We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable weekend”
Review of The Surf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Surf Hotel
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Bentota
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Memorable weekend”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

It was a wonderful & memorable weekend.had so much of fun with family. Heart touching welcome with good variety of food. Wonderful stay overlooking the beach. Very quiet surrounding for a peaceful mind to read a book laying on the poolside. Ideal hide way for a busy life.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rajitha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Rajitha,

We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. It sounds like the whole team took great care of you, which is wonderful. It's our goal to create a comfortable and inviting space for our guests, so we are thrilled that's exactly what you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    265
    99
    54
    52
See reviews for
284
318
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
chandigarh
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Fab view with a wonderful beach quite safe even in monsoon season as long as you don't go too deep. We were up to waist deep and enjoyed the surf, Both pools are well maintained, Staff is very courteous and helpful , Geethanjaly and Vindhya went out of their way to be nice and courteous, we will be going back and soon

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms in front of the pool have their own lounging area between the pool and the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldviewer365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear worldviewer365,

Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out such a fantastic review! I have shared your feedback with our entire team, and they join me in thanking you for recognizing the service offered by them. We're looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations next time you are in Bentota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

If your looking for a stunning view of the Indian ocean, not hampered by coconut trees, along with fabulous hospitality, Surf is the place to be.
Although its the off peak season, all meals were served on buffet basis, and for the price we paid, you really can't complain.
Rooms were the standard star class hotel rooms, with comfortable bedding, along with an excellent and powerful shower. But the best was the stunning view from the room, where you could enjoy miles and miles of pristine blue waters of the Indian ocean, which is not hampered by tall coconut trees as we are often accustomed to most beach side resorts.
Another stand out was the exceptional hospitality of the front office, in particular a lady by the name Geetanjali, who was very hospitable and went that extra mile to make our stay a very memorable one. She even facilitated a very very late check out for us with no extra cost.
They also served a very refreshing and unique welcome drink, which was more of a mocktail. All in all, a very very nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Munzaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Munzaa,

Thank you so much for taking time to publish such a great review about the Surf Hotel Bentota. As you have mentioned, the location of the hotel and the lush green lawn without any tall trees provides a breathtaking view. If anyone needs to lay down in the shade, near the two swimming pools located in each end of the hotel, we have plenty of coconut trees that provides shade. I will make sure to pass your compliments to our staff especially to the front office who provided you with an excellent service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ratnapura, Sri Lanka
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

i came with my family and we had memorable times in the beach and pool. We enjoyed well and had tasty foods . staff is very helpful and friendly specially staff relation officers ..The surf, I will come back and love you

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nayomi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Nayomi,

We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable overall stay while staying at the Surf hotel. It is pleasing to see that you not only enjoyed the facilities provided by us but also received a very good service from the staff. It would be our pleasure to have you back here and please feel free to get in touch with us if you need any assistance with future reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The property is beautiful and the staff are friendly. The attention to detail is spot on and the staff, especially he guest relations manager, ms. Geethanjaly went out of their way to make our stay memorable! We loved the place and look forward to going back soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashrita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Ashrita,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about The Surf Hotel on TripAdvisor. I would make sure to pass your compliments to Geethanjaly and let her know that you valued the service provided. Again, we appreciate you recommendation and looking forward to seeing you back at The Surf in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We came in a group of 05 n was greeted by a very friendly manageress who not only gave us a upgrade but allowed us check in @ 10:30 am.The room was nice n roomy but the best thing was the Pool ..it was simple awesome.
#Food :
Dinner -> need more variety n food needs to be bit more spicy-was too sweet :Pls remove the restrictions on dress code... knee high shorts should be allowed
Breakfast-.> good variety ,king-coconut would be a good addition (and hoppers)
Lunch-> good..reminds me of home ... pls add Ice cream

# Staff: friendly but looked bit scared of guests...can improve with bit more experience/exposure

# Mini bar- better have a warning notice on the cooler settings .

So Final word : with little bit of fine-tuning can go for 5 star...coz u got the best beach front ,best pool(s) n excellent rooms.

Do think about the food n call me i will definitely come back !!
Thanks for the great hospitality and i wish you all the best ...go for 5 star its closer than you think ...!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms facing the Pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmilaX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Amila,

Thank you so much for the great feedback. Providing a great value to all of our guests is our main goal and we thank you for appreciating it. I will make sure to share the suggestions you made with our team and improve those areas to provide an even better experience during your next visit to The Surf hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jena, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2014

From 09/06 to 22/06/14 i had spent my vacation in Hotel The Surf. It was a very nice time that i was able to experience with loved ones, an an interesting culture and a beautiful hotel. The friendliness, attentiveness and the helpfulness of the people was overwhelming for me. I often think back to the wonderful time and will come back for sure. All my friends and acquaintances i have told of their hotel and i wish that they, too, book a stay with them.You to all the staff at Hotel The Surf, i wish a good time in good health. Thanks for the great time at and with them !
Kind regards Silke Herzog

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Manager at The Surf Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Silke,

Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience about the Surf hotel on TripAdvisor. It is a great pleasure for us to know that we were able to provide you with a great service. I hope you were also able to take advantage of the great beach strip we have to offer which is a great feature we have to offer. Again, we are honored to see that you are planning to come back to and thank you for recommending The Surf to all your friends and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bentota hotels
0.8 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.2 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
0.6 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
0.4 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surf Hotel

Property: The Surf Hotel
Address: Beach Road, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka (Formerly Lihiniya Surf Hotel)
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#6 Family Hotel in Bentota
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Surf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Surf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf Bentota Hotel Bentota
Lihiniya Surf Bentota
Hotel Lihiniya Surf
Lihiniya Surf Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing