinged by occationally to check on every detail and greeted the staff like friends.you will get more than your monies worth.we will surely return.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JamesPeiris4X4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear James,

Thank you very much for the great review and recommending us on TripAdvisor. I'm pleased to see that all our staff was attentive to your needs and our guest relations manager personally took care of your travel plans. I will make sure to inform my colleagues that their efforts was recognized and appreciated by you. Again, thank you very much for taking time to share your experience and looking forward to seeing you soon here at the Surf hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The hotel is clean, very friendly staff, always ready to help. The location is excellent with 2 beautiful swimming pools, spa and the beach is just a few feet away. Although we could not swim, just looking at the ocean from our balcony was a delight. The buffet for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner is awesome. Excellent service and always smiling staff. I would reccomend this to anyone who wants to just relax and have an enjoyable time.

Room Tip: The deluxe Balcony rooms are a treat as they over look the long beautiful pool and the Ocean is just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berty-Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Berty,

It is a great pleasure to see that your visit to the Surf was a nice and relaxing one. The ocean was little bit rough these days due to the bad weather, but it appears that you made the most out of the two swimming pools and other facilities here at our location. Please feel free to let us know if you need any assistance with your future reservations and we would love to see you back here with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

M family stayed at the Surf for a day and it was a pleasant stay. They are blessed with a wonderful location, with the sea view from all rooms and a lovely stretch of the beach along the front of the hotel.
The staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were nice with a peaceful atmosphere. The hotel has two pools so its not over-crowded and you can enjoy your peace and quiet. It is definitely a lovely option to relax. And in general everything was clean and tidy which made the stay pleasant.
The food however was not that great. Breakfast spread was good with a lot of options but the lunch and dinner buffets were nothing great. This is one aspect that really should improve to make this an even better place.

Room Tip: Groudfloor rooms give you easy access to the beach and the view is pretty
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nipuni f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Nipuni,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience about the Surf hotel on TripAdvisor. We are happy to see that you did have a nice time while staying with us. I will make sure to share you ideas with our Chef regarding the lunch and dinner buffets. Again, thank you very much for the lovely comments and hope to see you back here soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bentota hotels
0.8 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.2 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
0.4 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
1.8 mi away
Rockside Beach Resort
Rockside Beach Resort
#10 of 25 in Bentota
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surf Hotel

Address: Beach Road, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka (Formerly Lihiniya Surf Hotel)
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#6 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#6 Family Hotel in Bentota
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range: £67 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Surf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Surf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf Bentota Hotel Bentota
Lihiniya Surf Bentota
Hotel Lihiniya Surf
Lihiniya Surf Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing